We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a small family!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Pine Rock Retreat, a private cozy A-Frame Studio-Style Idyllwild Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Rock Retreat, a private cozy A-Frame Studio-Style Idyllwild Cabin
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Pine Rock Retreat, a private cozy A-Frame Studio-Style Idyllwild Cabin
Amazing Views at Pine Rock Retreat Private Cabin, Idyllwild
Studio Style Cozy A-Frame Cabin, Pine Rock Retreat, Idyllwil - Pine Cove (New HDTV since this pic)
Comfy Queen Size Bed on Main Level of this studio style cabin
Cuddle up and get Cozy & Romantic with Thermostat Controlled Cast Iron gas Fireplace
Romantic and Clean Smoke-Free Heater/Gas Fireplace
Save Money & Prepare Meals In This Well Stocked Kitchen with Refrigerator, Stove, Oven & a View!
Main 3/4 Cozy Bathroom- Shower, Toilet, Sink and a View
Comfy Full Size Memory Foam Top Mattress in the Cozy Loft with a View, and a Privacy Curtain
View from the upstairs Loft
Kids' Cave, for 5 yrs or older, with 2 Twin Mattresses, secret trap door, sink and small toilet room
Deck Lounge Chairs to kick back, relax, read a book, watch wildlife, enjoy the view, and star-gaze.
Outdoor deck dining with a view, Grill, Seating for 6
Northeasterly View From the Deck, Living Room, Kitchen
Southeasterly View From the Deck, wild bird feed provided FREE
Private Bench with full valley view, at the back of our property, by the 'Hat Tree'
Heavenly View When Clouds Roll In.
Wintertime!  Amazing Views from your own Private Deck, Living Room and Kitchen
Sunrise!!!   If you are an early bird you'll catch this!
Swings For The Kids At Heart
Squirrels Abound and Think They Are the Birds
Stellar Blue Jays, Woodpeckers, Mountain Quail, Red tail Hawks and many other birds come here.
Lily Rock, via zoom lens from cabin by a guest
Humber Park for Hiking.  FREE PARKING with our Adventure Pass
5 Minutes to town for Wonderful Restaurants, Shops, Galleries, Groceries and Entertainment
The Fort in town, for fun shops, ceramic painting and more
There's even a movie theatre with current showings and movie rentals
Candy and ice cream shops in town
Enjoy Wine or Beer Tasting in town and Relaxing Atmosphere
Our local little mountain coffee shop, highly recommended, along with local bakeries
Café Aroma (one of many great restaurants we recommend)
Guest submitted photo
Deck Residents (FREE bird seed provided) but bring peanuts and its a frenzy!
Beautiful moon-rises
View from the deck, living room and kitchen
Hiking up behind the peak
Manzanita
Trail view behind our cabin
When it snows a lot
Serenity and Calm in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Idyllwild, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Yunuen79
Calexico, California
1 review
“Perfect place for a small family!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This place is amazing, and the service is even better. All you really need to bring is food, the kitchen has most utensils and equipment than mine! You will find anything you need there.
Cabin conditions are great; you're kids are going to love the "cave" and there are a lot of board games to enjoy as a family.
Don't forget to have a barbecue outside on the deck, the view is beautiful.

TV and WiFi are a welcome plus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derpy H
1 review
“It does not get better than this”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I have rented a bunch of condos/houses/cabins over the past 10 years, mostly in the Tahoe area, but all in this sort of mountain town environment, so I feel I have a reasonable yardstick to provide some sort of quantitative review here.
This cabin was not just better/nicer than the ones I have rented before, but in a different league.
To be straight -- this is not the most spacious place on the mountain, but was much more than adequate than my needs, even for a 2 weeks long stay. A larger group would do just fine as the deck is spacious and there is a beautiful little hillside area just below the cabin, with seats and swings, trees, and rocks to climb/play about on.
The cabin is so totally cute. The owners have made such an extraordinary effort in providing every possible piece of information that you might need staying up there, have provided every possible 'domestic' item, and the kitchen is totally socked. They have gone to the length, for example, of providing the annual parking pass required for some of the more popular hiking trails. (It might have taken me days and a run-in with the ranger to even discover I needed one otherwise.)
The location is perfect, unless you feel you absolutely need to be in walking distance of town. The view from the cabin of the bowl containing Idyllwild and of the surrounding mountain ridge is wonderful, and the area is quiet and a little secluded. (You could stay in town instead, but have no view and have no privacy outdoors.)
I would stay here again without any hesitation whatsoever.
The owner contacted me to see if there was anything I could suggest to improve the stay -- there was absolutely nothing I could suggest (free beer?) -- it is as good as it gets for renting..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug K
1 review
“Loving and relaxing”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We can't ask anymore. We were very impressed from the beginning to the end. Reservation and follow up were very professionally done. Cheryl (Owner) and Debbie (Asst. Manager) are always accessbile for questions and they are very friendly and caring.
Cabin was very nicely reday to welcome our family. It is very clean and well managed. Especially, we love the view!!! It was our first Christmas away from home, but we felt we were at home. I am very grateful that we had to chance to spent memorable Christmas at Cheryl's cabin. Thanks Cheryl and Debbie!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we liked view and cleaness best
Liked least: Nothing we liked least
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F Q
Irvine, California
1 review
“Best mountain retreat yet!”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Everything every other reviewer has said is true. What makes this cabin stand out for me is the how well the cabin is maintained and stocked, and the view. There were two moms and four boys aged from 7 to 12 in our group. Everyone truly enjoyed the stay. Just to name a few of the things that we loved - One of the best views in the mountain, cozy and clean cabin with all the amenities we needed and more (we cooked everyday during our 4 night stay and had everything needed), spacious deck with unobstructed mountain and valley view and plenty of seating, forested mountain as the backyard with rocks for climbing, trails to explore, and the special Thanksgiving basket with sparkly apple cider upon arrival! The beds were very comfy, too. We took advantage of the new grill on the deck and the kids loved having their own spaces in the attic and the basement. There are just so many great things... Definitely planning on going back.


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Surfergi...
San Diego, California
1 review
“Wow, it was amazing and cozy.”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Cheryl and Larry really thought of everything to make our stay at Pine Rock easy and comfortable. The cabin and view is breath taking and way more then I expected.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny E
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“A vacation that renewed our spirit and filled us with joy!”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This lovely little cabin is a perfect getaway and so close to all of the natural wonders of this very unique and special area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say it was all so wonderful, but the view is spectacular!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura S
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The ONLY way to experience Idyllwild!”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this place! I didn't want to leave! Cheryl was so friendly and helpful and made booking a breeze. We were greeted by a welcome basket full of goodies and information on what to do while in Idyllwild. The cabin was cozy, clean and fully stocked. It felt like home from the moment we walked in. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and more. We spent every day grilling out on the deck and taking in the amazing view and watching the squirrels, birds and chipmunks that came to eat out of the feeder. There was even a great hiking trail right on the property and it is close to a bunch of other trails and the town. I could go on at length but I will sum it up by saying I will never consider staying anywhere else in Idyllwild!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;