We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Wonderful Staff, Great hotel & Location. One of the best vacation experiences I've had. The staff went above and beyond to help with our TV issue, even gave us a complimentary breakfast in bed for the trouble! Management is doing a great job!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metsjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,823 - 1,829 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

I have now stayed here 2 times recently. I love to try new places when possible, but when the plan was to go to Orange County for the night, I couldn't wait to stay at this HIlton again! It's beautiful inside and out, has a great pool area, and uhh....right across the street from the beach! The staff is ALWAYS nice and extremely helpful, the room is always perfect. My only complaint would be the room service. Both times we stayed here, when we ordered food, they were always out of something. That was frustrating but the food was always delicious! I love it here!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela40243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2009

We appreciate the feedback regarding recent stays at the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort. Guest Service is our number one goal, as we want to ensure our guests experiences are memorable. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, we want to ensure that everything in between is a “Perfect 10”

We generally receive positive comments with regard to our room service, so we were disappointed by the experiences mentioned. We appreciate this matter was brought to our attention, as we will properly address with our team to ensure that proper inventory is available to room service and all of our food outlets.

Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, as it is through concerned guests that we may be made aware of situations that might otherwise go unnoticed. We look forward to welcoming our guests back to the Hilton Waterfront the next time travels bring you to Orange County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at this property for a birthday weekend celebration. We have family in the area and chose this hotel based on proximity to their home and overall guest-satisfaction rating. The hotel is large (conference-type hotel) and set across the PCH highway from the beach. The beach access and pier are within easy walking distance. There is a "Main Street" a short distance up the road (north), you could walk it on a nice day, that has shops, bars and many places to eat (high and low end). On the last Friday of every month, Main Street closes off traffic and sets up for live music and vendors in the street. This was a fun way to mingle with the locals!

Most of the hotel rooms have ocean view - as I was told - floors 4 and higher have better beach views. The pool was heated and had towel and beverage service for guests. There was a large fire pit for the chilly nights to enjoy a drink by the pool. We never ate at the restaurant on site but it was always packed with people. The room was spacious with a seperate seating area with couch and coffee table. Our room had a balcony with chairs and on a clear morning during our stay we could see all the way to Catalina Island!

The hotel is centrally located for easy driving / exploring either way up or down the coast. We explored both routes and it was 40 minutes ride time north to Malibu and 25 mintues ride time south to Laguna Beach/Dana Point on PCH highway. We also hit Disneyland and were able to make it to the theme park in less than 15 minutes, same for the SNA/John Wayne airport. All driving times were with out traffic though, so plan accordingly when using the highways - use after 9am and before 3pm - otherwise expect a longer commute time. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our best friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacobs-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

This hotel has a lovely facility and location, but I was extremely disappointed with my experience there. The first room I was assigned smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, despite the hotel's 100% non-smoking policy. Then, once I was relocated to a better room, it was impossible to sleep because the hotel was so noisy. The front doors to each room slam loudly every time they are allowed to close on their own, so I was hearing guests entering and exitting their rooms at all hours of the night, despite the ear plugs I use when sleeping. I travel frequently for business and spent roughly 3 months of the last year in hotels, and this is the worst hotel experience I have had during that time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingFish21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Hotel Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2009

Dear Flying Fish 21,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort. We were sorry to ready about the disturbing factors which impacted your overall experience with us.

There is simply no excuse for the shortcomings you experienced with the cigarette smell of your guest room and the noise surrounding your guest room. As we try hard to enforce a 100% non-smoking policy throughout the hotel, there is the occasional guest who does not adhere to the policy and smokes in the guest room. Our Housekeeping team works extremely hard to cleanse the room of the cigarette smell. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as we can work alongside our Housekeeping team to ensure that when an opportunity like this arises, we can immediately resolve the matter.

We realize how disturbing it must have been to be bothered by the sound of adjacent rooms and slamming doors. Had this been brought to our attention, our Security team would have gladly assisted and asked the neighboring rooms to be respectful of the adjacent rooms, The comfort of our guests is of our highest priority, but we are unable to correct areas of which we have not been made aware of.

We would like to express our appreciation for bringing these matters to our attention. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of all of our guests and feedback such as yours is of great value to us. This allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we offer our future guests and it is our sincere hope that you will be among them, and allow us another opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort.

With regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Went to Hilton for a family event.

Positves - Sales and catering staff and food, Restaurant has good food. Nice location to beach and downtown,

Not so good - bed was broken, hot water for bath/shower had problems. rooms are a little old. guy mowing in the morning right below our room. no self parking. only one place to eat at hotel.when explained to mgr. the broken bed problem only offered to cut rate in half. we did not sleep the first night. I prefer the Hyatt next door.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWaterfrontMgmt, Hotel Management at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2009

Dear Willbo,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay at the Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort. Please accept our deepest apologies for your disappointment in your overall stay with us. We want to assure you that your experience is certainly not typical of the quality of service and hospitality we offer our guests.

There is absolutely no excuse for the condition of your bed and plumbing issues you experienced. We pride ourselves on the constant upkeep of our guest rooms and preventive maintenance we perform on each of our guest rooms several times a year. It therefore causes us great concern when something like this does happen. You can rest assured that we have shared your comments with our Maintenance and Housekeeping team to ensure there are no further occurrences of this nature in the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Candid comments from our guests are of great value to us as we continue to improve our overall enhancement of the guest experience.

Thank you,

Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort Mangagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

From start to finish, our experience at this hotel was fabulous. The hotel was impeccable and right on the beach, which afforded us the ability to be close to various attractions. The valet staff was exceptional. They even helped my husband find a tire pump for our bikes. The entire staff was exceptionally helpful. The rooms were gorgeous and had lovely views of the beach. We will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed: December 2008
Thank boomerchick244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed at the Waterfront for 2 days for my wife's birthday. While the property is located in sunny California and right across from the beach, it is also surrounded by oil field installations and powerplants so if you want the view, just look straight at the ocean! I am a Gold VIP member and used points for my stay. Two breakfast coupons were included for use in the very nicely decorated Shades restaurant. Actually, the restaurant is the best part of the property. Overall, the Waterfront is quite small (at least compared to the Hyatt right next door). Shades offers very high quality, innovative cuisine and the service (we had breakfast and lunch) is excellent.

The rooms are clean and well-equipped thanks to a recent renovation. As others have noted, some parts of the hotel didn't quite benefit as nicely from the makeover. The elevators still look dingy and the signs for the various function rooms were hard to read.

The pool area is very nicely situated and overlooks the ocean. Thanks to it being elevated (the pool) you get the impression that you are right on the ocean - you can't see the 6 lane PCH in between the hotel and the beach.

The only gripe was front desk personnel. Regardless of the current state of the economy, staff was indifferent, unappreciative and did the bare minimum. When our room keys didn't work on the second day and I had to go back downstairs from the 11th floor to get it fixed, there was no apology, just indifference. Same on checkout, no "thank you for staying" or anything. It's OK because the area is not that spectacular, just worth checking it out for one stay. If we'd ever be back, the Hyatt next door would probably be a better option, or something in Newport Beach further down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
282 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,702 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $266 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing