We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntington Surf Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Location, location, location! This was my first trip to SoCal and I wanted to stay a stone's throw from the beach. Great location!! with a hip vibe....definitely not like so many generic chain hotels out there. The owner was onsite visiting the property during our stay and was clearly very committed to delivering excellent customer service. My room was very clean and comfortable and I had a great few days enjoying the beach and exploring this charming area. I am already planning my next trip back to Huntington Beach and will definitely stay here again....it's a great value for fun and funky, cool and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Misha60091,
Thank you so much for your kind review!
The Inn is proud to treat all our guests like family members, and is particularly grateful for those like yourself who appreciate our efforts.
We are constantly looking for ways to improve the value of your stay. We have recently made a few changes to our procedures and personnel to improve the "guest pampering" experience, and to ensure continued exemplary customer service. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Best regards,
L. Han
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    94
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
98
95
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at Huntington Surf Inn for 4 nights. The experience was wonderful to say the least. The manager printed out our park passes efficiently and had them ready at his office for pickup. Parking was wonderful as it takes us about one minute to walk from our parked car to our room......Our room was clean and tastefully designed which was to our liking. Being runners, we are literally steps from the beach so running on the beach front was a breeze!! In 2 words, "highly recommended".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear jasperjarvis,
Thank you so much for your helpful comments and recent stay.
Seasoned travelers like yourselves are the reason why the Inn constantly look for ways to improve and enhance the overall guest experience and bang for your bucks. We appreciate that you have chosen us for your lodging needs.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again, though I agree with other reviewers what you're really paying for is location. I had a conference at the Hyatt and decided to book here instead. It was more affordable, the 15 min walk to the Hyatt was enjoyable, and the staff was friendly. You can probably gather from pictures that each room has a fun/quirky vibe.

The room was very neat when I arrived. Beds were comfy and the shower (no tub) was spacious and had good water pressure. Mini-fridge was handy. I had to close my window room at night because the main road was pretty noisy, but I never heard anything from neighboring rooms. You don't have your own patio, but there is a large shared patio that overlooks the ocean. It was a nice place to read and relax. Parking is below the building. I'm not sure if a very large SUV could fit in the spaces down there so I would call ahead to ask.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Mallory M,

Thank you so much for your recent stay. I appreciate your comments as well.
Our location right on PCH does mean that there will be some noise from cars during certain busy time of the day. At night traffic is at a minimum, and most rooms are very quiet indeed.

Our pricing is very competitive with our neighbors on PCH. We pride ourselves on added values like complementary parking and high speed Internet access so that you will not incur other charges during your stay. We are in the midst of adding more values to your stay with more amenities such as business printing, and as always, great customer service.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
L. Han
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We booked the Huntington Surf Inn based on so many positive Trip Advisor reviews. Unfortunately, we can't rave about our stay here.

We booked room 2. Although cutely decorated, the room was one of the smallest motel rooms we've stayed in. I like a firm bed, but the bed here was firm to the point of uncomfortable. There were only about 3 light bulbs in the small chandelier and one of them was burned out. In the bathroom there is literally 3" of counter space to place a hairbrush, toothbrush/paste, makeup, etc. and that's it.

The only amenity was a small fridge. No coffee maker and no hair dryer. Provided toiletries were one small bottle of shampoo and two small bars of soap. If you need conditioner or lotion, bring your own.

We didn't appreciate being woken up at 3 a.m. with a man talking outside near our room. This went on for over 30 minutes. You will also hear traffic noise at all hours since this lodging is situated right by the busy Pacific Coast Highway.

One plus is that the Inn is located right across the street from the beach and about a 5 minute walk from the Huntington Beach Pier. We enjoyed dining at Ruby's Diner at the end of the pier. It is also just a few blocks to the town square with more shops and restaurants.

Stay here for the location, not so much for the Inn itself. Don't know that we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear QueenMumOregon,

Thank you for the opportunity to be your host on your recent visit.
You are right that our location is ideal for visitors who want to experience a combination of the beach life of southern California and a vibrant downtown scene with great shops and restaurants.
We appreciate your comments about bath amenities, and will switch the one bottle shampoo-conditioner out for separate shampoo and conditioner bottles. Lotions are available for guests as well in each room.
The Inn has a surfing heritage that focuses on the simple beach living lifestyles of the beach cities. Along with shampoos et al we have meaningful complementary amenities like parking and Wi-Fi that our guests have appreciated. I do think that it is our privilege to further pamper our guests, and will incorporate your kind suggestions in the neverending quest to be a great and affordable lodging for surfers and queen mums alike.
Please take care and thank you once again for your patronage.
L. Han
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while vacationing in So-Cal. The online photos and descriptions were appealing so I decided to book the room site un-seen.

When we arrived I was happy with the location but that was soon followed by disappointment. The room we stayed in was #9 for $200 for the one night. Although the room had a good ocean view and unique decor, there were other aspects that will keep us from ever staying here again.

Immediately my wife spotted random hairs all over the pillows and linens. I later found hair on the bathroom floor and on the "clean" towels. The toilet seat was splattered with paint and who knows what else. The in-room fridge seemed nice until it began to buzz loudly every ten minutes. We went out for the day/night to Main St which was very close and returned around midnight ready for bed. Shortly after 2am we were woken by a group of drunk people returning from the bars. They had 3 rooms and continued to party with doors wide open. The walls and windows are VERY thin and you can hear everything (including daily traffic). The drunken group was running up and down the stairs, yelling, cussing, screaming with no sign of stopping.This continued for 1/2hr before I stumbled around the room looking for the phone to call the front desk. To my surprise there was no phone, ugh! I pulled the office phone up on my cell phone but there was no answer. 3am rolled around and still no signs of managment enforcing any rules and no signs of the loud neighbors slowing down. I had to get dressed and go out to the rooms myself and ask them to shut the doors and quiet down. In the morning we quickly packed our things and started to head out (9am). The parking garage was littered with trash (pizza boxes, fast food wrappers, etc.) and I couldn't be happier to leave.

Overall this place has a great location.....but that is it. For $200 a night I have stayed in a lot nicer places......on that note I've stayed in a lot nicer places for $50 a night. Beware if you choose to stay here.......

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSauceda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear JSauceda,

Thank you for your review.

We noted that you found the pricing to be not to your liking. Our prices have always been competitive and, as noted by other guests here, often are lower than many of the hotels on Pacific Coast Highway.
We also noted that you had experienced noise from the street. Our location on Pacific Coast Highway and proximity to the beaches and the water indeed will expose you to some traffic noise. It is part and parcel of the Huntington Beach surfside experience.
With regards to the noise from the neighbors, our manager James stayed in the quarters right next to you. While neither he nor other guests were disturbed by the noise, we do take your comments seriously and will continue to look into ways to improve our overall guest experience.

Regards,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

You simply cannot beat the location of this hotel... a block away from Main Street and right across from the beach. Perfect!

As long as you're not a person who likes newer, well-maintained hotels, then you will be OK with this hotel. This hotel is definitely an older, funky beach hotel. Clean? Yes, but I've seen cleaner. We stayed in room 2 and one of the bed spreads had what appeared to be an old blood stain on it. There was a little trash stuck behind the little fridge as well. For a family of 4, this room was a little small, but we weren't in the room too much anyway.

So, stay at the hotel for the location and price. You can't beat it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PsykoPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear PsykoPup,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate that you are cognizant of our unique approach as one of the very few authentic surfside lodgings in southern California. We will take your constructive notes to heart and continue to improve the experience of our similarly unique guests.
The entire staff of the Huntington Surf Inn looks forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The wife & I rode out bicycles down the Santa Ana River Trail from Corona and wanted a place to stay Saturday night. Room #9 was GREAT--!!! Big Shower, very clean room - comfortable settings with an ocean view... We locked our bikes up down stairs with no problems, we felt very safe. Highly recommended-!!!

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best view - big room - big shower -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Mark H,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Room 9 is indeed a good beginning for a nature trip like yours. The reclaimed wood decor is the first step to the enjoyment of the green culture of southern California and Huntington Beach.
We are grateful for your visit, and hope to host you again soon. Next time perhaps you will have the opportunity to explore other amazing bike trails in the beautiful sea scapes and nature preserves of our town.
Please take care,

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#11 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#6 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 22 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing