We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Best hosts in So Cal. great rooms. and it's great for a surf trip! across PCH from tower 6 in view of the break.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALRIGHTbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Dear ALRIGHTbrother,

Interesting moniker! Thank you very much for a very succinct review of the Inn. You are right. It all boils down to having kind hosts running a lodging in a great location for incredibly nice guests. Y'all deserve the best when you travel and we at the Inn have been also incredibly fortunate as well.

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 390 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Julie and James were awesome hosts. The location could not have been better and the deck was a great place to meet new people. Not too many extras at this hotel, but it was cheaper than others. The room was clean and the parking was free. We would definitely stay here again, but we would make sure we had all the amenities we need.

Room Tip: Our room was #6, it was right by the deck. I didn't notice any extra noise, but I could see how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScottFamily1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear ScottFamily1120,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed meeting guests just as interesting as yourselves at the inn. On recent visits to the deck, we met a golf pro from Las Vegas, a champion surfer from Australia, a photographer, and a very nice newlywed couple. All were incredibly nice as we all shared a lot of laughter and enjoyed the views of the beautiful sunset together.
We appreciate your comment about amenities at the Inn. We strive to give you the best value for your stay, and include free Internet, parking, and local phone service in your room rate. Beach towels, and other knick knacks are always available for your use gratis, as well. However, we promise to build on this to improve your lodging experience, and hopefully will have the opportunity to take care of you soon with your next visit.

Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Huntington Surf Inn for 3 nights last month - checking out OC and doing a bit of surfing - and had a great time! The rooms were cool (we stayed in the Jimmy Hendrix room) and the hosts were incredibly friendly - thanks for a fun time at Huntington Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1981_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Dear Rob1981_11,
We thank you also for your patronage. We always have had unbelievably gracious, sophisticated, and fun guests from the UK, and you continue that streak! On behalf of the whole crew, all of whom you have met, we wish you happy and safe travels. Think of us during the coming cold and gray days in London, and know that we look forward to serving you again.
Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed here for the us open friday and saturday. The staff at Huntington surf inn was unbelievable... in a good way! Everything was clean and well kept. and nice. they were so nice and helpful and i appreciate everything they had done to make my trip awesome. its located in a prime spot. about a 3 min walk to the beach and main street. a lot of activities and restaurants were so close. I will for sure come here again with my friends and i next year. i was completely satisfied with my stay. and HIGHLY recommend Huntington Surf Inn!!

Thanks again, Chris

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate our wonderful guests, especially those who care enough to let us know that they will come back to the Inn! James and Julia certainly work hard to take care of our guests, and we hope that our good intentions shine through. Obviously the Inn is always looking for ways to improve your lodging experience. We want you to know that your words will encourage us to strive for the best customer service experience possible.
Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located if you want easy access to the beach and downtown HB. You won't need a car to get around as everything is within walking distance. If you're looking for luxury accommodations with lots of amenities, this is not your hotel. But if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place at a good value - tgis is it!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wzpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Dear wzpilot,
Thank you so much for your succinct and kind review. While we are indeed blessed with a great location, we want to reassure you and other guests that we will continue to work hard to make your stay a memorable one. There are no rules against combining luxury with fun and good value, so we will keep working toward the goal of giving you great lodging, great service, and great pricing.
Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the surf inn last weekend during the US OPEN. We had a great time and the hotel was just across PCH from the beach....couldn't have picked a better location! The rooms were clean, and the couple that ran it were great. There's a nice deck that overlooks the beach where we were able to hang out with friends and family during the day. I thought the rates were a little high, but so was everywhere else that weekend. If you're looking for a unique experience while in huntington beach, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdb3035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear bdb3035,

Thank you so much for a very nice perspective of life at the Inn during the amazing and exciting US Open of Surfing. With thousands and thousands of guests descending into Huntington Beach for all the festivities, room rates of beach side lodgings certainly are at the crest for the summer season.

We are very grateful for our guests' patronage, and try to maximize the value of each stay by providing complementary services that would have been extra charges in many other properties.

Best wishes for a great summer in the Windy City! Go Cubs! Bears season starts soon, wow.

Fred Malzahn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Flying from Chicago to CA with three kids, ages 2,4, and 6. Couldn't wait to get to our rooms and explore sunny Huntington Beach! We had no idea what to expect when we pulled up to the Surf Inn, but we were pleasantly surprised! There was FREE parking (a big deal if you are from Chicago!) We had two rooms, perfect for all of our stuff. The rooms were so clean and fun! It was laid back and easy, thanks to James and Julie, who were wonderful! Not only did they take great care of us, but they were the best babysitters, always keeping a watchful eye out for three little ones who were known to enjoy running around the deck (we were the only ones there during the week). They were beyond accommodating and just nice to be around!

The location was perfect! Even toting three kids, we were at the beach, pier, and downtown with an easy walk. I highly recommend Huntington Surf Inn! I know the next time we need to escape Chicago for some California sun, we will be visitng James and Julie again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Dear Christine,
Thank you so much for the generous feedback. James and Julia may have to buy bigger hats now, after reading your kind words. They certainly enjoyed your presence at the Inn, and look forward to taking care of you again some day.
Fred Malzahn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,675 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#15 of 21 in Huntington Beach
282 reviews
5 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
586 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $155 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing