We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful, perfect”
Review of Creekstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Creekstone Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, perfect”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a long weekend. Just far enough out of town to be quiet and peaceful, but close enough for easy access to shops and restaurants.

"Wildlife" room (6) has a great view of the hillside. There were five deer outside the window when we arrived.

We've already booked our room for next year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place outside of your traditional B&B. They don't serve breakfast but they do provide a fully stocked kitchen to cook in, which actually works for all meals. All in all, having stayed in both, I prefer the B&K (breakfast and kitchen) to a B&B!
The staff is super friendly, the place is great with a pool table and nice patios, etc. highly recommend!

Only downer is the bed, it was not the best and we believe the mattress needs to be replaced, which is why I put a "4" for rooms, but we loved everything else so much it still a 5 overall!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have been coming here for years. Although Creekstone Inn is no longer a Bed & Breakfast, which was so elegantly run by Judy Smith in the past, the charm has remained. The location is a quiet one--lending to a nice relaxing walk down hill to town and an even closer stroll to excellent restaurants. The great room's once gorgeous wood burning fireplace is now a small electric faker which is a disappointment. Additionally, I wish my room had been more thoroughly cleaned as someone's used hairbrushes were left in the bathroom and trash still under the furniture. The inn manager is very nice and lives on the property, but I didn't expect to see her walking around the great room loudly talking on her personal cell phone while I was trying to read. The building is truly a beauty and will be the reason I go back to enjoy one of my favorite Idyllwild places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NativeSoCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Creekstone Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Julia M. is one of our valued customers who returns over and over. She was a bit angry on this visit because she wanted to cancel her reservation on the day she was to arrive which was a holiday weekend, and when we offered to forward her deposit to another weekend, she refused, so she came anyway with an "attitude". She is correct, it has not been a B&B for over 5 years, and we have added many amenities since the famous "Judy Smith", such as King Beds, showers in the Jacuzzi tub rooms, a hilltop look out, LOWER PRICES, a community kitchen that anyone can use, and AIR CONDITIONING. The "once gorgeous fireplace" had smoke issues that were not repairable. We spent close to $10,000 before giving up and installing a beautiful gas fireplace that can be on anytime, NOT an electric fireplace like Julia says. No, we are not the same place that Julia once loved....but many many people think we are BETTER. In spite of Julia's comments, she continues to return, even when there are 3 B&B's in town that she could go to instead. We hope that Julia's comments do not keep people who love peaceful elegance from trying Creekstone Inn. We always do our best, even if our enthusiasm and hospitality get a tad loud now and then. We apologize for the distraction. Chris Singer - Owner: Creekstone Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently spent two nights here and loved it. We stayed in #6 the Wild Room but all the rooms have unique features and character. The bed was really comfortable, the jacuzzi tub was great. The location is ideal and walking distance to two of the best restaurants in town, Cafe Aroma (a block away) and The Creek House (across the street), it is also close to town. We drove into town because we were being lazy (or maybe because we were so realxed) but you can walk! This is also a perfect place for a group to stay as well. We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

All I can say is this place is great we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it to anyone,,

Helpful?
1 Thank lacybowbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A quaint inn, very quiet and relaxing for adults seeking a respite from screaming toddlers, as the inn is not suitable for and does not encourage children, who are welcome at its sister hotel nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been going to visit in Idyllwild for the past 20 years. One of the few places we had never stayed in was the Creekstone Inn. Up until 3 years ago it was under old ownership as a B&B. Now, it is owned by a family in town as a B&K (kitchen). After previewing them online, I choose a lovely room and booked it for my birthday, August 2nd.
This is a historical building which was once the town general store. It is decorated in a upscale rustic look and is quite beautiful. We were the first guests for the evening and our hostess asked if we would like to look around. We did and found a room we liked even better than ours and asked if we could change. It was not booked so we switched over, no problem. Coffee, tea and cocoa are available at all times and guests may use the kitchen as they wish; only rule, you clean up after yourself. We enjoyed our room, the quiet mountain ambiance and tea on the veranda. Definitely our new favorite place to stay when we visit Idyllwild, CA.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, upstairs and down too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJsJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
868 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#2 of 9 in Idyllwild
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#3 of 13 in Idyllwild
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
393 reviews
9.6 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#61 of 73 in Palm Springs
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekstone Inn

Property: Creekstone Inn
Address: 54950 Pine Crest Ave, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creekstone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic, historical 9 room inn with guest access to a gourmet kitchen, billiards, TV's & DVD's, conference & retreat facilities, fireplaces & jacuzzi tubs. Walking distance to great restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Creekstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing