We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful stay”
Review of Fireside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful, peaceful stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for a week at Meadowlark cottage. We absolutely liked it. Everything was very good - dishes, pots, pans, detergents and other essentials were provided. The house has full size kitchen with stove & fridge. The cottage was very clean and quiet (it is actually in the woods).
Pam (the owner) was really nice and helpful. I messed up my reservation by booking a room in the inn, but we wanted to stay in the woods. She suggested to move us to Meadowlark cottage and gave us discount so that the price range stayed the same.
If you want to use the hearth in the cottage you can buy woods from the office. One load is $ 5 and it burns for more than 3 hours.
The place is great for relaxation, for fun with friends or to visit with small kids. They can play around all day.
The town of Idyllwild has a lot of nice cafes and restaurants, however, everything closes very early. If you want to dine out, make sure to do that before 18.00 - 19.00 h. Most of the restaurants close around 20.00 - 20.30 h.

Note: some of the furniture is a little bit worn out, but it is usable.
Note 2: Meadowlark cottage accomodates 10 persons in 4 bedrooms, but it has ONLY one bathroom/toilet.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a quiet cottage, call and ask before reserving if it is in the woods and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the Quail and will definitely be back. Great cabin, loved the Jacuzzi tub, the ambiance!! They thought of everything! Pam and Larry are the absolute nicest couple on the mountain. The Quail provided the comfort and relaxation we were looking for. I've stayed at many places in idyllwild and the Fireside in has them all beat!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanside7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We are currently in the second day of a three night stay at the Fireside Inn's "Quail" Cabin. We were pleased by the warm welcome Larry gave us upon our arrival and we find that the cabin is as described on the sites web page. The Quail Cabin is a studio type cabin with a nicely equipped kitchen and bath. The cabin was spotlessly clean and everything works. There are some negatives to note about this cabin and our stay in general. 1. The Quail Cabin is located approximately 15' from Highway 243, just south of Idyllwild. While the location is easy to get in/out of the traffic noise is pretty bad at all hours of the day and night even with the new double-glazed windows. Also, there is a moldy 2 drawer night stand in the bathroom. Particle board furniture does not resist moisture. 2. The Fireside Inn website has a "discount special rate" clearly displayed on virtually every page where room descriptions are located and where you make reservations. There is no explanation of when the rate applies. I asked Larry about this when I booked the room 4 weeks ago and he simple replied that it didn't apply during August. When checking in I again mentioned that the discount is still prominently displayed and Larry replied by blaming their "webmaster." I realize that I booked the room knowing that the rate didn't apply, but something about this just doesn't seem right. "Bait and switch," maybe! With the low visitation to Idyllwild following the recent fire it seems that it would have been a good gesture to extend the special rate to someone who still came to visit. Anyway, we've been coming to Idyllwild for 10 years and thought we'd try some place new this visit. Nicer, quieter cabins can be had for better rates at Quiet Creek Inn. Probably, my lack of sleep made this review more negative!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank parisienfoodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firesideadmin, Owner at Fireside Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
This gentleman was told when he made his reservation that we do not run the 3rd night free special in August since it's so busy, and he made his reservation anyway. In this business, it's important to save up your acorns and maximize your profits during peak seasons, in order to make it through the slow seasons, but some people do not consider this important to them. But it is very important to us, or else we would not still be in business. Many other people stay in the Quail cabin and sleep just fine. It is not 15 feet from the road, this is a clear exaggeration, but admittedly, it is less than 50 feet. This gentleman admitted that he was a very light sleeper, but slept just fine the 3rd night because he left the fan running to help him sleep. His wife, like most others, said she slept just fine all three nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I booked a last minute reservation for a Friday night. The cabin was a quaint studio with a Jacuzzi tub... perfect for us.
The good: immaculately clean and cozy.
The bad: Their property is divided. We thought we'd be staying in town, just above the theater. Unfortunately we were in a cabin outside of town... not really in walking distance.

All in all, we'll definitely be staying here again. We love our neighbors on the hill!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKSkwier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family has stayed at the Fireside Inn for many years. The owners Larry & Pam are consistantly friendly and helpful with any needs you may encounter while vacationing. Their relaxed and kind attitude is one of the things we enjoy the most when we book a reservation with them. The cabins and the hotel rooms are both very nice and clean.The town of Idyllwild is awesome and the hiking is spectacular! We've been planning another trip but due to the fire we have to wait till it burns itself out. Hopefully it hits the rocks to the north and it's over! Much thanks to all the brave firefighters who risk their lives to save others!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We got the last cabin with 2 single beds which we didn't mind. Great log cabin with a real fire and lovely homel furnishings. Small fridge, great shower. We would absolutely stay here again. Ideal location, friendly host and hostess. Nothing was too much trouble. This was one of our most memorable places on this trip.

Room Tip: All different sizes for different numbers of people. Would think they are all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Fireside Inn for about 5 years now. We make anywhere between 2-4 trips a year, staying an average of 3 nights. We have tried numerous different cabins and while we have our favorites they are all great. The owners, Larry and Pam, are extremely friendly and I believe they truly enjoy what they do. All cabins are pet friendly and even the town is almost 100% pet friendly. Our dog knows when we're heading to the Fireside Inn and always gets excited. The cabins are furnished and come with a kitchen which includes dishes, various cooking utensils, older CRT TV's with DEV players and cleaning supplies. Remember though, each cabin is unique and different. There isn't room service and no one comes daily to clean your room (it's just not that sort of place, very relaxed and on your own time/schedule). We always bring a cooler with us and pack some of the standards (like condiments, because no one wants to buy another bottle of ketchup for one meal) but we always bring our own meat as we haven't had the best experience with the meat at the local grocery store. Each cabin has access to a propane BBQ which is great for grilling burgers or a nice steak dinner. Many of the cabins are duplexes so noisy neighbors could be an issue although I have never experienced it personally. There are cabins that are more secluded if you prefer. I highly recommend a stay here, it's a great way to relax and leave some of the normal stresses of life behind.

Cabins we prefer:
Summer/Warm months - Thrush: Nice little duplex cottage with full kitchen. There's a wood burning stove? It's not really a fireplace and not a stove, not sure what to call it. It has a nice patio deck that the dog enjoys. It's located away from the town by about 1 mile which we like.

Winter/Cold months - Lodge House: OK, this is actually one of our favorites regardless of the time of year. A true standalone cabin. Full kitchen, big patio deck. Feels like a small home inside. Standard fireplace which is always nice to have going. Larry and Pam sell firewood for a very reaosnable $5/bunch which is lower than any of the other places I have seen.

Room Tip: Check out each cabin on their site before commiting. Each one is truly unique. There are 2 main ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Idyllwild hotels
1.3 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#4 of 13 in Idyllwild
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 13 in Idyllwild
66 reviews
2.0 mi away
Idyllwild RV Resort
Idyllwild RV Resort
#1 of 13 in Idyllwild
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Woods Resort
Pine Woods Resort
#8 of 9 in Idyllwild
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 54540 N Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn specializes in restful, relaxing mountain vacations with cottages and cabins ranging from $65 to $195, all but one with fireplaces and kitchens. Our cottages and cabins accommodate from 2 to 10 people each, some with jacuzzi bathtubs. We have two locations, one in the village, and one in a more private, woodsy setting about 10 blocks away. Pet friendly and free WI-FI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing