We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy dining and drinking”
Review of Gastrognome

Gastrognome
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Cosy dining and drinking”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Situated in the wonderful town of Idyllwild in the S. Jacinto mountains - this place is well worth a visit. Half pub, half restaurant with a nice cosy atmosphere, wood fire burning and nice dining area. The menu has plenty of variety. The food is well presented and sensibly priced and best of all, the soup is served HOT!
Next time we return to the area, we will make a point of visiting here again.
If you're travelling here from Palm Springs, do the loop route clockwise from Palm Desert, returning eventually to the I10 freeway just west of Palm Springs - wonderful scenery and views all the way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank npyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    130
    40
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I Shoulda Gnome”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I were in Idyllwild for three days to get some rest and exercise. We had seen Gastrognome on a previous trip but hadn't eaten there. It was recommended to us by our B&B managers, and they were right. The food was extraordinary. I had the Cioppino and my wife ordered the pork chop. My meal was rich Anderson seafood was flavorful and tender and abundant, with scallops and shrimp and mussels and fish on a bed of linguine. My wife said he pork chop was tender and moist and flavorful. She was disappointed when there was no spinach (the menu indicated the pork chop would be on a bed of spinach), and she mentioned it to the server. The server indicated the pork chop didn't come with spinach but offered to bring some spinach out for her. When we saw the menu again the next day (yes, we went back for more) the menu DID say spinach. A bit disappointing,but not enough to keep us away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty and filling”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I thought the prices were a little high but I wasn't buying. However the food was well prepared, nicely presented, tasty, and filling. The outdoor patio was nice to have on this first day of spring and the table outsidel set with linens rather than being too picnicky.

Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Both dinner and lunch”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight in Idyllwild and had many restaurants to choose from. The owner of the Inn where we stayed suggested Gastrognome. We went there for dinner and were seated by the fireplace. The lighting was subdued and chamber music played softly in the background. We had Rainbow trout, which was excellent, and french Onion soup, also very good. Our waitress, Patty went out of her way for us and all in all we were very pleased. We came back the next day for lunch and enjoyed ourselves once again. I forgot to mention that they had sun tea, which was served in a carafe so I didn't have to wait for refills. We will definitely go back there next time we go up to Idyllwild

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Braddock52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Three Day Getaway”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Idyllwild for two nights and three days. Had a great time. We ate at the Gastrognome one time for lunch and one time for dinner. Try the calimari for lunch it was great. For dinner I had the lamb and Karen had the chicken diablo. Both were great. Carrie our server took very good car of us and the place was very busy. (Saturday night) They do take reservations. Will be back and will eat here again. Don't miss this place. Rustic atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastrognome also viewed

 

Been to Gastrognome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing