We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery - CLOSED

Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: great cinnamon rolls, scones, etc.
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had the lemon ricotta cookies, they were divine. But people dropped in to buy cinnamon buns in the middle of the day and some reserve some for the next day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Cinnamon Rolls”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stopped here during our trip because of the great TA ratings. The cinnamon rolls were something to write home about!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Caramel Pecan excellent, Cinnamon Roll even better”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We meandered up the mountain from Palm Desert and stopped at Idyllwild for a break and a wander. This bakery is the kind of place we always enjoy finding, with homebaked products and local character.

It was a quiet time when we visited, just one other very satisfied customer enjoying his coffee and paper. Good coffee, and excellent baking. We enjoyed our caramel pecan bun, not realising it is (allegedly) world famous. I have to say that the Cinnamon Roll was one of the best I've tried - they are often bland and over sweet. This one was really good.

If you are passing through, don't miss this place if you enjoy a good pastry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Idyllwild Hot Spot.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Worth a look. Extremely tiny bakery just above the center of town. Sell cookies and huge sugary buns that taste as good as they look. Apparently the goods and atmosphere of this place hit the spot locally, since they were very busy on a Friday late morning. Funky, off the beaten track bakery perfect if you want to languish on the back deck reading a book with an expresso and a big, tasty, homemade cinnamon bun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Home-made Bake Goods Baked Daily at Honey Bunns!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I were in Idyllwild for the International Film Fest. We stopped by Honey Bunns because of all the great reviews! After we checked in at the Silver Pines Lodge, Honey Bunns was our first stop! It was about 2:30pm, so it wasn't crowded at the time.

We got the world famous caramel pecan sticky bun ($4.50). It was huge, so we shared it. And we got the blueberry scone ($2.50) and lemon ricotta cookie ($2.25) to go, to take back to our cabin. $9.99 for the three items is kind of high, but they were tasty.

There's seating inside, but since it was a nice sunny day, we ate outside in the back. We were told everything is made fresh at the bakery. And in the morning, they have fresh bagels and they'll fry up an egg on top!

We plan to stop by Honey Bunns every time we're in Idyllwild!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennShio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing