We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huntington Hilton was GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
“Huntington Hilton was GREAT!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a corner suite on the pier side of the Hilton hotel and really there is not one room that does not have an ocean view or partial ocean view there. It was a choice between the Hyatt or the Hilton and we looked at both. The Hyatt has the bridge and is larger but really the Hilton is just as nice and all the rooms ensure you have a ocean view unlike the Hyatt. Both are nice and you can't go wrong with either one. Hyatt more upscale and Hilton is really nice too. We will stay again at the Hilton because we have such a great experience. The concierge was fabulous! She even located a gluten free store for our son to get gluten free graham crackers for our sunset fire pit / smores night offered through the hotel. We also checked out Rubys at the end of the pier and everyone is right, this place is great. Had lunch (full ocean view) and wasn't even hungry come dinner time, and I like to eat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    478
    161
    61
    44
See reviews for
578
580
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is simply not worth the price you pay for it. Very standard rooms, rather dated/dingy bathrooms, terrible food - really awful. Good location, great staff but absolutely zero value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AngelBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I were extremely disappointed to arrive at our destination and discover that "The Waterfront Beach Resort" Hilton was indeed rather a "Highway/Parking Lot Resort" Hilton. We arrived late in the evening. I selected a more expensive "Ocean Front " rooms. Upon looking out of the 4th story "Oceanfront" window, I was extremely disappointed to learn that I was indeed looking out to 6 lanes of traffic and a large parking lot, then the beach!!! Wow!! We were tired and went to sleep. We were awakened by noisy traffic in early Monday morning hours. Well, that is not what we expected! I inquired if any other room were available and we moved to the 9th floor pool side where the rooms were smaller but it was quiet and we wee able to sleep. These rooms were less expensive and I contacted Travelocity to make payment adjustments. The hotel was indeed beautiful and very clean. The front desk and concierge service was helpful and friendly. The pool was lovely and warm. The breakfast service and selection was excellent. The parking lot attendants were friendly and efficient. The only other negative comment is the extremely cold temperatures in the lobby and hallways. It was extremely cold, about 70 degrees! I was shivering and freezing and had to run to the room to warm up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

As nice and accomodating as this hotel is, there were some minor downfalls. Don't let the check-in desk tell you that your room is almost ready, unless you ask how long "almost ready" is. The valet parking can be inconvenient and time consuming if you are going to use your car often. We were very disappointed that there were no smores at night at the hotel site. It was one of the few things at night to keep a child busy and happy, but in order to have smores, you need to pay for a package that allows you to use the firepits on the beach. This would be great if you have a group of people I suppose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay 2 nights for vacation as the hotel is not inexpensive, but were so impressed with the property and the service the staff provided we extended another night. They were very accommodating as we have 2 kids under 4. Not the most luxurious Hilton property I've stayed at, but by far the best service I've received!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bart709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Hilton Waterfront. We loved it last time we came which is why we chose to come again.

We are disappointed this time with the service and won't be coming back.

We didn't receive a room upgrade as Hilton Honors diamond members - this is on availability but something we have always enjoyed in the past.

Breakfast was a nightmare - so slow!! Every morning we had at least a 20 minute wait for tables - whilst we looked at empty tables in the restaurant.

This morning, again we were told a 20 minute wait. 30 minutes later when we still hadn't been seated, I returned to the girl at the desk to find that she had forgotten about us. Goodness knows how long we would have been waiting for!

Location is great.

Cleanliness is not as good as last time. Queen beds are tiny so we asked for a roll away bed. We had to move the existing beds to make room for the roll away bed and the muck and dirt under the beds was disgusting!

Car parking at $30 a day is extortionate! Again, most days we had to pay for the 'privilege' of waiting for our car to be brought to us so we could go out. A good 5-10 minutes each day. Even when we rang down to valet before we left our room, we still had a lengthy wait for our car.

Disappointing stay as we love the location .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyonthemove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a room on the first floor, facing south. The patio was large, but only had 2 chairs. Pretty views, but I imagine that the higher floors enjoyed even better views. The pool area was nice, offered cabanas and pool service, I wish we would have had time to enjoy it! The room was very spacious, but the 2 beds were a full. Definitely should have been a queens, there is more than enough space, and 2 people in a double is tight, even with both only being around 125 pounds!!

The room was nicely appointed, but very dark. Additionally, we had to unplug the lamp on the night stand between the beds, as it randomly turned off and on, as well as the refrigerator was not operable. We were only there 1 night, so not a deal breaker. Surprising considering the $$$ they get for the room, you expect better. If we had been there longer, we may have called but we really only used the room to clean up for a party, sleep, & head to the airport.

Room service breakfast is a full breakfast, not inexpensive, but when heading out early-worth it! Arrived right at 6:30 and was tasty!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZWagges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
272 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 21 in Huntington Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing