We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, welcoming and wonderful home from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Pine Rock Retreat, private cozy A-Frame studio-style cabin with The Most AMAZING VIEWS on the Hill
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild
Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Comfy Queen Size Bed on Main Level of this studio style cabin
Cuddle up and get Cozy & Romantic with Thermostat Controlled Cast Iron gas Fireplace
Romantic and Clean Smoke-Free Heater/Gas Fireplace
Save Money & Prepare Meals In This Well Stocked Kitchen with Refrigerator, Stove, Oven & a View!
Comfy Full Size Memory Foam Top Mattress in the Cozy Loft with a View, and a Privacy Curtain
View from the upstairs Loft
Main 3/4 Cozy Bathroom- Shower, Toilet, Sink and a View
Kids' Cave, for 5 yrs or older, with 2 Twin Mattresses, secret trap door, sink and small toilet room
Deck Lounge Chairs to kick back, relax, read a book, watch wildlife, enjoy the view, and star-gaze.
Outdoor deck dining with a view, Grill, Seating for 6
View From the Deck, Living Room, Kitchen
Another View From the Deck
Heavenly View When Clouds Roll In.
Trail view behind our cabin
Private Bench with full valley view, at the back of our property, by the 'Hat Tree' (Ask for info)
Wintertime!  Amazing Views from your own Private Deck, Living Room and Kitchen
Sunrise!!!   If you are an early bird you'll catch this!
Swings For The Kids At Heart
Stellar Jay, one of our resident birds (FREE birdseed for our guests)
Squirrels Abound and Think They Are the Birds
Stellar Blue Jays, Woodpeckers, Mountain Quail, Red tail Hawks and many other birds come here.
Guest submitted photo, from the back deck
Wildlife (FREE bird seed provided) but bring peanuts and its a frenzy!
Lily Rock, via zoom lens from cabin by a guest
When it snows a lot
Serenity and Calm in the snow
Year Around Wildlife
Manzanita grows abundantly here
Humber Park for Hiking.  FREE PARKING with our Adventure Pass
Hiking up behind the peak
5 Minutes to town for Wonderful Restaurants, Shops, Galleries, Groceries and Entertainment
The Fort in town, for fun shops, ceramic painting and more
There's even a movie theatre with current showings and movie rentals
Candy and ice cream shops in town
Enjoy Wine or Beer Tasting in town and Relaxing Atmosphere
Our local little mountain coffee shop, highly recommended, along with local bakeries
Café Aroma (one of many great restaurants we recommend)
Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwild-Pine Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Idyllwild, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Explorati...
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and wonderful home from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in the Amazing Views cabin. It is well named with beautiful views from inside and out. The cabin has everything that you could need or want and felt like a wonderful nest to return to after our days out hiking and exploring. We hope to go again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being there with my daughter, staying in what felt like home...and such a beautiful one at that.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y2K2014
Claremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second stay at the Pine Rock Retreat, and we will be returning again in the future for the cozy, well-stocked cabin with the wonderful views of the mountain scenery. We also had a spectacular viewing of the Perseids on our first night there (August 11th).

We thought that the cabin was fabulous last time (August 2014), and the owners have made further improvements (e.g. a small dresser, new grill, cable TV--not necessary, but nice to catching some Olympics while in the mountains). The cabin is cozy and has everything you could possibly need, and the views are amazing. If you fill up the bird feeders (seed provided), you get to see quite a few species up close (acorn woodpeckers, mourning doves, band-tailed pigeons, stellars jays, scrub jays, nuthatch?, sparrows).

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhilts
Palm Desert, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Serene, comfortable and stunning views of wildlife and vistas.”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you're looking for solitude and beauty this is a great retreat. The owners provided every ememity you could think of and it was very comfortable for two people although a loft and separate kids' quarters allows for a total of 6 guests. You can relax on the beautiful deck enjoying the view and still be in Idyllwild for dinner in 10 minutes. We will definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and wildlife, close to town
Liked least: Husband has tall van and had a hard time parking on road.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMW1661
1 review
“Beautiful views,very clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lots of hiking nearby. We made good use of the porch and BBQ grill. Fantastic views with plenty of birds. The owner provided plenty of towels and the cabin was spotless.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jianxias
1 review
“What a fantastic view!”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a fantastic view! The host is very considerate and prepares everythin you need in the cabin: food to feed birds, parking pass for trailhead, coffee, etc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikkysang...
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Tranquil Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I stayed for the weekend in this beautiful, quaint cabin for a nice getaway. Idyllwild is a beautiful venue for a mountain retreat. The cabin surpassed our expectations. It is situated in such a unique, hillside perch that it felt as if we were sitting in a treehouse and all alone on the mountain. The views were so beautiful and living with the sounds of nature were so relaxing. The attention to detail in the cabin made us feel so much at home. It is obvious that the owners truly want their guests to feel like they at being pampered, yet at home all at once. We ate at a delicious restaurant (La Casita) and walked the local shops - all within close driving distance from the cabin. Though it was a fantastic venue for a couple, the cabin also catered to a family. We loved the trap door that led down to a room with bunks and games - perfect for kids. There were great trails right outside of the back deck that led to even more amazing views. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being all alone - just us and nature.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert N
Santee, California
2 reviews
“Pine Rock Retreat is OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is the second time we have stayed in a cabin owned by Cheryl Phelps and the first time at Pine Rock. Both times have been fantastic! Pine Rock is going to be a favorite place to go from now on. The cabin is clean, comfortable and has EVERYTHING! The view from the deck and the bench are spectacular. My 13 year old daughter loved the loft .It gave her some privacy and a space of her own. I can't recommend it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing