We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Surf City
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2011

There were so many differing reviews of this hotel, I wasn't sure if it was a good choice. It was. The carpeting had been replaced the week before and much of the furniture had been updated. The bedspread is very dated looking, but appeared clean. The room itself was huge and very clean. We stayed there 3 nights in mid-April.
Another nice touch were the assorted sundries available in the bathroom: Q-tips, floss, shower cap, razor, etc. Most hotels haven't put those out and available for years. The breakfast was truly good for a free continental--scrambled eggs, muffins, sausage, etc.
Our only complaint was the bathroom fan in our room (311). It was one of those types that goes on automatically with the light (and the light is one of those that is motion activated). The fan was obnoxiously loud. The manager apologized and said he'd have maintenance look at it and offered to move us if it couldn't be fixed. It wasn't, but we declined moving since we were settled in.
The hotel was convenient for our purposes, which did not involve going to the beach. It's close to plenty of shops and such.
Cleanliness matters most to me in a hotel stay, so I would be glad to stay there again...just in another room.

Room Tip: Not room 311 or check the fan first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kmskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 603 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

This is a clean and fine place to stay only 5 minutes drive from the beach. The management was lovely and helpful. I was a little worried having read some of the other reviews but I found this to be a classic and nice Best Western with economical prices. They have free internet, comfortable beds, mini fridge, and even leave you a free small bottle of water in your room......and they have free HBO (which we never used!). HIghly recommended for this price range hotel. A great Italian restaurant to eat at is Mangia, Mangia but be sure to make a reservation because everybody else seems to know how reasonable and delicious their food is!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patagonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel accomodated runners by having an earlier free breakfast time on race morning and a later check out after the run. The location was just a block or two from the free race shuttle. Hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Pool and hot tub were a nice refreshment. Free extras like shaving cream, dental floss, razor, and cotton swabs were nice considering most places only supply shampoo. Short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank runningmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Stayed here before we moved down to Huntington beach best western for a few days. Not close enough to walk , but 5 mins in a car & plenty of parking near the pier etc if you visiting Huntington itself. Great value hotel, kinda motel style. Nice basic old school rooms. Free hot breakfast & wifi. Not a resort type hotel, but great for a few days at the price they charge. Freeway is 10mins away. Either the 22 or 405. Very nice staff and spotless throughout. A ton of places to eat on beach blv. Well worth the money we paid, $69 and $89 at weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesBond0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We tayed here as we wanted to visit Huntington Beach on our Pacific coast road trip, the hotel is not particularly close to downtoen and the beach but not too far with a car. The hotel was very clean with good service, the only downside was that the pool was a bit too cold but I can only assume that was due to the cold summer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The hotel is on a busy highway, but we picked a room (number 322-A) as far away as possible from the traffic, and it was quiet. The room was nicely furnished and decorated, quite spacious, with wireless internet, The location is convenient for downtown, the beach and Disneyland, but you need a car to get around, There was a free breakfast, which was quite basic, so one day we had breakfast at Sugar Shack, 213 Main Street, which we'd recommend. We paid $69/night including taxes, which we thought was excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My Best Friend and I stayed at the Regency Inn in July 09 over the independence day weekend. Weren't really sure what to expect but the reception staff were very friendly (especially the 2 Chinese guys) and helpful on check in and during our stay , showing me where local malls were best places to go etc. We had a 2 Queen bed room which was on the 3rd floor but with the lifts and being fit this wasnt a problem also no parking problems even over Independance Day weekend. After staying at heaps of hotels in the US over the last few years I was worried what we'd get (especially after the Travelodge at LAX) but I neednt have worried! The room seemed huge and nicely decorated with a nice thick carpet. There's a fridge a nicely sized TV with about 20 cable channels and a coffee maker. The room had Aircon which had been turned on for us at a comfortable temp (nice touch guys) and the bathroom was great. Loved the shower which was actually high enough for me to stand under (i'm 6'4) and about blew me across the tub :P
The beds were very comfortable, my only gripe were the pillows which were too soft for me but they changed them for some firmer ones for me straight away. The breakfast area was quite large with a TV and a large choice of cereals, assorted pastries, coffee, Juice etc. Rather Impressed there. The hotel did have a nice (if small) looking pool which we didnt use. You do need a car to get around as there isn't any restaurants nearby and the beach is about 3 miles away, Pier and Town Centre about the same. It's a VERY LONG WALK! Even if you're fit, we took a backpack and hiked it on Independence day and it took about 45 mins to an hour. The beach is Awesome and Main St is great especially on Tuesday nights when they shut it down for a street market which is well worth a visit. Be wary of where you park though, on street is best if you're not staying long as parking charges can be high!
Overall this hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in, the rooms and food were great and the staff were extremely helpful , I would definatley recommend it.
Having never seen the SoCal lifestyle, I quickly fell in love with Huntington Beach. Coming from the UK, it's refreshingly nice to see how friendly and welcoming the people are, and after the Independence Day fireworks I didn't feel at all unnerved about walking back to the hotel through what seemed like a million other people!
Great Place, Great people, Great Hotel, Go visit ! lol

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NuttyTrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,677 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
358 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#15 of 21 in Huntington Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Surf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Surf City

Address: 19360 Beach Blvd, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-2502 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Regency Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntington Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Surf City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Surf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Regency Hotel Huntington Beach
Best Western Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing