We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, below standard helpfullness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed here because we were going to Disneyland, but still wanted to be beach accessible and "vacation" like. It was the closest beach to Disneyland. It is a great location and beach, unfortunately the weather wasn't "typical" California weather.

The hotel itself is right on Pacific Coast Highway and just a 10 minute walk to Main Street, Huntington Beach. Comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. There is a nice pool and gym at the hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and all have balconies with views of the beach. We stayed in a King room with sunrise view.

The hotel staff were friendly but not very helpful when it came to options/suggestions to getting around (ie. Disneyland and South Coast Plaza) We didn't rent a car because I don't really want to deal with the stress of driving in LA, traffic, and parking. I don't think it's a vacation if I have to stress about this. We asked about getting to Disneyland and even asked if they could schedule a shuttle of some sort rather than taking a cab. The lady's response at Concierge was, "we don't really do shuttles to Disneyland, only the hotels around Disneyland do that." Their only other suggestions were a cab or driver services. We opted to take a cab because they said it would only be about $40, but it ended up costing over $50. The driver services they quoted was to be $54. So basically it costed us about $100 getting to and from Disneyland alone.

We then asked about going to South Coast Plaza from the hotel. They said it would be around $42 by cab, which didn't really make sense because it was about half the distance getting to Disneyland. Again, no other suggestions to get there otherwise. it cost us about $30 to get there, so about $60 round trip only to find out that there was a bus with a stop right beside the hotel (#173), it's even called South Coast Plaza, that costs about $3 each way. You'd think they would've said something to us?

Luckily I scheduled a shuttle for pick-up from and to the airport from our hotel with Supershuttle. They are a great value and good service! It only cost $38 each way for 2 people. I highly recommend Supershuttle if you plan on going to LA.

In any case, we spent about $200 just on cab fare and are very unhappy with the staff at this hotel because they weren't very helpful in this regard. This trip really confirmed that LA isn't a place to travel without a car and wouldn't be my first choice in terms of a "vacation" spot. I would still recommend this hotel for its location and amenities, but the staff could definitely improve in service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,920)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,731 - 1,737 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have mixed feelings about the hotel after our recent stay. We went for a business conference, and had no problem checking in or getting to our room. Staff was pretty friendly and attentive. The room was amazing - not a single complaint, and it was beautiful. Not sure if it was worth the $250 a night my company paid, but the room was really nice. The king bed was wonderful. There was plenty of space to do work with and plenty of space to lounge around, and the decorations were beautiful. Didn't even consider room service; the menu was outrageously overpriced. (Drinking one of the bottles of water will set you back $7) Our company had a breakfast and a lunch here ($30 and $50 a plate) that were mediocre and way overpriced. The ballrooms/meeting rooms we met in were fine, but nothing special. Now for the bad - on Saturday we checked out of our room at noon and our conference ended at 4. My wife, not part of the conference, decided to lay out by the pool as there was a live band playing. She was treated badly by staff and nearly kicked out for "not being a guest" since we didn't have a room that night. The pool wasn't even busy, and she wasn't doing anything but minding her own business waiting for someone at a conference which my company was paying through the nose for. The worst part of our experience - after the conference ended we went to get our vehicle from the valet service (which was $24 a night!). There was a fair size line as our conference had just let out and a few people were arriving for a wedding, but nothing too crazy. We asked the desk to get our vehicle. We patiently waited for a half hour, and asked the desk again. They had misplaced our keys. We watched people get their cars, and others who were still waiting like us get frustrated. We went again to the desk and they still didn't know what was going on with our vehicle although they found the keys. Anyway, it took a total of 1 1/2 hours to get our car from the valets!!! Frustrating, bad experience. So, in our experience, the rooms are great and everything else is mediocre and overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yosemite_salmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Our room was clean & nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable which is vey important to us. The balcony was large enough to sit & enjoy the busy beach scene.
We were disappointed that they still charge for wireless.

The restaurant is quite noisy & the service a bit slow but the food (we only had one lunch there) was pricey but delicious!

All in all we would stay there again. Every employee we met was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bontun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I don't think this place is worth the money you pay for it. Rooms are clean and have good mattresses, but the furniture is dated. Charging for internet is so 1990s. They even charge by minute if you use their business room (in addition to per page printing charges and such). The restaurant menu was bare minimum and I did not like whatever I ordered. Tastes were very bland. Also no option of self parking. So basically you pay 24$ for parking and then in addition have to tip the valets everytime you get your car in and out. It is a wannabe 4 star place, but it is not really one. Service of the employees in general was good though. If internet/business room was free and if it had self parking option at a reasonable price (like 15$ per day) I would have given this hotel 4 stars. Those two things are very important for business travellers like me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stranger371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Nice hotel, was traveling on business so the cost didn't bother me, although I'd definitely opt for the Hyatt next door if I was traveling to HB for personal reasons. Our conference was there, and thought its a HUGE property, it is far nicer than the Hilton.

Totally agree with soccer21's review about the strict security at the pool. We'd been there for four days and on a redeye the last night so we got a late checkout and were killing time by the pool. Within 5 minutes of sitting down at the completely empty pool (it was 4:30pm on a Friday) we were approached by the extremely abrasive security guard and questioned like criminals. I understand and appreciate keeping non-guests out of the pool area, but I have stayed at many upscale properties that have been able to manage that issue with a lot more grace. There are more subtle and polite ways to determine if a visitor is a guest. After my colleague and I had spent $1800 on the rooms for the week, this was a sour way to end the stay.

My colleague also had a weird experience with her balcony. One morning she noticed that overnight, while she was sleeping, the furniture on the balcony had been moved around and there was some trash left as well. Wouldn't be too difficult to climb from one to another, so it was a little unsettling.

Hoping we didn't catch the bedbugs mentioned in the other post during the same timefram of our stay - yuck!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

By review originally would have been this: great location, great beach, small-ish pool, nice staff, somewhat noisy rooms. Overall, 3-4 starts. However, we are pretty sure that we bought home bed bugs with us from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel1979Chicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Well maintained place right on the beach - well just across the coastal highway but that's as close as they get. The HB pier is a ten minute walk up the beach.

Spring for an oceanfront room. They're a bit larger and the view is great.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvlohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
579 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
791 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $252 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing