We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge~wish I could have stayed longer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This Lodge is absolutely gorgeous. Peaceful and scenic, set among pines and indigenous plants. It has an arts and crafts feel and the decor is simple, elegant and lovely. I could have stayed fro a week! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and have a perfect aesthetic feel. The hosts offer wine in the early evening and some conversation, which makes you feel catered to and at the same time relaxed. Beautiful views, a lovely continental breakfast, delightful wind chimes and a simply gorgeous place to stay, what a wonderful get away! This alone is worth a trip to Idyllwild and visit Cafe Aroma for dinner, fabulous food!

Room Tip: Any room choice would not be a mistake, they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

Living in LA, my wife and I always had an ambition to visit either Idyllwild or Lake Arrowhead / Big Bear. But every time, we were deterred by the questionable state of lodgings. Click around on this site and you'll see what I mean. My favorite was a highly-rated hotel in Big Bear where one of the *positive* reviews was "great place, except for the spiders in the room!" Ugh, god, no. Time after time, we were persuaded that we were better off staying home.

Into this void steps the Grand Idyllwild Lodge. This newly-constructed inn is run by a couple, Jacki and Brad. Think of it like as a big B&B, and you'll get the idea. The rooms are clean and lovely. Nice common spaces & decks. The location is great, off the main drag in Idyllwild but an easy walk to restaurants. Jacki & Brad are friendly and host a reception each evening with wine & snacks, but otherwise let guests have their privacy. The lodge isn't quite finished — as of May 2014, Brad is still putting the finishing touches on the gym, sauna, and remaining guest rooms. But even now, it's head and shoulders above anything in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrayspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here mid-May 2014. Very excited to have found this craftsman style lodge on a hill close the town. The accommodations are spacious, bright, well-decorated, with very comfortable beds. Lots of windows to view the pines and let in the mountain air. We stayed in Suite Romance, the largest room I believe with a bay window and lovely views toward town and the pines. Our friends stayed in a smaller room, equally as inviting.
There is a lovely library sitting area on the second level, as well as a great room on the main floor and decks abound with views of Tahquitz Peak. Fresh continental breakfast included weekdays, with a full breakfast on weekends. Afternoon wine and beer are offered in the bar area.
We ambled to Café Aroma in town for dinner and live music. A delightful stay!!
The lodge owner / builders are helpful and friendly. They are adding rooms for a total of 9 (very clean...no construction debris anywhere) and a fitness room and spa, so we are planning to return with our car rally group, who are accustomed to upscale lodging. I know they will be impressed.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Grand Idyllwild Lodge is a fabulous inn located in the mountains above Palm Springs. Anyone visiting the mountain community of Idyllwild should stay there if considering an overnight in the mountains.

From the beautiful rooms that are all different, to the views from the lodge, to the service, this is one great experience. My wife and I stayed in the Sweet Romance room and it was worth every penny.

We relaxed immediately upon entering the lodge. The owners, Brad and Jacki, give personal service you do not get at comparable inns. This is a great place!

Joel and Nancy Bryden

Room Tip: Just ask the owners and they will not steer you wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Thanks to someone checking out early, we were able to stay here on a whim. Don't count on doing that, though - this beautiful lodge is likely to be booked far in advance, especially when they complete the additional spa area downstairs. When people build something beautiful, as Brad and Jacki have here, you can feel the pride of craftsmanship in every detail. That's something that is hard to quantify in a review, but it certainly added to the loveliness of the experience. I especially loved stepping out on the porch in the morning and listening to the sound of the amazing water feature/stream that Brad so thoughtfully included in the landscape! If you are looking for a high quality getaway spot, you will not be disappointed. Like us, you may start planning your next visit while eating the lovely breakfast prepared by the owners. (Bonus: dinner at nearby Café Aroma was the best ravioli I've had since Florence, Italy!)

Room Tip: We stayed in "Suite Memory", decorated in lovely Crate & Barrel-style. Each room is un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed at the lodge over a holiday weekend (Mother's Day) and had a wonderful experience. The owners are very focused on being very accommodating and the lodge is fantastic. For our trip we stayed in Harmony which offered a great private balcony and mountain view, perfect for a romantic weekend. The room was spotless and we didn't hear a sound from the other guests in the morning or evening. Upon arrival Brad was adding a movable awning to the large upper window to block the morning sun (they were quickly responding to comments from other guests) it did the job of keeping the sun out allowing us to sleep in, just as we planned. Their restaurant suggestions were spot on, providing great food and fantastic service. We even met the wine maker that produced the wine we were having while at Cafe Aroma. The lodge is very close to everything from hiking to dining. Luckily we were there during one of the second Saturday local art shows, allowed us to pick up some great pieces of local art at very reasonable prices. We will be back, there is no question about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porsche1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Based upon quality there is no equal in Idyllwild. This new lodging has established a 6-star standard they has never existed in Idyllwild.

The only downside is that with only six rooms (3 more under construction) you may have trouble getting in. As more people experience the Grand Idyllwild this will become even more difficult.

We would never want to come to Idyllwild and stay anywhere else.

The couple who built this piece if heaven they treat you like members of their family

The breakfasts are amazing

Happy hour at 6pm every day is great.

Every room is customized

Soon they will add an exercise room and mini spa.

If you can afford the best quality this is the only ace to consider in Idyllwild!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank erparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
10.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
10.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
164 reviews
0 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Idyllwild Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Idyllwild Lodge

Address: 54820 Pine Crest Road, PO Box 4216, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: $245 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge is an unforgettable boutique luxury lodge nestled among the trees on over two acres of land. Located at the "top of the town," this breathtaking lodge features panoramic views of the pristine, idyllic San Jacinto Mountains, including a majestic backdrop of the monoliths Lily Rock and Tahquitz Peak. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing