We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Silver Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Pines Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Desert, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The cabins are not what they advertise. Very poor customer service--I stayed in a cabin and the heat and water didnt work, There was no firewood available. Extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Silver Pines Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Ward B. is reviewing his one night stay in an off-site house that we manage, NOT Silver Pines Lodge. Ward stayed one night, and there was an emerging problem with the pilot light, and Ward was the first to experience it. The problem was, it was fixable, but Ward didn't call anyone. He never gave us a chance to come over and check the problem. He just demanded 100% of his money back and was rude about it. We told him we would give him a discount for the trouble, even though he never brought it to our attention during the stay giving us an opportunity to fix it. He was irate we would not refund his fee in full for his stay, and slammed our office door so hard that it knocked pictures off our wall and broke a lamp. We are mountain location, and sometimes things don't work. All we ask is that you bring it to our attention and give us the opportunity to correct it or move you to a similar accommodation which we would have been happy to do if Ward had given us the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during a rock climbing trip. This place is pretty cool. It was a great place to escape from LA. We stayed in the Old Idyllwild room. it was a fairly large room with one queen and one twin bed. The lodge was cool and they also had a koi pond in the back. The service was great. I forgot to bring my hoodie and the employee let me borrow a fleece jacket from the lodge. Seriously, this a great place to stay if you want to escape the nonsense of LA and get the feel of a small town. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnfly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billyar
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have stayed here several times recently with my dog and we both have always felt so welcome.

It is a small collection of quirky cabins and lodge rooms located right on Strawberry Creek with good creek views and access. It is in town but just far enough away to feel rustic and quiet.

The Lodge has been here forever; hence its great creek-side location. Each room or cabin is different. They are charming in a rustic way with heartfelt decor and the usual creaky floors, sticky windows and some small showers. These are not luxury cabins
but the Kitchens and Baths were clean and well stocked. This lodge is quite authentic and the main lodge room is like a time warp back to a turn-of-the-century hunting lodge.

After my first visit they always remember me and my dog. Small, quirky, family run, congenial places like this are becoming more rare these days. Also the Lodge is really a great value. Several of the guests I met were repeat visitors and I think they survive mostly on repeat guests and word of mouth. Always a good indication of guest satisfaction.

Each morning we have coffee with a view of the creek and hillside then walk the adjacent trail up the creek; or we can walk right into town. If you are open to old-school forest cabins instead of "Lodge by Marriott" pretend-cabins this spot is for you.

I always leave here refreshed and with a bit of money left over in the travel budget too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We arrived in Idyllwild after all the inns and lodges had closed, and without a reservation. The staff at the Silver Pines Lodge not only helped us out after hours, they gave us a fantastic room at a great rate! The room was larger than we expected for the price we paid, and was very comfortable and had a great view of the creek area behind the lodge. Between the room and the excellent service, we were sorely tempted to break from our itinerary and stay another night! I can't recommend them highly enough! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanTuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We ended up in Idyllwild unexpectedly overnight, and the Silver Pines was the only place we could find that would let us have our dog with us. The dog even got her own Welcome Goodies! We were given a separate cabin with bedroom, living room w/2 futons, a full kitchen. We didn't have time, but the main lodge has books, movies to borrow, a piano, games, and comfy-looking chairs. A koi pond out back looked like a lovely place to relax by. Beautiful setting, rather rustic rooms, but comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

This inn has cabins and lodge rooms. We stayed in the main lodge building in the Library (an upstairs two-room suite). We found our room quite comfortable and quiet. The inn is near downtown Idyllwild, but not on a major road so there isn't much street traffic.

The main building includes a spacious lodge room with many things to do (games, videos or simply sit by the large, warm fire). Downtown Idyllwild is a short walk (10 minutes) away. The inn is dog friendly.

Though the inn buildings have been around for quite some time, they have a rustic charm that meshes well with area.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doxyrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
1.2 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#4 of 13 in Idyllwild
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Woods Resort
Pine Woods Resort
#8 of 9 in Idyllwild
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Pines Lodge

Property: Silver Pines Lodge
Address: 25955 Cedar Street, P.O. Box 1171, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Pines Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing