We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Idyllwild
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
169
10
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
169
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craftsman style continental breakfast cafe aroma third floor tranquility room old pines wall of windows weekend breakfast large fireplace included hard boiled eggs long hike mini muffins fluffy bathrobes trickling water steam room forest service week days
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 181 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

It's a beautiful boutique to stay at with uniquely names rooms. Beautiful common areas to sit and see the surrounding views from and an amazing french toast breakfast on Sundays with Keurig coffee makers for coffee or tea anytime, including the rooms. The main common area also has plenty of books to choose from if you decide to oass the time next to a fire with a good book. The steam room is perfect to go to after an amazing day playing in the snow. The rooms are small, but very well distributed so we had no lack of room. There are small electronic fireplaces for ambiance. There are also a few restaurants within a block or the center of town is only 3 blocks away, so everything is a short walk.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dany92118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We did a weekend trip from San Diego and stayed inside the Tranquility room, a deluxe queen room on the third floor which we thought was exceptionally clean and cozy. The common area and our room was very modern yet was able to still give that mountainous cabin vibe. If that’s your preference, this place is definitely for you. We were also thinking about an Airbnb but don’t regret staying at the Grand Idyllwild at all. There’s a lot of privacy and it just provides a different kind of ambiance you can’t get at an Airbnb. The price points are nearly the same.

Lily, the inn keeper is readily available to help out and makes sure make your experience personable. The amenities available are free and the continental breakfast was great. Common area was cozy and didn’t feel crowded.

All in all, the stay was fantastic and probably the most comfortable cabin experience I’ve had. The price is a bit on the expensive side but well worth it. Some improvements could be to have more bathroom amenities such as a toothbrush if requested. The WiFi was very on and off with some devices not even connecting. Cellular never worked in the building and we have Verizon and Tmobile.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ryantB5527WL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Idyllwild Lodge. It is the embodiment of mountain chic – lots of cozy nooks and large windows with natural lighting and views. We stayed in the Tranquility room which is on the third (top) floor and very comfortable for a couple. Dual shower heads were such a delight after a long day of hiking.

Lily the innkeeper was our main point of contact before and throughout our trip. She helped organize our late check-in (late is considered any time after 5pm) and organized massages for us. She does lots of multi-tasking so don’t expect her to be sitting at the front, but is always accessible by phone. Side note on the massages - we highly recommend as the treatments are fantastic!

Breakfast was hearty and while the weekend meals all come with lots of fruit, the main course is usually not vegetarian or vegan friendly. If you have dietary restrictions I’d advise to make arrangements in advance.

Overall a lovely weekend and we hope this was the first of many visits to the Grand Idyllwild Lodge.

Room tip: Tranquility is perfect for couples
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AliFriedmanMermey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

We typically prefer hotels because they tend to be more up to date but this lodge is the exception. The Grand Idyllwild is a super charming cabin with a lot of beautiful, thoughtful touches, furniture, artwork, library and yummy food but also has the amenities of a modern luxury hotel. The furniture, bed and bathrooms are new and luxurious, they have fast WiFi and DirecTV with all the channels. Truly the best of all worlds. I highly recommend this inn!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AfshinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019

This was everything it was advertised to be. The pictures and descriptions on their website match the experience (unlike some other properties I've been to). It is the way B&B's were intended to be, but rarely found today.
A bright spacious and quiet place. The granite cliffs and monoliths of the San Jacinto mountains in view, make you feel you are much farther north in the Sierras. The forest service office is just down the road, so its easy to get you permits and info to enjoy the wilds. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, and staff friendly and helpful. We did a long hike one day, and did a deep tissue massage the next day.
I strongly recommend this lodge.

Room tip: Each room has its attributes. Check them out on the website. Top floor is quiet.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600PaulS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews