We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This wonderful place is a diamond in the rough. We were lucky enough to be one of the first guests during their "soft opening". The owners, Jacki and Brad, have thought of every convenience, but have managed to keep the wonderful feel of a homey lodge. Breakfast was healthy and yummy, a great start to our day...and the atmosphere in the evening was social and inviting. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. The fireplace in the main area is warm and inviting. A wonderful place to curl up with a good book. Needless to say, we booked our stays for at least 3 more visits before we even left. I would absolutely recommend this location to anyone who asked...in fact, I believe that there have already been many reservations booked based on my raving about our stay! I will be back there next week, and I cannot wait!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, and extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimPiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 162 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a lovely place for a relaxing escape! We were looking for a special treat and surely got it. The room was spacious and well-appointed, combining rustic charm with the latest in high technology. The room features are thoughtful, comfortable, and eye-pleasing. The bed was luxurious, comfortable, warm, and spotlessly clean. The toiletries provided were of good quality, the in room coffee top notch, the set up for electronics high tech, and the room care thoughtful and thorough. This is an excellent balance between B and B and hotel, with the congeniality, quality of food and service, and homey comfort of the former and the privacy and tech of the latter. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a getaway and plan to come back ourselves at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gps42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

What a wonderful hidden gem in the mountains of Idyllwild. My beau and I had such a wonderful time up there being nestled in the Trees alongside the majestic scenery from our room; as well as, many many views throughout the Lodge; we felt like we were in a Tree House. Brad and Jackie were so kind, gracious and most of all Genuine. They took such wonderful care of us and went over and beyond to accommodate us at all times. Brad and Jackie started this lodge from the ground up and built this wonderful lodge with their own hands, every detail to attention was exceeded and they even did double crown molding in our Suite that was a so exceptional. Hordourves were served nightly with Wine or Beer and Scrumptious Breakfasts were included daily. I can't say enough how kind, helpful and knowledgable they both were in our stay.

Thank you again Brad and Jackie we look forward to many more trips up their to the Lodge ;o)

Michelle and Peter

michelleweddingplanner.com

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyMichelleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband has been coming up to Idyllwild since the late 1970's and he introduced me to this beautiful little town about three years ago. We come up several times a year and have always longed for a special place to stay. We watched over the last several months The Grand Idyllwild Lodge being built and we couldn't wait to check it out. We were more than impressed the first time we stepped inside. What a gorgeous hotel, and Brad and Jacki go out of their way to take care of everyones needs. We were so impressed with our beautifully appointed room with the fantastic view of Tahquitz and Southridge! We didn't want to leave and can't wait until our next stay. Thank you so much Brad and Jacki, you have built a most wonderful, beautiful and relaxing hotel in our favorite destination!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I travel all of the time for business and pleasure around the world and I always seek spots that make me feel welcome, have impeccable service and luxury accommodations. The Grand Idyllwild Lodge is such a place and a fantastic asset for the beautiful town of Idyllwild where my son studies. We will be back and often with my husband!
Mariana

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of finding and staying at the Grand Idyllwild Lodge on its opening night and was thoroughly impressed. The owners/builders, Brad and wife Jacki, have created a cozy masterpiece perfect for their town and anyone who loves a mountain lodge experience. I'm an architect who builds hotels, and Brad and Jacki have built a spacious, stylish and entirely welcoming retreat. Compared to chain or boutique hotels, the finishes here are too elegant everywhere you glance, the rooms pleasantly oversized, and the public spaces are soaring while filled with rich details and materials. Wine and cheese in the evenings with the owners was delightful and the homemade breakfast was precisely what was needed to start the day in the mountains. In short, Brad and Jacki have hit the exact sweet spot of a cozy bed and breakfast that is also true to its Lodge name.

Room Tip: All rooms are so big, ask the owners about having a massage therapist from in town provide an in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
734 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,595 reviews
10.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
10.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#4 of 9 in Idyllwild
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Idyllwild Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Idyllwild Lodge

Address: 54820 Pine Crest Road, PO Box 4216, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range: $245 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Idyllwild Lodge is an unforgettable boutique luxury lodge nestled among the trees on over two acres of land. Located at the "top of the town," this breathtaking lodge features panoramic views of the pristine, idyllic San Jacinto Mountains, including a majestic backdrop of the monoliths Lily Rock and Tahquitz Peak. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing