We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireside Inn and Idyllwild = Happiness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Idyllwild
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Idyllwild B&B and Inns
Spring Valley, California
1 review
“Fireside Inn and Idyllwild = Happiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My family has stayed at the Fireside Inn for many years. The owners Larry & Pam are consistantly friendly and helpful with any needs you may encounter while vacationing. Their relaxed and kind attitude is one of the things we enjoy the most when we book a reservation with them. The cabins and the hotel rooms are both very nice and clean.The town of Idyllwild is awesome and the hiking is spectacular! We've been planning another trip but due to the fire we have to wait till it burns itself out. Hopefully it hits the rocks to the north and it's over! Much thanks to all the brave firefighters who risk their lives to save others!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We got the last cabin with 2 single beds which we didn't mind. Great log cabin with a real fire and lovely homel furnishings. Small fridge, great shower. We would absolutely stay here again. Ideal location, friendly host and hostess. Nothing was too much trouble. This was one of our most memorable places on this trip.

Room Tip: All different sizes for different numbers of people. Would think they are all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Fireside Inn for about 5 years now. We make anywhere between 2-4 trips a year, staying an average of 3 nights. We have tried numerous different cabins and while we have our favorites they are all great. The owners, Larry and Pam, are extremely friendly and I believe they truly enjoy what they do. All cabins are pet friendly and even the town is almost 100% pet friendly. Our dog knows when we're heading to the Fireside Inn and always gets excited. The cabins are furnished and come with a kitchen which includes dishes, various cooking utensils, older CRT TV's with DEV players and cleaning supplies. Remember though, each cabin is unique and different. There isn't room service and no one comes daily to clean your room (it's just not that sort of place, very relaxed and on your own time/schedule). We always bring a cooler with us and pack some of the standards (like condiments, because no one wants to buy another bottle of ketchup for one meal) but we always bring our own meat as we haven't had the best experience with the meat at the local grocery store. Each cabin has access to a propane BBQ which is great for grilling burgers or a nice steak dinner. Many of the cabins are duplexes so noisy neighbors could be an issue although I have never experienced it personally. There are cabins that are more secluded if you prefer. I highly recommend a stay here, it's a great way to relax and leave some of the normal stresses of life behind.

Cabins we prefer:
Summer/Warm months - Thrush: Nice little duplex cottage with full kitchen. There's a wood burning stove? It's not really a fireplace and not a stove, not sure what to call it. It has a nice patio deck that the dog enjoys. It's located away from the town by about 1 mile which we like.

Winter/Cold months - Lodge House: OK, this is actually one of our favorites regardless of the time of year. A true standalone cabin. Full kitchen, big patio deck. Feels like a small home inside. Standard fireplace which is always nice to have going. Larry and Pam sell firewood for a very reaosnable $5/bunch which is lower than any of the other places I have seen.

Room Tip: Check out each cabin on their site before commiting. Each one is truly unique. There are 2 main ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've grown to love the Fireside over the last two years; I've held off reviewing it until I felt I knew its variety a little better, since this isn't a cookie-cutter set of rooms. If you want that, go elsewhere; if you think it's charming that every room is different, keep reading.

The Fireside is quintessential Idyllwild, in two parts: First is the "cottages" part (more of a motel-type layout), with about a half dozen rooms in a somewhat motel-ish layout all of them gently quirky and very comfortable, generally with a small kitchen and even fireplaces; some with jacuzzis. The "cabin" location - a mile away - is outside of town a bit, but wonderful, with several single and duplex cabins that are more like suites, with a bedroom, living room, kitchen/dining area and bath. They're impeccably clean, paneled with knotty pine, and comfy furniture that has been around a long time yet is still nice. Bathrooms are small, with limited counterspace, and beds are comfortable but not luxurious, kitchens are complete (stove AND microwaves, full fridge, all eating/cooking items)and living areas are just great places to relax, if it's too cold to sit on the front porch and enjoy the squirrels (all fat) running around. Choosing between them is a tradeoff: If you want to walk to town, go for the main lodge; it you want to sprawl and then drive to things, the cabins are your choice. We've used Quail (a duplex) cabin and loved it, and Bluebird, which is the largest cabin, and also loved it. We also thought Pine Cone was wonderful, as a single room (living and bedroom) with a small but complete country kitchen; I think it was the lobby of the original office to the Inn a LONG time ago, with the adjoining Squirrel's Nest room now accessible by a common inside door if you have more people. Firewood is available at the office (self-serve, $5 for a large bundle with starter wood), there are grills available for barbequeing, and WiFi in all rooms along with a delightful selection of reasonably current DVDs for free. It's pet-friendly (Pam even gave us a special pet blanket to put on our Lab's bed to minimize shedding), and would be a great place to take kids as well. No drawbacks, and fresh air is free!

Room Tip: Ask if a jacuzzi room is available, but some are 1-person tubs, with only 1 or 2 that hold 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My girlfiend and I stayed at the Fireside Inn, specifically the Raccoon's Retreat, in Feb. 2013 and really had a great stay. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful. Offering us maps of the area, as well as helpful directions. The room was very clean, absolutely no issues with the room. Nice fireplace, fridge. The location of the inn is a bery short walk (100 yards or so) to the center of town with all the restaraunts and shops. We will def visit the fireside inn again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siradam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent our 4 year anniversary at the Fireside Inn in the Acorn cottage. We had an amazing time! The cottage was clean, cozy, and had a well stocked kitchen for our stay- in meals and offered a nice outdoor grill for BBQ-ing as well. The owners Larry and Pam were so nice, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. The location was perfect too, a short walk to great shops, restaurants, and hiking trails. The best part was cuddling by the fireplace with a bottle of champagne. We are already planning to come back in the summer, we loved The Fireside Inn!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalopey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife, puppy, and I spent a couple nights this past weekend at the Fireside, in the Acorn unit. We spent our days out hiking and shopping, and evenings around the fireplace. The staff/Larry and Pam could not have been more cordial/nicer in their emails or in person. Our room was great for sleeping, well heated, and very comfortable. The location was perfect for us - just a short walk from the center of town one direction and to Cafe Aroma the other.
Had a great time hiking in the snow and ice, loved the restaurants we tried, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fireside Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coastaleddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Idyllwild
10.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#48 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Banning-Beaumont
1.3 mi away
Quiet Creek Inn
Quiet Creek Inn
#3 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
Idyllwild Bunkhouse
#5 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#5 of 9 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Pines Lodge
Silver Pines Lodge
#2 of 12 in Idyllwild
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 54540 N Circle Drive, Idyllwild, CA 92549
Location: United States > California > Idyllwild
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Idyllwild
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn specializes in restful, relaxing mountain vacations with cottages and cabins ranging from $65 to $195, all but one with fireplaces and kitchens. Our cottages and cabins accommodate from 2 to 10 people each, some with jacuzzi bathtubs. We have two locations, one in the village, and one in a more private, woodsy setting about 10 blocks away. Pet friendly and free WI-FI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing