We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodtimes Pub & Grill

Goodtimes Pub & Grill
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Goodtimes Pub and Grill is a casual restaurant serving classic American fair that regulars keep returning for time after time. It is the home of Idyllwild's Favorite Burger, but other favorites like sandwiches, pulled pork, BBQ and slow roasted ribs all are loved by our guests.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Burgers are not that good- and that is what they advertise. Also- too expensive for what they put on the table. I swore I would never go back after they refused to honor a coupon they admitted they released but "didn't work out for them". Lastly- their outdoor area is right next to loud air conditioning units. One bright spot- the owners were there and try to project a friendly atmosphere.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodtimes P, Public Relations Manager at Goodtimes Pub & Grill, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like the burger you were served! I can assure you that all our burgers are made fresh each day, from fresh ground Angus beef. We understand that customers can be very particular about exactly how their burgers are cooked, so if it did not meet your expectations we would have been more than happy to cook you another one.

Our prices are actually very competitive for Idyllwild, although the burger prices are a bit higher than the "norm" since we do go to the extra effort of purchasing the highest quality Angus beef and grinding it ourselves.

We also apologize for any mixup regarding the coupon you tried to redeem. We did, indeed, have a problem with a coupon that was issued with incorrect information on it back in the fall of 2011. It probably should have been handled better for you and we have had a lot of time to review those situations and train on how to handle them better.

We apologize for the noise in the outdoor patio - unfortunately, there is not much we can do about that, as there are only so many places that the freezer condensers can be placed. Should you give us another chance, we definitely have outdoor seating that is further from the noise, as well as indoor seating, that would probably be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connersville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big Surprises in Small Packages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have been to Goodtimes several times now and we have not been disappointed a single time. The food there is outstanding, whether you get one of their award-winning burgers (yes, they are award winning - I've seen the award), a juicy & tender pulled pork tenderloin BBQ sandwich or a classic Reuben on Rye. The food is all prepared with care, served hot and absolutely wonderful. I don't know about any of these reviews on here complaining about the food - perhaps they don't know a good thing when they see it? The service is also fantastic. The waitresses and owner/chef are all super friendly and efficient. Don't forget to try the desserts - out of this world!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR A BREW”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Located in town and a great spot for a brew and watching the motorcycles pass. Great service. Extremely limited menu, but the fish tacos are really good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank savathebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Down home Eats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This diner is across rthe street from where we stayed at the Strawberry Creek B&B. Portions are large and flavorful. I had a Burger with onion rings and my wife had the fish sandwich with rings. Both were cooked to our liking and tasted great! The wine service was better than expected for a diner. They also have several craft beers on tap. While we were unable to think of dessert, we did obseve several HUGE homemade choices being served to other customer's vocalizations of joy! Good eats, family run!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dryhopped2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hole in the wall type place with great food and great service! The sandwiches are so Yummy!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Casen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodtimes Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Goodtimes Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing