We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring break relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spring break relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great hotel to just get away and relax. Relaxing pool area, good bar atmosphere and nice walk to many popular sites in the area. Rooms have great view especially suites of the ocean and rooms are modern.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank AJDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    459
    146
    57
    40
See reviews for
538
539
64
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Waterfront Resort at the end of a Cruise from South America. Its in a great Beach Side location and the Staff are very helpful with information, directions etc. Its in an ideal location wether you just want to hang out and relax or even if you want to sight see.
There is a Tour desk available were tours to the Hollywood attractions and theme parks can be booked, (however Hollywood is quite a distance away) its not too far to Disneyland though as its in the same county. If you want to do your own thing a Car is essential as its some distance to the local shops and other attractions. Parking is avail;able at the Hotel (charges apply).
The Bus to South Coast Plaza in Newport Beach terminates near the Hotel, its a cheap bus ride but takes about an Hour.
Shades bar and Restaurant are great for a drink and a meal, there are also many other restuarants a 10 minute walk away in the main street of Huntington beach.
As I already mentioned the staff were very helpful but one stood apart from the rest and he even remebered advice he had given days before and asked how we went on the ttrip we did to San Diego Zoo, his name Ramil, thanks for making a great stay even greater.
Rooms were adequate and comfortable but not outstanding.
We would definitley return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

From my call to book a room last minute to the moment I checked out, I found the staff to be friendly and accommodation. Room was fantastic- beautifully renovated, clean, a wonderful little balcony to enjoy the sun and ocean breezes, and very spacious. The exercise facility was dark and cramped, but with the Pacific Ocean sand and boardwalk immediately across the street who needs a treadmill? Would definitely stay here again. Only drawback was broken elevators and a 5 minute wait to catch a ride down the 8 floors with my luggage.

Room Tip: Just be aware that there are no true oceanfront rooms in this area of Huntington Beach- the PCH sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_RochMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Hilton Waterfront in Huntington Beach was the perfect Hotel for a beach vacation. The service and food were great, but the friendly and helpful employees put it over the top. The rooms and amenities were of high quality. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Beautiful Hotel with extremely professional and helpful staff. Great location. Restaurant excellent. From the Bell Captain, to the valet professionals everyone was wonderful. Ramel was exceptional and acted as if we were the only people he had to take care of. All of the staff were happy all of the time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights during a conference in March. I loved the hotel overall but did not like Shades Restaurant. First, the great stuff about this hotel: I got a room on the top floor (12th floor) and had a great view of the ocean (looking northwest) and the pool area. It had an extended little balcony where you could sit and relax and enjoy the view. The room was so clean and had hardwood floors -- I was glad I brought a pair of slippers. I had some trouble with the tv cutting in and out but really didn't use it much anyway. I was able to use the wifi easily enough. The beds are really comfortable. And the temperature controls allowed me to make the room as warm or cool as I needed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful -- they made me feel so welcome. One conference event at the hotel included making s'mores at a campfire on a patch of sand on the premises. It sounds goofy but it turned out to be so much fun and a really nice little beach area enclosed by palm trees and all the fixins you could want for making s'mores. The conference rooms were also nice and the hotel food was really good.

Now the part about Shades -- had to go there for dinner at 7:30 on the last night and they could not get us a table inside. They put us on the patio and it was beyond freezing. They kept trying to get their heaters to work but they would only stay on for a few minutes and then go out -- I kept asking for heat every ten minutes. They brought us blankets, which was awkward. The food took over an hour, and it was also cold (I had soup and sliders, both cold but I was starving by then and ate it anyway). The food and drinks were over priced and sub par. In addition, their credit card system was down and they had to manually write down our card info on carbon copy slips of paper. And finally, by 10:00 that night I started feeling very sick and turns out I got a mild case of food poisoning from that place. I was sick all night and the next morning before I had to present a topic at the conference. So that part was a bad experience. If not for the Shades debaucle, I think it would have been 5-star review because the hotel was really great.

By the way, I had friends who went to dinner at Dukes a short ways north of the hotel and had a wonderful experience, so I went there for lunch on the last day and it was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Last October, I got to stay at the Hilton Waterfront and this time it was for five days. It was great!

I'm a Hilton Diamond member, and I appreciated the nice oceanfront room upgrade, as well as the complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was good, and I was happy to pay the modest charge to enjoy the entire hot breakfast buffet.

I was going to upload a couple of photos, but I don't have anything to beat the sunsets on my earlier review.

There are a few things they do or have that I especially appreciate (and I recognize that not everybody will feel the same).

1) They have the Wall Street Journal for their guests.
2) They have lots of high definition channels. OK, nobody goes to the beach to watch TV but sometimes there are football games to be watched. :)
3) I can plug devices into the television set, so I can review my photos.

Other than that, the staff is just so happy and helpful, you just can't help but enjoy your stay.

I can't wait for my next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidfhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
24.1 mi away
Terranea Resort
Terranea Resort
#1 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing