We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key and Personal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was our 2nd time here and we really like it. The young couple who manage it, Barbara and Daniel, are friendly and efficient. Free boogie boards, beach chairs and beach towels. You can walk everywhere. Simple rooms. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

Everyone there was extremely nice and took care of anything we needed without hesitation. Even got a call for something we left and it is being shipped back. Thanks Danny! I would recommend Huntington Surf Inn to anyone looking for a place to stay in Huntington. Great location and killer vibes.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren_Tegtmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great laid back hotel with unique artwork by pro surfers just a 5minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Huntington bars and beaches. You're better off here than the over-priced resort hotels. Free car parking, cool staff and owners!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

It takes a certain kind of person to appreciate a hotel like this. Everything about it was like you were staying with friends at beach house. Managers are down to earth, the vibe is low key,rooms are clean and location doesn't get any better. I look forward to returning. :)

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 were right next to the hotel deck which was perfect for hang out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitney u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear whitney u,
Thank you very much for your kind words and your recent stay. You are 1000% right about our place, and we are so grateful for that!
The entire staff of the Inn wants to give our guests the fun beach house experience of the carefree life of Southern California sun, surf, and sand, and to combine that with the best in customer service items like beach gears, Wi-Fi, and parking. Our guests have typically become friends, and your return visits are something we dearly look forward to as the chance to revisit and catch up with each other.
In that thought, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon.
Take care,
L. Han
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We would both like to thank Danny and his wife Barbara for being so easy going and super helpful. The hotel was in a great location: just across the street from the beach, a few streets away from Main Street, a 7-11 right there for our morning coffees, a CVS pharmacy a block away where you can get great prices on wine, munchies etc. We rented bikes from Mike (ask Danny) to get us to Newport. The Inn is a rarity as it's still in theme with what I'd expect to find in a surfer town. It's the only one of it's kind. Even if you are used to the cookie cutter model of the chain hotels, you won't be disappointed with this place. It's clean, cute, safe, and we'd love to go back. In fact, we originally only booked two nights so we can check out other places, but loved this place so much that we stayed our entire trip (the other hotels were too much money and/or didn't have the location).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 and 9 which both have great views of the ocean. The street is a bit loud, but di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beateandcarmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Beate and Carmelo,
Wow...thank you for your lovely review. Danny and Barbara were honored that you elected to extend your time at the Inn. It was a great compliment to the property and its staff, and you really validated the extra hard work that our managers put in each day!
Our rooms are all unique, but you are right that rooms 1 and 9 are indeed special. They give a good sense of the proximity of the ocean, and certainly accentuate the open air feeling of our Inn.
We truly appreciate your patronage, and look forward to seeing you soon.
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent little place. Barbara & Danny are friendly & helpful, they are good managers. There are even beach chairs you can borrow and beach towels. The property is super clean and it comes with free wifi. Great location - walk to anything. Each room is so cool - you'll love it.

Room Tip: I was in Room 9 - but each room is a little different (I love that - you don't have that generic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RONICongers_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear RONICongers_NewYork,
Thank you so much for your recent stay and your kind review.
Thank you also for noticing that we do provide guests with items like water, beach towels and beach chairs as part of the TLC you deserve when you stay at the Inn.
Barbara and Danny treat our guests like family. They appreciate your encouraging words, and were thrilled to have had the opportunity to take care of you.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time. Close to beach and shops. Well worth the stay. The manager there when we checked was very helpful and caring on how we were doing. For the price and the view, Absolutely no complaints....


Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Herb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Herb E,
It was indeed our pleasure to have served you and your family.
We appreciate your kind words and certainly will always try to be an affordable and authentic lodging solution for guests traveling to Huntington Beach for a little sun and sand. Over the years, we have continued to add little TLC items to make our guests' visit more memorable, and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Take care,
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,718 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
375 reviews
0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
608 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
22 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $155 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing