We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seatte
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Home!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just got back after staying with 2 teenagers in Room 2! Great place....LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION, says it all. Besides that , Julie and James are so nice and welcoming, very down to earth. Room was comfy and cozy, great bed. We even got to use the microwave ;) The sitting area is comfortable, you can sit and watch the world go by at your feet!!

Room Tip: Room 1 might be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear SeattleZippy,
We thank you for your kind thoughts about James, Julia, and the Inn. We are glad you brought up your use of a microwave. Indeed we do have microwaves on site, and guests can just ask at the front desk for them at any time.
Our deck is a favorite feature for many of our visitors, as well as for James and Julia. Who will forget the HB sunset after hanging out on the deck with fellow guests "watching the world go by"!
Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    96
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
100
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great place! Great Location! Great People! Everything in walking distance. Bring your beverage of choice and enjoy the sunset from the deck!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear David B,
Thank you so much for putting it so succinctly. We will continue to improve to justify your faith in us and to be a cool joint for everyone!!
Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Beautiful little place. Only 9 rooms all situated above a small area for parking. Took less than 5 minute to get to Main Street and the pier (with a toddler walking). Can see the ocean from certain rooms. Amazing view of the sunset! Absolutely everything was within walking distance. Did not have to get in my car even once during our stay. Amazing restaurants and shops all within a 5 min walk or less.
And most importantly, the customer service was outstanding! We are instant repeat customers! I would recommended the Huntington Surf Inn to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatcherfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear hatcherfamilyman,

We have all been moved by your review and your comment about becoming instant repeat customers!
Indeed, Julia and James know customer service, and strive to treat all our guests like family.
Our goal is to provide our customers with a great experience. Travel should be a blast. We feel truly privileged that you entrusted a big portion of ensuring that it will be fun to us.
We hope to see your family again soon...plenty of room at the deck!

Please take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I loved the location, loved that it was one block from a CVS and 7-11 for any last minute items, 2 blocks from the cutest, hippest downtown with great food, shops, happy hour specials and people watching and great views of the ocean. The rooms were recently remodeled and the pictures on the website don't do it justice, so much creativity and modern art in the rooms. A little noisy as it is right on pch but that's A fair exchange to be right across from te ocean. The heater in our room didn't work but we were there on a rare weekend when you would even need a heater. Not many amenities but there is not much more we could have needed besides the mini fridge. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craymond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear craymond1,

Thank you so much for your great review. Indeed our location has been a blessing. Most of our guests have not needed a car after arrival to our location. We are especially proud that you enjoyed the decoration of your room, as we wanted to present our guests with a more personalized approach to hotel room design as befitting a property of our size. You will be pleased to know that we have taken your review in account and have readjusted the heater, which will come handy this fall, and right now the a/c is working well.
We are ready for you to come back!

Take care,
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Great location, nice room, good value. Everything is a short walk away. Beach is across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahwaziran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Ahwaziran,
Thank you for your succinct review of the Huntington Surf Inn. Although we are indeed blessed by a location so close to the beach and activities of Huntington Beach, we will continue to strive to make your visit a pleasant one with great customer service and cool rooms at affordable prices. We hope to see you again soon!
L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Huntington Surf Inn in Huntington Beach the night before we raced the Surf City Half Marathon. We found the hotel clean, convenient and with the friendliest staff around! We were greeted with smiles and suggestions and I even was able to borrow a hair dryer so that I could look good after the race ( A girl has got to do what a girl has got to do!). The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because we were in room #1 and the Hotel Sign was really bright throughout the night (thank goodness for my race headband!) and the traffic was pretty constant (until they closed down the PCH) sometime during the night. I would highly recommend this hotel, just make sure you stay in any room but room #1!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room #1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Guest Relations Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Patty0625,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are sure you looked great after the race, hair dryer in use or not!
You are indeed correct that our location allows our guests to be in the thick of the race. Over the years, the Inn has been privileged to host many racers, and has strived to give you a peaceful and quiet rest before the race as well as complimentary late checkouts.
Of note, room 1's views of the ocean and Pacific Coast Highway does make it a little livelier than some of our other rooms. We apologize that we did not get the opportunity to show you the roll up blind hidden in the window that would have blocked out lights effectively for you. We will be putting a placard in room 1 to remind guests that they have this option available.
Once again, thank you and best wishes for future successes in this incredible feat of sportsmanship and endurance.

L. Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

As someone traveling alone, I doubt any other place could have felt quite so much like home. The Inn's small size, family-business feeling and incredibly kind and helpful couple manning the place made for a great 3-4 days stay there. I can't imagine any other larger hotel lending booties to a surfer in need... then again I may be wrong, but that was just one of many helpful gestures the landlords extended me during my stay.
Huntington beach is all the better off with the Surfer's Inn and I would definitely go back there next time round!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Stewie G,

Thank you for the exceptionally kind words. We love our guests, and have been blessed with many many great ones. You came all the way from Hong Kong, and deserved the very best we can offer in customer service and TLC.

Come on back anytime, and we will keep the booties around for you!

Happy New Year,

Fred Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
528 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing