We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Buns” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery - CLOSED

Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: great cinnamon rolls, scones, etc.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty Buns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Omnomnomnom!

That sums it up. What more can I say about this place? We wandered into the woods and came across this tiny piece of sweet carb heaven. I had the Lemon-Ricotta cookie and my partner had the Pecan Sticky Bun, both are yummy, but that sticky bun was DELICIOUS & the portion was HEARTY. The shop owner is funny, friendly, & quite charismatic. The dining section has a rotating display of local art, which is available for purchase. There is also an outdoor seating area, which allowed for us to share the dining experience with the local squirrels. However, they do close quite early, so get your sugar fix before 2:00 p.m...This is a definite must while in Idyllwild.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aztkdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely bakery and coffee shop in the middle of the woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The bakery has fresh goodies made every morning. We had the blueberry scones right out of the oven and they were amazing: light, not too sweet, paired well with coffee. They don't have lattes, but brewed coffee and iced coffee. Their porch out back was perfect to rest.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best best best cinnamon rolls (honey buns) EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'm not kidding - with the plate-sized heated up caramel walnut bun, every single bite was like the gooey middle of the best cinnamon roll you've ever tasted. The honey added to the richness of the flavor and it was simply to die for. Other stuff we tried: an apple turnover thingie with the best flakiest pastry I've had in a long long time. My husband and I disagreed on #3 and #4 best. He voted for the pnut butter cooky, I preferred the orange-cranberry scone.
It IS easy to miss - look for a standing wooden sign by the street that just says Bakery . . . the bakery is literally hidden behind a funky flower and gift shop. Pull in as if you were going to the flower shop, drive to the very back of it and voila. Oh yeah, and the guy at the counter was very very friendly and it was fun to relax under the pine tree with our treats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sisterchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great baked goods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went here after reading other reviews on tripadvisor. We tried several different baked goods and they were all good. The husband and wife are very friendly and believe in good customer service. The honey buns are addictive and they are larger than they look in the counter. My wife liked the rosemary bagel. The bagel was flakey and not dense like most bagels generally are. We are looking forward to our next trip here. Another got to have is the lemon ricotta cookies.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Level Contributor
272 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Yummy and delectable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Besides Oma's this stands out as the best place in Idyllwild to get your sweet fix...polite staff, clean and delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey Bunns & Joe Bakery also viewed

 
Idyllwild, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing