We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best Mexican Food Around”

Don-Jose Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #124 of 601 Restaurants in Huntington Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“The Very Best Mexican Food Around”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I grew up around the corner from DonJoses and never realized what a jewel it was; that is until I moved to Florida. I have tried for years to find a replacement for the high quality, delicious food that Don Joses offers, this was to no avail. I HIGHLY recommend DJ to anyone that loves Mexican food. Being in business for over 45 years speaks for itself. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulianneInTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still as good 30 years later”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Since I can remember I have been eating here. I have lost count the number of times I have been here for lunch, dinner or simply appetizers & cocktails. It is always consistent. It is the original restaurant that opened in 1966 and still reasonably priced with great food and choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVHotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keeping with Tradition...”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our visit was lackluster, at best. We've been going there as a family tradition, whenever the in-laws are in town. This particular visit, no one really cared for their food. The service was fine, but the food just didn't taste that good. Actually, the quality seems to have been going down for a while. Even the salsa was uninspiring. Maybe it's time to come up with new traditions...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good family place”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to Don Jose for over 10 years. The food is very tasty and the prices are great. They have good margaritas, and happy hour too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PH0lmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, Ca
1 review
“AWESOME FOOD”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family has been taking me there since I was a baby, I have never had better mexican food.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashcrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don-Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Fountain Valley, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Don-Jose Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing