We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing - Had a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing - Had a great stay!”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

When speaking with the front desk, it was indicated that the owners are constantly renovating, and it shows! Rooms were large and well appointed. We were upgraded to a "sunset view" and were it not for a cloudy weekend, it would have been gorgeous (can't fault the hotel for that of course). We went to the restaurant and found very inspired cuisine that was simply delicious. It was a little pricey, but to be expected at a hotel restaurant. Staff was amazing and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Concierge sent us to a dud restaurant and followed up with us that he had talked to the restaurant directly about our experience (nice touch).

Our only issue was the city itself. Not much going on for a young couple in the middle of the winter, but was a a relaxing getaway anyway. Will definitely be returning this summer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshifrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    473
    158
    59
    42
See reviews for
562
567
67
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Wow! Two words...AWE-SOME! We loved this place. Spent the extra $50 or so to get an ocean view room. The room itself is clean and beautiful. Everything is quality. The view from the 9th fl was spectacular. HUGE view of the beach, the pier, and to the east the snow-capped mountains. We went out in Huntington beach at night and had the hotel shuttle take us. The walk back to the hotel took 10 mins. This is the hotel you want to go back to when you're tired at the end of a busy day. During the day, we sat at the pool, had a few drinks and simply lounged in the sun. Hot tub and heated pool. What could be better. Everyone here is friendly and the staff is simply different and better than ordinary hotels. Do yourself a favor and spend a few extra bucks to stay here. It's simply terrific!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Online photos of this hotel don't provide a good representation. Very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC2DotO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Hilton Waterfront is a bit of misnomer. The hotel is near the water but not on the water. One has to cross busy Pacific Coast Highway to get to the beach. Otherwise, I was pleased with the accomodations. The rooms were clean, attractive and quiet. The restaurant offers nice sandwiches and lunch fare in an outdoor area. The immediate neighborhood is rundown but it's just a short walk to the charming little tourist town which offers many restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our long weekend stay at the Hilton Waterfront Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Level Contributor
244 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort from December 28, 2010 - January 5, 2011 and had a really nice time. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays and was located right across the street from the beach. My husband is a Diamond HHonors member so we were upgraded to a corner suite on the 6th floor. The room was not huge but was a very nice size compared to the regular rooms. We had a sunset ocean view with a wrap around balcony where we had beautiful sunset views every evening. The room had both a walk in shower and a full tub which made it easy to get ready in the morning. Sink was outside between the two so it made for easy access. The room had a nice sitting area and lots of windows that faced the ocean. Beautiful in the mornings and evenings. We ate at the restaurant for dinner one evening. It was a bit chilly outside but we were seated in an outdoor patio that was completely heated. It made for a very relaxing meal with beautiful views. Food and service was very good. A little pricy but the quality was better than a lot of hotel restaurants. The restaurant also offered a breakfast buffet in the morning. Options were continental buffet only or a complete hot and cold buffet. Again a little pricy for what it was if you were paying full price. With the HHonors we were given the continental buffet free or the option to upgrade for a small price. There was also a sitting area with a firepit just outside of the restaurant area and another one by the hotel gift shop. The gift shop was very nice, larger than most that I've seen at other hotels. It offered lots of sundries and local items. Bottles of wine, snacks, etc. Pool area was very nice. It was cool the week that we were there so we didn't use the facility but it looked very well kept.

The service was very good. They do require you to use the valet parking for a daily fee. Valet was very friendly and efficient when bringing the car around. We never had much of a wait for our vehicle at all. Concierge and front desk were very helpful with any directions or suggestions that we needed. The hotel is in a very convenient location. We did a couple day trips....one to San Diego, one to Palm Springs and one to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl game. All of these drives were very reasonable and easily done from this location. We also went to Disneyland for a day and that was about a 20-30 minute drive with traffic. We have stayed in hotels in the Disneyland area and this is by far a better option! The only thing that this resort was lacking was a spa.

All in all we had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, Ca
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Hotel is located directly across the road from Huntington Beach and a short walk to the downtown area. The hotel is laid out with the rooms in one building and the ballrooms and other meeting rooms on the other side of the pool, with the lobby area connecting the two. This keeps the noise of the parties away from the rooms. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, but are starting to show their age, and quite frankly are not worth the price charged. For these rates I expect "Wow", not "Nice". The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were able to get an early check in. The parking is valet only, and $24 a day. The on-site restaurant is expensive and the food is fairly ordinary.

We were staying there as part of a wedding, and overall the arrangements for the reception were not very impressive. The service was slow, the food (just hors d'oeuvres) rather basic, and besides the location is was nothing special.

This is a hotel to use your Hilton points, as the price is just not worth what you receive.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank seadog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Beautiful rooms, view, etc. Close to the Huntington boardwalk. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
23.9 mi away
Terranea Resort
Terranea Resort
#1 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing