We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Only one issue - getting ice from the 7-11 is an unnecessary pain. Easy walking distance to the beaches and the main drag. Breakfast at the Sugar Shack is a must. All day bike rental for $10 is a good deal.

Room Tip: Room 1 is on the Pacific Coast Highway. Avoid if you don't like car noise at all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rboedecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Rboedecker,

Thank you for your patronage of the Inn. Your comments are indeed insightful and will be of help for our other guests.
Because of our very small size, the ice machine was a casualty of space and the desire to keep noises down at night. For your convenience, we included a refrigerator with icemaking ability in each room, and the 7-11 a few steps away from our property hopefully can provide guests with more choices at all hours of the day.
The Sugar Shack has indeed been very popular with our guests, and bike rental is among the most inquired activities as well because our central location really made car driving unnecessary if you want to explore the local areas.
Once again, we thank you and look forward to another opportunity to serve you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

The best feature about this inn is that everything is within walking distance. We did not use the car the entire time. Julie was very nice and helpful. The good reviews for this inn are legit. For the price it is a great deal. The only negative is that they don't allow pets. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSurBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here the first weekend of the US Open of Surfing. We could not have picked a better location. We were within walking distance of everywhere we went, including the beach and pier. Having the mini-fridge in the room turned out to be really nice for us since we ended up having some leftovers from lunch/dinner, and also kept our 6packs cold which we enjoyed on the hotel patio!

It was a little more than we wanted to spend, but we do understand all hotels with this location raise their rates for special weekends like the US Open. We will definitely stay here again and recommend this to any couple looking for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in room 5, and we enjoyed it. If there is any noise outside from any others stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is close to beach and also a walking distance to downtown, so the location is perfect. Rooms have different theme to them, so we liked it and they are clean. The manager and his wife always were available for questions and if we needed an opinion of what places we should see.

We really enjoyed the stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorothyC35732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't normally feel compelled to share my experiences with others but my recent stay was such a great experience. I had been promising my girls a nice relaxing weekend at the beach and did this place deliver! From the moment we arrived, the managers Julie & James made us feel so welcome. Whether it was retrieving my daughters earring out of the shower drain ( James to the rescue ) to making sure we were comfortable, I just cannot say enough about them.
I awoke to the patio with a beautiful view of the beach. I stayed in room 2, which was more than enough room for my daughters and I. Nothing fancy but very pleasant and with that down home feel. The location is prime close walking distance to the pier and Main St. This inn is certainly not the Hilton Waterfront down the street, but much more. Anyone who stays here will not be dissapointed. I live about an hours drive and would consider this the perfect little inexpensive getaway. Thank you Julie and James for the relaxing weekend! I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlsalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Mlsalas,

You have done it! Our response to your kind words is simply "WOW!"

Easily the best thing about running the Huntington Surf Inn as a micro property amongst the hotelier giants in Huntington Beach is the interaction with guests like you. We pledge to stay true to this spirit of hospitality and help all of our guests have an affordable, relaxing, and comfortable experience. We all deserve a little kindness, and you have indeed made us feel special!

Thank you and hope to see you very soon.

L. Han

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Only nine rooms and the manger was sitting on the deck watching the waves when I showed up. They are a very nice pleasant couple from Tucson and the place they keep is spotless. It is not fancy but the location is perfect. Quirky rooms each with a theme to them. My only notes of caution are form light phobes or light sleepers. The room is on the PCH and can be a little noisy from street traffic. And the very bright room has shades and blinds but it was still bright in the morning with them drawn. It was fine by me because I had an early flight but had by girlfriend been there she'd have been complaining loudly!

All in all, I recommend this as great value in Huntington Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcrowley3467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Small gem across the street from the beach. Within walking distance of shopping, dining, etc. The rooms are on 2nd floor & parking underneath. Common patio with spectacular view of beach. Owners were the nicest people.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfyfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,721 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
284 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Huntington Beach Orange County
SpringHill Suites Huntington Bea...
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
22 reviews
5 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#10 of 21 in Huntington Beach
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $155 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing