We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day Special Event” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idyllwild Nature Center

Idyllwild Nature Center
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vista, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Special Event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We hiked up the challenging trail from the Idyllwild County Park where we were camping. Many locals had booths set up to show off their special crafts and foods. Artists had a gallery on one side of the building with original works for sale.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryErickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
497 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The nature center is a small building packed with lots of information and fun things to see. There were slides you could look at under a microscope, a video that explained the history of the area and some examples of local wildlife(only a few were still able to move on their own)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Staff very friendly, we were invited through to the back room to see the snakes etc as their display had been moved. We did a couple of the nature trails and spent an hour watching woodpeckers and a few other birds and a squirrel arguing over a hole in a tree trunk. Not an exhausting walk, just pleasant and quiet. Nice for a wee picnic.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaxnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Nice drive up to cool off, and take in the scenery, fresh air, views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Living in the Desert year-round, you yearn for cooler climates, and change of scenery. We love driving up to Idyllwild, the Pines to Palms Hwy (Hwy 74), so pretty, hairpin curves, climbing high up the mountains and if you have ever driven the road to Hana on Maui, you will know what I mean... the road twists, turns and truly is fun, beautiful. Once you arrive in Idyllwild, welcomed by tall trees,(pines, yes, palms, not so much!) gorgeous forests, mountains, and enchanting town. We enjoyed a delicious, fabulous dinner at Restaurant Gastrognome (OUTSTANDING!) and stopped to enjoy the displays at the Nature Center.

Remember there is a small admission fee, but this is Southern California and we did not mind.
Plan, dress accordingly and you will really enjoy Idllwild! Safe travels!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SoCalSiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Idyllwild Nature's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been an Idyllwild visitor for 56 years. Among my favorite destinations is the Nature Center in the County Park. The Museum and exhibits are always informative and the Gift Shop/Book Store has some wonderful items for sale. My favorite part however, is the picnic area and nature trails. Take a self guided tour and learn about the flora and fauna of the San Jacinto Mountains. See the bedrock mortars that were used by the Cahuilla people to grind acorns into meal for food. You will love the peace and tranquility of the Nature Center and will want to make it one of your regular stops when visiting Idyllwild.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idyllwild Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Idyllwild Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing