We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived in the US after a long overnight flight and drove to Huntington Beach where we were booked to stay at the Huntington Surf Inn for two nights. We arrived around 10:30am and decided to see if we could get our room early. Julie and James greeted us with friendly faces and let us check in straight away which enabled us to get some much needed rest. They are extremely friendly operators who ensure their patrons have the kind of holiday they are looking for. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. It is walking distance to everything and enabled us land in the US, get our bearings and rest up in a friendly atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Nat E,

Thank you so much for your stay. Your review is a good reminder for all of us that the little touches count, and we will be sure to remember this to keep on taking great care of our guests. As many of our guests have noted on TripAdvisor and elsewhere, we are a small property and we will always treat you like our own!
Hopefully we will have the chance to take care of you again soon.

LH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Huntington Surf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great place to stay. Julie & James make you feel very welcome.
Nice & clean with good shower & parking, walking distance to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. I'll be re visiting as soon as time and money allow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisgurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear chrisgurr,

We thank you for your continued patronage. Return guests are our biggest affirmation that we are on the right path with our customer service as well as with our goal to be a honest to goodness value in lodging right on PCH.

We really appreciate your picture of the sunset. Hope you will have fond memory of time on the deck with your friends at the Inn.

Take care and hope to see you soon,

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Surf inn is very good, nice rooms good atmosphere and a beautiful view. You can park your car downstairs and it's only a few minutes from beach and center. The rooms are not very big, but clean and with a warm interior.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there only for 1 Night and it was awesome..nothing to complain!Very friendly owners and beautiful location,beach- a just 2 min walk and to the Main Street only 5minutes..we will be back for sure...!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mararm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Huntington Surf Inn is a little gem! The managers are really great, you feel very welcome staying at the Inn. The rooms have fun surfing decorations that really reflect being at the beach. It was really nice to have a refrigerator in the room. The big screen TV was awesome, bigger than many hotel TVs with lots of channels. We REALLY enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the pier, the restaurants on Main Street - you really didn't need to use the car to get around. We stayed in room 4, didn't really notice much street noise. Thanks Julie and James for a great stay - love you guys!

Room Tip: Room 4 is right about the middle of the hotel, not all the way to the back, not all the way near PCH...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILuvHawaiiclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear ILuvHawaiiclh,

Wow...what can we say in response to your kind review.
Your comments remind us why we are in the lodging business and encourage us to keep trying harder to give everyone a great experience!
Thank you so very much for your patronage, and we hope to see you again soon.

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While the decor at the Huntington Surf Inn is a lot of fun and the customer service friendly, I couldn't help but feel I was staying in my teenage daughter's bedroom--complete with dirty shower. the Inn's location is excellent, though PCH is a busy street with plenty of street noise. If the price were forty dollars cheaper, I would stay here again. At 190 a night, it was a little too motel-like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cginther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear cginther,

Thank you for your kind patronage. The fun decor in some of the rooms indeed reflect our surfing heritage. Some of the rooms represent HGTV Design Star Antonio Ballatore's vision of famous surfers' bedrooms for the Nike Motel NoTell project, and are favorites of many of our guests.

We do appreciate your constructive comments and certainly will incorporate your thoughts into our frequent moments of soul searching in the neverending quest of making the Inn the best possible experience for our guests.

Please take care, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a great time at Huntington Surf Inn! The location is perfect. You just have to cross the street and you're at the beach. The shops and restaurants are at walking distance. The hotel is a bit motel-like. So if you're looking for a fancy upscale hotel, this is not the place. But that's exactly what we liked about it. Basic, clean and friendly. A good place if you're on a surfing trip like us.
The patio is great to have a beer and meet other guests after a day at the beach. Julie and James are great people and willing to help you with everything at any time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymieNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear RaymieNetherlands,
We are grateful for your patronage. Our property is indeed geared for an authentic surf and beach experience, and we try hard to also give you a good value for your stay.
Your deck experience was certainly echoed by many guests. It really is a highlight for us too, as James and Julia often get to hang out with our guests and enjoy your tremendous company.
Life is short...surf more... :)
Please take care and, once again, thank you so much.
L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
578 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
572 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $173 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing