We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Mountain Retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Idyllwild Bunkhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
La Costa, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Mountain Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in the larger of two cabins that had all comforts of home. We were greeted by very friendly Inn keepers Oscar and Susan cabin was clean had extra blankets two wonderful decks a view of beautiful pine trees and fresh mountain air. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook. However the grocery store was expensive. So if you plan on preparing your meals shop prior to your arrival. My favorite time was in the morning drinking coffee on the deck wrapped up in a blanket and feeling very much at peace. The town of Idyllwild has shops art musemus, jewelry stores full of custom pieces done by the local artist.
There are two full service bars in town to get a drink and enjoy happy hour. The Gastrodome (our favorite) and Jo Anns. You will find the BEST struddel in the world was at a little place called Natures Wisdom .... Oh my goodness.... There are walking trails everywhere depending on your fitness level and even a place to get a massage afterwards. If you live in SoCAL and want to get away to the mountains for a quiet weekend, this is a good place to do so. There is no skiing and right now NO SNOW. But still lots of fun things to do and see.

My only suggestion to make this B&B great to greater would be to upgrade the bed and bedding and perhaps the carpet in the bedroom needs to be cleaned.

Room Tip: Every morning you have fresh HOT scones delivered to your room in a basket with lemon jam juice, oat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    14
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
56
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Loved the bunkhouse! The rooms are quaint, clean and warmly decorated. The service was outstanding. We were directed to the Nature Center, terrific restaurants, while enjoying great artisan shops. Each morning a complimentary basket of oatmeal, juice, apples and homemade scones wiith lemon spread was delivered to our door. Wow! My kids waited by the door each morning. We aare? re new but definitely huge fans of Idyllwild and will be sure to include Strawberry Creek Bed & Breakfast/Bunkhouse in all of our future visits. A truly relaxing break from the L.A. hustle and bustle. We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

This was a lovely little hotel room that felt like a cabin. I was the only one staying, so I didn't hear an ounce of noise. The traffic quiets down early and didn't bother me one bit. The balcony out back really made the room for me. It was a lovely view and a quiet peaceful place to sit and enjoy the view. The breakfast was phenomal...the scone delivered was actually still warm. The only two downsides were the very low water pressure in the shower (I couldn't get all of the soap off) and a group of ants that I found crawling around the sink in the morning. I hate ants...for some reason they really freak me out, but I loved this place so much that even I could overlook them. Afterall, you are in nature.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

If you want to visit a small, quiet (no card horns!), charming town - check out Strawberry Creek Bunkhouse. Very charming 50's motel (refurbished) and the homemade scones delivered to your room for breakfast are fantastic. Every recommendation we inquired about for food options were right on as well. Friendly staff with a low key atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louie612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

I read the previous review after I booked the room at the Bunkhouse, and I was concerned. So after I got the confirmation email, I emailed back politely to see what the heater situation was, saying that I had read on Trip Advisor that there had been trouble lately. The innkeeper emailed me back right away that my room had a working propane wall heater, and that she would turn it on before I got there to make sure it was nice and warn for me. When I got there the room was nice and toasty for me. Great! Initially, I had a problem connecting to the wifi and I called the office about it. She called the wifi company and within ten minutes the problem was resolved. I was very impressed.
Cons:
Small windows that don't provide sufficient sunlight
Parking lot needs better de-icing
Pros:
Beautiful location, cozy room
Clean, comfortable

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank i_strangeways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We went for the Idyllwild Jazz Festival; it was tough to get a room as rather late in the game so when they had one room available we grabbed it not knowing much about the area etc. We knew it was a motel-style plus cabins but we were so pleasantly surprised about the decor, how clean it was, lovely kitchenette and balcony with great view, friendly staff, and the best scones I've ever had delivered at your door every morning. While the rooms are relatively small, they are quite well appointed and with the balcony we did not feel crowded at all. Plus the jazz was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trippi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

My teenage daughter and I stayed in Room 12. The room was wonderful and rustic. It was so nice to get away from the city. We slept better than we have in years. The scones were delicious and were the highlight of our trip. Kathleen was a gracious host and such a nice lady. We will definitely stay here again. Although there is not any air conditioning, with the breeze blowing through the windows and the 2 fans provided, it was perfect.

Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texastraveler1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
10.2 mi away
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
#59 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idyllwild Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllwild Bunkhouse

Property: Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Address: 25525 Highway 243, Idyllwild, CA 92549 (Formerly Strawberry Creek Bunkhouse)
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Idyllwild Bunkhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a hillside overlooking the San Jacinto State Forest, the Idyllwild Bunkhouse is an affordable, eco-friendly mountain lodge tailor-made for hikers, rock-climbers, fisherman, mountain-bikers, or those of us who wouldn't dare head to the mountains without the kids or the pets. From camping-themed rooms with knotty pine interiors and vaulted open-beamed ceilings, to tastefully furnished cabins built with privacy in mind, every Bunkhouse accommodation has a kitchen/kitchenette, private balcony with stunning forest views, Aloe Vera bath amenities, free wi-fi and satellite television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Idyllwild Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Creek Bunkhouse Hotel Idyllwild

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing