We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice casual coffee shop”

Jo'an's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #27 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Restaurant details
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice casual coffee shop”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had lunch and breakfast here on our recent three-day stay in Idyllwild. Food was good and prices reasonable. We'd eat here again on a future trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank moorpwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    54
    37
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relatively poor - at best”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Idyllwild for two months so I've tried many, if not all, of the restaurants.
I ate here twice in that period of time. Breakfast and dinner.
Both times this restaurant cured my appetite.
All of the other restaurants are much better.

Helpful?
2 Thank Hepsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Special”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stopped for the breakfast special and weren't disappointed. The staff was wonderful, the food good and the bill not too bad! All in all, we will return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No service had to leave”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stopped by for lunch on October 26. There was a band playing and we wanted to sit outside to enjoy the music and the weather. We went inside to see if we could be seated outside. Verge Wait person said to go ahead and sit anywhere outside. We found a place(several tables were empty) and waited for a server, any server. No one came by, no one acknowledged our existence while tables around us were being served. It got to be comical after awhile. We did attempt a few times to flag someone down but I guess because we did not look like locals or because we did not arrive on a motorcycle, we were not considered to be valuable customers. After 20 minutes, we got up and left. Luckily, we had a great lunch at the Lumberjack down the street. By the way, the table we were sitting at was the one closest to the front door and every one if the Wait staff that was working the outside tables went by us, as did the bus people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“DYNAMITE HOSTESS/WAITSTAFF!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped in for dinner and was seated in the main dining room. Restaurant has quite a few tables and people were enjoying the ambiance. Good people watching!

After waiting about 5 minutes, no waitstaff. The young ladyhostess that had seated us happened to walk by and asked if anyone had approached us. We told her No.

Well that little dynamo went into action. Brought drinks, took our orders, served us and refreshed our drinks checking back several times to make sure we were OK. She was just a delight and we felt very appreciated. Her gratuity reflected it.

Food and drink were good. They have Karaoke later in the evening as well.

We like this restaurant and would definitely come back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nshugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo'an's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Jo'an's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing