We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't love Idyllwild Inn”
Review of Idyllwild Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Idyllwild Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Black Forest, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't love Idyllwild Inn”
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We expected nothing fancy, but were not impressed with the mold in the shower, or the short shower head (about 4'11"). The towels were VERY cheap, and the overall feeling of the place was that it was built in the 1950's and had never been upgraded. We paid $121 per night. We felt it was worth more like $50.

  • Liked — It allowed pets
  • Disliked — The cleanliness.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    36
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
45
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

June 2006. Cabin 7. We expected a cozy cabin like the one shown on their website. We only needed two things: A clean room and comfortable beds. Here's what we found:

Opened the door to the filthiest-looking, most bizarre room I've ever stayed in:

Bare hanging bulbs with string and yarn pulls

Broken tile on the hearth

EVERY inch of wall covered with carvings from previous guests (drawings, initials, hearts, names) This was bizarre, not charming - I'm talking about HUNDREDS of carvings everywhere. Looked like an old outhouse.

Stained OLD OLD carpeting (they allow pets - it looks like a lot of dog crap has been wiped up over the decades)

Pilled sheets!! Like sandpaper..

Yellow stains on the white bedspread.

One bed pushed under a half wall. It took two of us to get the bed out.

A rock-hard bed. Not firm - more like a board with a piece of foam and a sheet.

We had to turn around and drive home. It was the most disgusting place I've ever stayed...

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2006

My husband, son and I stayed at the Idyllwild Inn and found it to be a rustic and comfortable place. It is centrally located in town with easy and convenient walking to restaurants and shopping, hiking trails as well as the "residential" part of Idyllwild. The surrounding nature was breathtaking, and it was wonderful to see a young family enjoying the people they come across and meet. We will be back, probably annually to visit this "breath of fresh air" environment.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We tried to stay here on a cold, foggy Wednesday night while driving through Idyllwild... but at 8:40pm the proprietor answered the door and but then basically told us to go away, as they were closed for the night. Every other place was also shut down for the night, but this was the only one to turn us down in person - can't imagine it would have put them out to register us and collect our money. Business must be too good here!

Left us a bad impression of Idyllwild. However we did have a wonderful meal across the street at an upscale restaurant (Gastrognome).

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffp94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

I stay at this Inn because of "no choice" company insist because of price.

1. The theme rooms are not so clean, maids do a poor job of cleaning.

2. Electrical outlet for plugs are worn and need to be replaced. sometimes will not hold plug in.

3. Carpet burned

4. Door key hard to insert and exit due to wear.

5. Pull down window shades work sometimes.

6. When Inn is full take shower early in order to have hot water.

7. Maids do not replace plastic cups.

8. Lamp shades are not secured sometimes. No nut to hold them on

9. Outdated phone system.

10. They cover the musty smell with airfreshner.

11. light bulbs burned out and not replaced by maids.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank worldservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 30, 2005

My husband and I have made Idyllwild our "weekend getaway" and have been up there 4-5 times in the last few years. Each time we have tried various places: Knotty Pines, Fireside Inn, rented a private house, and now the Idyllwild Inn. This is our favorite! We stayed in a private cabin, and loved it! Rustic, cozy, and perfect location close to town. It's also important for our dog to be welcome, and she loved it too! We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Arrived at the Idyllwild Inn on Saturday, August 13, 2005 only to find that our "theme" room had been given to another patron. Having stayed there for 3 consecutive previous Saturdays and several Saturdays over the past four years, we were quite surprised at this occurance. After apologies on the inn's part, we were offered one of their one bedroom cabins up the road. Upon inspection, we found an unappealing, extremely musty cabin with filthy furniture. We declined this as no substitution for our usual small, clean, but quaint "theme" room and left the Idyllwild Inn only to discover no other rooms available after an 1 1/2 search. Unfortunately, we turned around, drove back to LA, and vowed never to return to the Idyllwild Inn for an inexcusable error. The condition of the cabin ruined our past fondness for the convenience, price, and simplicity of this inn.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank flightgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.3 mi away
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
Best Western Inn at Palm Springs
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
755 reviews
10.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
291 reviews
10.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#2 of 9 in Idyllwild
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idyllwild Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllwild Inn

Property: Idyllwild Inn
Address: 54300 Village Center Dr, Idyllwild, CA 92549-9997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Idyllwild Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Idyllwild Inn (since 1904) is located on 5+ acres in the heart of Idyllwild, CA. Idyllwild is within a 1-2 hour drive of diverse locations like Disneyland, Coronado Island, and Hollywood. At the Inn you can sit on your own deck under the pines and oaks, feeding squirrels and relaxing in the great outdoors. What makes the Idyllwild Inn so unique is its rich history and within minutes our guests can experience the best that Idyllwild has to offer. Since we are located in the center of town, our guests can walk to several great restaurants and many excellent shops and art galleries. A short drive can get you to some of the best hiking and mountain biking trails in Southern California. Our desire is that soon you will come and enjoy this amazing little town in the San Jacinto Mountains and join our little family here at the Idyllwild Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Idyllwild Hotel Idyllwild
Idyllwild Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing