We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, 11 years ago, and still today. Clean and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Loved the waterfall at the entrance. The female desk clerk who checked us in was adamant that it was a non-smoking hotel. Our room was lovely, very clean and spacious. It had a coffee maker (Lavazza coffee) two robes, flat screen TV and desk, mini couch w/ ottoman. I had morning coffee on the lanai which was very peaceful! Our room near the elevator was very noisy and it was a 3-day holiday, but that was expected as the hotel was full. The sink water was very hot very quickly, and we loved the desk chair which was very comfortable. A big thank you to Andrew who got me coffee before the 6:30 am table was set up downstairs.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,919)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,743 - 1,749 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I were nervous about staying at this property... mostly because of a recent review about bed bugs. However, we had the hotel already booked and it was too late to change hotels, so we decided to test it out ourselves...First and foremost, this hotel showed absolutely no signs of bed bugs (trust me, we looked!) The room was clean, comfortable and we had a beautiful view of Huntington Beach. We also loved how warm the outdoor pool was! We are already planning our next trip to CA and we KNOW that we will be staying at this property when we return. If there ever was an issue with cleanliness, we never seen any signs of it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontGM, General Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2010

Dear Sarparker, Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here at the Waterfront Beach Resort. It is so nice to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Last month, I stayed at Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort for 2 nights while traveling for business. From the moment I walked in the door the service was impeccable. My room was spotless and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The amenities at this resort were great as well and perfect for squeezing in a few minutes to myself, including an oceanfront pool and workout room. I ate at Shades Restaurant and Bar a few times during my stay, and the food was absolutely amazing and fresh. I would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone traveling on business or leisure!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Please DO NOT stay at this hotel. My fiance's brother and his wife woke up to severe bed bug bites. They saw a doctor immediately after we got from vacation, who confirmed it was bed bugs. We actually got to see ten or twelve of these guys crawling around their bedding, too bad it was after they had slept a full 8 hours. The manager took about 15 minutes to come to the room and seemed to care less. He refunded our room charges (yes, we paid for valet!) and offered free breakfast...like we would want to eat there after that! We have since emailed the general manager.
Bed Bugs travel, our luggage and clothing was ruined and tossed because we didn't want them to infest our homes.
I adore the Hilton family of hotels, but this is just uncalled for. These bed bugs were large enough to see while changing the sheets.
My poor sister in law spent the remainder of our vacation miserable, she wasn't able to go to the beach or enjoy the wedding we were in town to attend.
It's a shame such a lovely hotel can't keep the bed bugs out. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SweetAmy218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontGM, General Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2010

Dear SweetAmy218,
I have been in correspondence with your fiance's brother and his wife with regards to this matter. We take great pride in the success of our property and our Housekeeping team has an exceptional track record. I sincerely regret how thier experience may have impacted the time they spent with us. The Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort has an impeccable reputation and your continued loyalty and patronage to Hilton Hotels is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed a couple nights in Huntington Beach after a trip to Disneyland. We wanted a relaxing time at the beach in a place that also had a pool. The view was very nice (we chose a northern view)- but as with most CA properties, the hotel is across the street from the beach. Location-wise, this is exactly what we wanted (to be close to the beach). The hotel's also close to Main street which has lots of shops and places to eat. The kids really enjoyed the nice-sized, heated pool. We were able to borrow towels and take them to the beach, as well. The room was a good size (I didn't think it was small as one reviewer stated) with a balcony. The bathroom wasn't large and there is no separate shower - but the toiletries were nice. Three annoying things: 1) you have to pay for wi-fi--there is even a charge for going on the Internet in the business center, although it's prob free to print out boarding passes - but not sure since I was starting a business trip, 2) valet parking is mandatory (although the attendants were very fast, the hotel was empty - if the hotel was full, I don't know how they'd handle the volume), and 3) the refrigerator had a sensor that if you moved anything, one would get charged. I knew these issues when I made the reservation - and did look into booking the Hyatt but couldn't b/c it was sold out for some reason. Even so, the Hyatt also requires one to pay valet and charges for wi-fi too. I found this hotel to seem more like a business hotel than a resort hotel even though the pool area was quite nice. We didn't eat in the restaurant at all - when we were there they only had Sunday brunch - we just wanted a quick breakfast before going to the pool and beach (so we ate at IHOP on main street - not our 1st choice, but the Sugar Shack was packed, as was most of the restaurants that morning). I thought the value for the room was good except for the extra charges I noted above.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbm5b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed 1 night (Sat night) for Easter. We asked for a king bed with a sofa sleeper, but they do not have sofa sleepers. They do have a roll away (twin) which for a 15-yrs old high school student is rather small. We opted for the double/double. We were on the top floor. The view was great. The room was really small. The beds were not comfortable. The service was great! They did not have an executive floor (we are HHonors Diamond members), but we received 3 - $14.00 off coupons for breakfast, (or free cold continental breakfast) and 20% off dining at the Shades Restaurant. Breakfast was very good and for the 3 of us after the coupons (did the hot buffet), was $21.00. I would stay here again only for the location to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie6505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed at the resort from March 14- 20, 2010. When we arrived our room was ready for check-in. It was emmaculate and beautiful with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The beds are so comfortable. The pool is relaxing, warm and very clean as is the jacuzzi pool There are plenty of lounge chairs and fresh towels all the time. The staff is so courteous and friendly and helpful. They could not do enough for us. We needed to do laundry during our trip and they even provided the soap at no charge. The complimentary shuttle to Main St. is so nice and convienent. The Concierge staff was always available and went out of their way to find things for us to do. The only negative would be that the restaurant is very pricey and the food is just mediocre. However, there are plenty of restaurants within the area as well as at the Hyatt next door. The onsite fitness center is amazing! We definitely recommend this place and would consider returning again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoofyChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
579 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
789 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $252 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing