We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Surf City
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although the Regency Inn is a rather characterless looking three story motel, the accomodation is first rate. I stayed there a few years ago and was impressed. This time the hotel was even better. The rooms are large, very comfortable, well maintained and offering little extras that you wouldn't expect at the price. I would have been comfortable for days rather than the one night for this trip. The breakfast offers a very wide range, from cereals, fruit, muffins etc, to some hot choices like scrambled egg. Staff were very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank soulmanAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Surf City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 579 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good value being close to the beach at a fraction of the price of beach front lodgings. It was clean, good shower, buffet breakfast included. There is a washer/dryer on the 2nd floor, microwave and fridge in the room . The pool was fair sized and clean. Restaurants and stores close by. Staff were attentive and helpful..

Room Tip: Don't get room on the second level next to the laundry
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Rooms exceptionally clean, reception staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Pool area quite basic, but has hot tub...perfect to tire the children out before bed. A short drive to the beach, but their price reflects this. We've stayed on three occassions this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Oliverandthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Positive:
It was a good price for being fairly close to the beach. There were friendlies behind the check-in desk. It was a good free breakfast deal, good shower head, good pool, refrigerator, microwave, clean, no smells. Soda pop was only 75 cents in vending machines. It was an easy stroll to Walmart and liquor store.

Negative:
There were no safety bars in the shower, nothing to grab on to ( or steady with) when getting on/off the toilet. The hangers were so worn that clothing kept dropping to the floor. A clinch from a pair of pliers would have fixed the hangers.. The room was just too cramped with table, writing desk, 2 standard hotel chairs plus an office chair on rollers. Dump some of that furniture for a Recliner so one can watch TV in comfort. There was too narrow a walking space between bed and chest of drawers. Need slimmer chest of drawers and writing desk. There was not enough space in the breakfast area.

Room Tip: 106 and 109 were quiet and convenient to the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KenKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I thought I'd booked the oceanfront Best Western, but at the last minute I realized it was this one. OK, it's a 5 minute drive to the beach, but you can load up your cooler at the Albertsons or Walgreens, which are right next door, and then it's beach time. The staff are fantastic, breakfast was everything you need, hot and cold. The room was spotless, it does have that motel feel, but for families like us it was the perfect home base. Some great restaurants nearby, we loved Slapfish, and there's a liquor store across the street if you fancy a nightcap. If you don't need to be on the water, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank drumaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place.
Room was clean and nell renovated.
Was great for price had private jacuzzi.
Had a noisy air con, let staff know came back an hour later -new aircon already installed.
Tvs were new the place had great service decent breakfast provided, had small amount of tables in breakfast room, but let us take food back to our room to eat.
Pool was nice and clean
Free wifi had good coverage.
More then happy with this place.

Wasn't walking distance from the beach, would be a good idea for a beach shuttle bus, but the would be the only con of the place that they didn't have one.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yepyepyep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are very nice. But they have a strict no noise policy after 10PM. Me and a group of girlfriends stayed here for 2 days to enjoy the beach and party. We were threatened and treated like children. We are 40 something women. Told to go back to our rooms and stay there or we would be kicked out and no refunds. Ridiculous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,540 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#12 of 21 in Huntington Beach
363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
279 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
573 reviews
5.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Huntington Beach
Extended Stay America - Orange C...
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Surf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Surf City

Address: 19360 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-2502 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Regency Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $127 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Surf City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Surf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regency Hotel Huntington Beach
Best Western Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing