We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs no charge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 11, 2009

My family any myself decided to stay at the Hilton waterfront after a previous ok stay at the Hyatt down the street. After we got here the power went out, they forgot to bring our bags up to the room. After the power went back on half the plugs didn't work. That was nothing compared to waking up the next morning and finding my wife and daughter scratching like crazy. I realized the were bit by bed bugs. They got bit all over there back and legs. I wore my sweats so I didn't get bit. I cant believe this would happen in a "luxury hotel". The front desk to a very casual attitude towards this. I definately would not stay her again. 300$ + rate are you kidding! Shame on you Hilton.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
5  Thank Vegas531363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2009

Dear Vegas531363,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Waterfront.

We appreciate you bringing the bed bug incident to the Front Desk. Our Housekeeping management is very skilled in the prevention and detection of bed bug infestation, and our manager immediately inspected your room upon your departure. We are pleased to report no findings of any bed bug, as we have never had an outbreak in the history of our property. What we believe may have been the source of the bites was mosquitoes. We have found when the guest room balcony sliders are left open or opened frequently, insects may enter your guest room.

We are sorry that you and your family encountered the rare occurrence and we were glad to discount your room rate for the inconvenience. We have attempted to contact you by phone to follow up and we have been unsuccessful in reaching you, please contact us at your convenience.

Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Waterfront in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,848 - 1,854 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

It started with, You have to pay daily to park even when u are staying in the hotel. The SO-CALLED free breakfast wasn't. The full-ocean view was the side of another building. THE HOT TUB WAS BROKEN MY ENTIRE 5 NIGHT STAY.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kujo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2009

Dear Kujo2,

Thank you for your feedback. You do us a great service by taking the time to comment on your stay. It is through concerned guests, such as yourself, that we gain insight into areas of our business that require attention.

While we appreciate your taking the time to provide an account of your experience, we are very sorry that it was necessary for you to do so. We do hope you will accept our apologies for your disappointment in our hotel.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Of course since we stayed during the 3rd of July, we had the jacked up rates of $340+ a night, in addition to the $75/night pet fee and $24/night valet fee. Definitely not for value weekend. However, the room was clean with a nice balcony with the view of the ocean, wonderful sunsets. The service was mediocre, because after paying the pet fee, they should have brought up the bed/dish as promised but didn't. The pool is ok, pretty average with a small hot tub that at every moment had about 10 people in it. It looked like they had some nice amenities for kids and it is perfect, since it is directly across the street from the beach, however they charge for beach cabanas at $100+ per day when it should have been included like most beach hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_from_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2009

Dear Jen from LA,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We were pleased to know that you selected the Hilton Waterfront to celebrate the holiday weekend.

As with most hotels located on the ocean, over a holiday weekend, our rates do increase. We are sorry that you did not feel value for the price paid. We at the Hilton Waterfront, feel value is important to our guests and that is why we offer many complimentary services to our guests, such as live poolside entertainments every weekend, complimentary use of beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, sand toys, complimentary morning Lobby coffee, free children’ activities such as airbrush face painting, story hour and arts and crafts.

Our pet fee has been implemented to ensure guests traveling with their pet can enjoy all the services the hotel has to offer. The majority of the $75 pet fee is used to purchase bio-degradable doggie waste bags, pet bowls, pet beds and a very thorough and deep cleaning effort of the guest room. All fabric items are removed from the guest room and professionally cleaned, as well as the carpet and walls. As you can imagine, this is a very expensive effort but we feel it is important that guest who wish to travel with their four legged furry friend can. We are proud to be one of two hotels in Huntington Beach that is pet friendly. We are sorry that you did not receive the bowl and bed as promised; this oversight has been brought up to our staff for prevention of a future occurrence.

One again, thank you for your comments. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again in the future should you be kind enough to give us the opportunity.

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

My 11 year old son and I stayed here over Easter break. The hotel is just as I remembered it, having stayed about 10 years prior. The room was very comforatable, the view was awesome and the room service and food was very good; albeit extremely expensive. Nice "in and out" valet service, which we availed ourselves of every day. Walked across the street to the beach almost every day and picked up shells. Balcony was the perfect size for 2 or 3. The service was great; the front desk staff were very helpful. I enjoyed this hotel very much and would stay here as well as the Hyatt next store. The Hyatt is a little nicer, but then it's newer.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabetraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel one night with my boyfriend in April 2009. The only downside is that we only stayed one night! When we arrived, the staff was very efficient and our bagages were quickly brought to our room. The bed was large and very comfortable, the room was modern and clean with a balcony with view on the water. The hotel is very well situated, its only a short walk, by the water, to the center of town where you can find many cute restaurants and bars. In the morning we had room service for breakfast, which we enjoyed on our balcony. I cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel, I will come back next time I come to Huntington Beach!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Switz_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

My family and I have come here for the past several years with a couple of other families. This year we find a new "valet only" parking with no self parking option. You have to be accompanied to your car even to retrieve a single item. Then they start this new "Therapy Sunday" which ends up being this huge loud party from 2:00 to 7:30 PM that encompasses the entire facility. The place was packed with young drunk people all day and the music was unreasonably loud. It became apparent that we, the hotel guests were disregarded the entire day as we had to surrender the pool area, restaurant and lobby to a bunch of young, half naked drunk kids. After feeling we were held captive in our rooms as not to expose our children to all the inappropriate behavior, we finally decided we had to abandon the premises and even getting our vehicle from the new valet only service took way too long. They were too busy catering to carloads of party goers showing up non-stop from who knows where. At one point, the police and paramedics even had to show up. Some kid out cold. How irresponsible. This is no exaggeration. This will not only be my last visit to the Hilton Waterfront, it will be last Hilton stay. The Hyatt is just next door and looks very nice. The standards at this Hilton "resort" have dropped way below the level that one would expect from a Hilton. Very disappointing. This used to be a tradition that involved three families and 16 guests. No more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorehilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

Dear nomorehilton ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.

Many of our guests, such as yourself, were either directly or indirectly impacted by the events that transpired at our pool, and we want to apologize for the offensive behavior of the attendees at the "Therapy Sunday" pool party. The initial presentation of the event by the event management company was for it to be an upscale pool party with high energy, but with a sophisticated crowd to include our hotel guests, so that our guests could enjoy the experience. Obviously this was not the case and it quickly turned into a disaster which goes against our image and reputation as a family friendly destination and as a Hilton property.

As much pain as the event caused many of our guests, it too caused us an enormous amount of grief. It has jeopardized our commitment to you and goes against our ethics and values as an organization.

At the conclusion of the event we terminated our agreement with the event planning company for any and all future events associated with our hotel . Had we known, we never would have considered a pool party at our location.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apology. We regret this event ever occurred and do hope you will keep your annual tradition and give us another opportunity to regain your confidence and to demonstrate our concern for guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was an exceptional hotel. Greeted by name upon arrival, and upgraded without hesitation or extra charge to a waterview room. Rooms are spacious, each with it's own balcony. Hotel Concierge service is well above average. Easily able to recommend an authentic, but inexpensive Chinese restaurant. Also, readily planned an entire day of sightseeing in Los Angeles, complete with printed directions, estimated travel times, and more.

Must pay for internet - even in the lobby. Also, as a Hilton Silver member, I am usually entitle to complementary water in my room, which this hotel did not provide.

Beautiful, relaxing, and classy. Also, it's close to LA, but still outside the fray (and smog) of the big city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHawse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
375 reviews
5.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 21 in Huntington Beach
1,183 reviews
15.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Resort
Surf & Sand Resort
#7 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $250 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing