We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Las vegas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in Huntington Beach! Staff excellent and personable especially Bell Staff. Renovated rooms are brilliant and property is kept tidy and clean. Shades is an incredible atmosphere and PB&J on the menu is fantastic. Stop by Surf Hero and get a smoothie and hang out at the fire pit by the pool.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simple E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    473
    158
    59
    42
See reviews for
562
568
67
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Needed a place to sty for a couple of nights before heading home ... and this property came up on my Hilton search engine ... booked it and WOW !!!!

It is located just across the street from the beach ... we ended up with a room facing the beach and with a balcony ... perfect way to start the day with your morning coffee. Even though we arrive in cool December we were able to walk the beach and local neighbourhood.

We really enjoyed the meals at the hotel ... they even have a Canadian Chef ... imagine my delight when we spotted "Poutine" on the menu. All of the meals were high calibre and reasonably priced. We loved the outdoor sitting area and the fire pit where of course we sat enjoyed a couple of after dinner beverages.

This truly was a visit to a resort ... sorry that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: get a beach view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2080Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Loved this place. The pool area is awesome, they have a cabana that loans you beach equipment, and the restaurant is amazing...loved hanging out by the fire pit.
Short walk across the street to the beach; be careful crossing this road its pretty crazy during peak times.

Room Tip: get view towards the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyHummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Staff was very kind and helpful. The location is charming, close to the beach and to many of the restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed the lovely atmosphere. If I am ever in California again, I would choose this hotel. Also there are a number of restaurants in the hotel which are very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We drove to San Diego and Los Angeles from SF Bay Area to seek the warmth of sun. On the return trip, we spent +2 days at Huntington Beach (Surf City). One of us is a Hilton Gold member with Hilton Reserve Card. The overall experience is excellent. I would like to give a 5-star, but, as my personal requirement in the past, parking fee takes one star away.

We dined at the Shades restaurant for 2 breakfast times and 1 dinner time

Pros:
- beautiful and clean beach
- clean hotel, quiet room
- courteous, excellent hotel staff
- one block away from Huntington Beach (aka HB)
- walking distance (0.3 mile) to buzzling and vibrant downtown
- Hilton Gold membership comes with nice complimentary benefits
1. free Continental cold American breakfast
2. Or, $15 credit applied to hot American breakfast or room-service meals)
3. 20% off meal prices at Hilton Shades Restaurant

Cons:
- $35 daily valet parking

If we return to visit Huntington Beach, Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort would be our choice

Room Tip: If you want to redeem room for weekend stays using Hilton HHonors points for this hotel, it seems th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Green-Espirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just returned from a great stay at the Waterfront. Our view of the pier from the 7th floor was awesome! We decided to stay here because our boys loved Huntington Beach so much the last time we were there. We were not disappointed with the location. Our main goal was to be close to the beach so this was perfect.

Overall, the hotel was great. The room was a decent size for a family of 4 but the double beds are very small (but comfortable). It was nice to have a small fridge in the room. The room was very clean.

We didn't love that there is only valet parking and would have preferred a self-park option. It is also ridiculous that they charge for internet!! My husband was so ticked off by that he went onto Facebook and made some comments there. He then ran into a hotel manager in the elevator, shared his frustrations with him and low and behold, a magic promo code showed up and we had free wifi for the rest of our stay. I can understand paying for parking as that is pretty standard at certain hotels in certain locations but to pay for wifi is crazy! There are 2 computers in the lobby but there were always young kids playing games on them. We often stay at Fairmont hotels and when you join their loyalty club you get free wifi starting on your first stay, not after many stays!

We would definitely stay here again because of the location. It was an easy walk into town and we never ate at the hotel.

Room Tip: The sunset ocean views from the higher floors are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here last March on spring break with our elementary age boys. My husband is a Hilton Diamond member and we used points for our 3 nights here. Overall I think you pay for location - the quality of the rooms does not match up with the number of points per night required. I did not find the hotel staff to be particularly family friendly either. Other guests seemed perturbed there were children in the pool. It was nice being close to the beach and Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
23.9 mi away
Terranea Resort
Terranea Resort
#1 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing