We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Staying Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Staying Here”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I'll add my positive review along with all the other good ones. And it looks like most of the negative ones are from years ago.

Was here for six nights for a conference. The staff was great, asked about a Hilton Honors upgrade at check in, and they offered me an ocean view room instead of what I booked without hesitation. And it was worth asking for, what a great view. The room was very nice & comfortable, clean, well appointed (no mini-bar -probably a good thing LOL) with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. House keeping service was very good, the person cleaning the room left a pleasant little note each time thanking for the tip. Very satisfied with the room, bathroom and bed. Didn't use the pool or other facilities, but they looked fine.

The restaurant and bar were very good, with excellent and friendly service from everyone. The food was also excellent, (deviled eggs? yes, and fantastic) but very pricey. I don't travel to So Cal very often, so not sure if this is the norm, but I was a little surprised. The location is perfect, immediately across from the beach, and a short walk to Main St. Huntington Beach and the pier. I really enjoyed the town, bars and restaurants there. I'm convinced I'll be back next summer for a family vacation, the kids will really enjoy this hotel and location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    478
    161
    61
    44
See reviews for
577
579
72
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Usually I stay closer to whatever business event brings me to Orange County when I'm in the area. However, this time we were on vacation, and I wanted my husband to enjoy what makes the area so special.

Huntington Beach has two lovely properties overlooking the beach and the incredible sunsets. The Hilton is one of them. The rooms right along the beachfront are just large and lovely with multiple balconies. The property is quite lovely, and the staff works hard to make sure guests enjoy being there. Everyone on the staff was friendly and professional. We were especially impressed that the valet offered to have our car waiting at 4:30 AM on the day we checked out so that we didn't need to phone down in advance.

If you don't need to be right in Santa Ana or Costa Mesa for meetings or have enough time in your schedule to drive back and forth on what are usually crowded roads, this is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, opt for an oceanfront room. However, all the rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxieontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The rooms are well appointed and the staff is extremely helpful and intent on making sure every guest enjoys their stay. The views from the ocean front rooms are beautiful, especially at sunset. The hotel is 100% non-smoking, which I love, but when we arrived at our room it smelled overwhelming of cigarette smoke, and there was a cigarette butt on the balcony; we notified the front desk and within 20 minutes they had another identical room ready for us. There is plenty to do, whether you just hang out and enjoy the amenities of the hotel, or take advantage of the beach, or explore downtown. Definitely my favorite Hilton to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfcitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This Hilton absolutely exceeded my expectations. It had all the qualities of a much more expensive hotel: the incredible service, extra amenities in the room, high quality furnishings, and exceptional food options. It was also a great location and surprisingly kid-friendly. We stayed only one night, but will definitely look for a good excuse to return.

Room Tip: Don't overlook the garden view rooms. It's a lovely view of the pool with tiki lights at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liburdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhb, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear liburdke,
We were humbled to receive your generous feedback and thank you for your high praise of your experience at The Waterfront Beach Resort.

We were thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations in providing you with a positive experience for you and your family. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of guest service and I am personally proud that our colleagues were successful in achieving this with you.

Thank you for the recognition and we look forward to the right opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Staff were friendly the moment we pulled up. Room was nice (3rd floor, gardenview), furnishings looks like new to great condition. A decent view from the balcony. Went to the pool in the evenings. A nice size pool, heated, wasn't too crowded. No noise problems or pet problems (I don't remember even seeing a pet, although I like them!). My only complaint is the cost for parking (Valet only) and a daily charge for internet, which is not uncommon, just annoying especially since it's a top-notch hotel, which one would expect less petty fees. But despite that, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Huntington Beach. It's in a great location and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bub816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhb, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear bub816,
Thank you so much your generous feedback and for sharing your experience at The Waterfront Beach Resort.

We were delighted that we succeeded in providing you with a positive experience from our clean guest accommodations to our tastefully appointed amenities. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of guest service and I am personally proud that our colleagues were successful in achieving this with you. I was sorry to hear that you felt the valet and internet was overpriced. Please understand that we try extremely hard to be competitive with surrounding hotels in Huntington Beach.

Thank you for the recognition and we look forward to the right opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Fantastic location, great views of the beach, easy walk to the pier and main street. Great friendly and helpful staff. Easy place to stay with kids. Warm pool, snacks at the surf hero deli, toys available to take over to the beach, bikes for hire. Loved staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AA1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhb, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear AA1974,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback from your recent stay. We are so pleased to learn you are a fan of Surf Hero and took advantage of all our luxurious amenities and that our staff took great care of you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
364 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I split 4 nights between this resort and the Hyatt next door. The Hilton wasn't quite as large and fancy as the Hyatt, but it was incredibly clean. All the rooms had angled balconies and many had a view of the Pacific Ocean. The thing that set this resort ahead of the Hyatt in my mind was the service. It was absolutely incredible from the doorman, restaurant servers, the front desk ... everyone was well trained and wanted to make the experience enjoyable for all of the guests. The other thing I have to mention is that the internet was lightning fast which was not the case at the Hyatt resort. The restaurant at the Hilton was pricey, but very, very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bohste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhb, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear bohste,
We were so pleased to receive your generous feedback and thank you for the high praise regarding your experience here at The Waterfront Beach Resort.

We were delighted that we succeeded in providing you with a positive experience from our amazing staff to our tastefully appointed amenities. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of guest service and I am personally proud that our colleagues were successful in achieving this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
273 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
Kimpton Shorebreak Hotel
#2 of 21 in Huntington Beach
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel

Property: The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel
Address: 21100 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Beach Resort, a Hilton Hotel is located on the picturesque coastline of Southern California, in the heart of Surf City USA™ in Huntington Beach, California. Book a room or oceanview suite and enjoy proximity to Disneyland(R) Resort, Knott's Berry Farm and the Aquarium of the Pacific. Join us for lunch or dinner at the famous Shades Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Beach Resort, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Waterfront Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Huntington Beach
Hilton Hotel Huntington Beach
Hilton Waterfront Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing