We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent tri-tip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou's Red Oak BBQ Grill

Lou's Red Oak BBQ Grill
Ranked #347 of 592 Restaurants in Huntington Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“decent tri-tip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

After living in Santa Maria and then moving back to the east coast, finally getting back to Cali, I wanted some Tri-tip. I searched several reviews and found that Lous served tri-tip plates and sammiches! The place is in a small strip mall and the decor is nothing special at best, we actually almost left because it looked closed. The place was empty when were were there, but I'm not sure why - the food was pretty good. The pinquito beans were the best thing on the plate, the garlic bread was ok, and the tri-tip was decent, but kinda lacked the full Santa Maria Style BBQ Fire Flavor but I guess I'll never get SM style tri-tip outside of SM. My friend had the gumbo - he was sweating bullets after a few bites, but he likes hot stuff like that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tra-FL_all_over
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Under new management in 2014”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

New management has raised prices (what restaurant hasn't?) but to compensate no longer provides pretzels when you first sit down, or baked beans with sandwiches, or fresh-baked cookies afterwards. Sides are still excellent, but they no longer trim fat from perfectly cooked tri-tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil&dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average barbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I didn't think the barbecued baby back ribs were anything special and the side dishes were just average. Service was good but the astmosphere could be better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gigi936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Beef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Small intimate family type place. Great Bar B Que tri tip. We've been many times in the past. Try it you'll like it.

Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Been twice, won't again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The meats are just ok, nothing special, but the sides were terrible.. Whats with the mashed potatoes?? Taste like vinegar, eww .. You get a better meal eating stouffers.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HBSteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou's Red Oak BBQ Grill also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Lou's Red Oak BBQ Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing