We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the hook back road driving”

Mount San Jacinto State Park and Wilderness
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Idyllwild
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 13,000-acre park offers over 50 miles of trails in the mountains soaring above the Sonora desert.
Brawley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“off the hook back road driving”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

it was all good, born and raised here and never knew that Idlewild was such a beautiful place. I drove 300 miles to the white mountains of Arizona and they do not compare!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    31
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beauty to explore”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

As a city boy, a capitalise on any opportunity to visit rural or wild areas, as there are only some much concrete a person can take. It was an amazing park to visit, even though it was only to a few hours. As it was right at the top, we were able to look down and the see the whole Coachella Valley and the cities (Desert Hot Springs, Palm Springs, Palm Desert, Rancho Mirage, Cathederal City) that's within it. I certainly got my money's worth!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hiked Suicide Rock”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great hike - on the upper end of difficult, just below strenuous. I had a few issues with the altitude, so we took it really slow on the way up. Great view once you reach the top. Busy trail. Gorgeous groves of manzanitas.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank brigid_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exploring California”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The place was safe, we were two women: mom and daughter and we have fallen safe all times. If you love quiet forest and nice granite peaks this is the place to visit. Also, this is the second highest peak in California.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rina24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stone Creek Campground/Devil's Slide to Tahquitz Peak”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It’s just the basics at Stone Creek Campground. The space is tight between campers, but the pine and manzanita trees are beautiful and help to provide privacy between sites. There’s no showers and the bathrooms are basically outhouses. You can use the showers at Idyllwild campground by the ranger station in town. The San Jacinto Mountains are gorgeous with plenty of hiking trails to experience the wilderness. There are a few trails that start right at the campground, including The Panorama Point Trail; a 1 mile loop to a scenic viewpoint. We drove into town and hiked the Devil’s Slide Trail to Tahquitz Peak (8,800 ft, 8.6 miles, 5 hours round trip). We started our hike at 7am and had very little company on the trail. A permit is required for Devil’s Slide so make sure to plan ahead. We arrived in Idyllwild at 5:30pm and were able to get our permit at the Idyllwild campground (the ranger station closes at 4pm). The permit is for your safety and includes your license plate number and intended hike so that in the event you go missing, the rangers know exactly where to start the search. We were extremely lucky and had a clear starry night followed by a mid-day July rain, and a beautiful cloudy sunset sky.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount San Jacinto State Park and Wilderness also viewed

 

Been to Mount San Jacinto State Park and Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing