We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Huntington surf inn is in a great location. Has a great view of the ocean & walking distance from main street. Had a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boopster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Boopster4,
Thank you for your "awesome" review. We are grateful for our wonderful guests, and look forward to serving you again very soon.
James White
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    96
    16
    9
    4
See reviews for
101
100
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Very much enjoyed our stay. Julie and James are friendly and keep the place running smoothly and the location is ideal, across the street from the beach. Renovated rooms with new paint/carpet. Everything is in walking distance. Forget the chain hotels, this independent is all you need. And super easy to book a real reservation online, which includes real photos of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to call on a busy holiday weekend. People tend to overlook the smaller independe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandreuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear pandreuc,
James and Julia really appreciated your encouraging words. Furthermore, the entire Inn applauds your thoughtful sentiments about our independent status, which gives us flexibility and freedom to customize the guest's experience to achieve a memorable stay. After all, our guests deserve the best!
Thank you again,
Fred Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was a great experience. Very convenient location. Unique room that was very clean. Friendly helpful staff. Top choice for our next stay in Huntington Beach!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankepeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, General Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Frankepeal,
Thank you for your "frank" review! On behalf of James and Julia I thank you for the opportunity to make your travel more memorable, and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Fred Malzahn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Great place, nice surfing atmosphere. Very nicely designed rooms. The owners were nice and helpful with any questions that we had. Location is suberb, right next to pier and main street.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marakatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Marakatti,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your kind words about customer service! We are a bit different from the big chain hotels, and do try hard to offer our guests a fun experience and good value for the money for your visit to Huntington Beach. From a value standpoint, we hope you enjoyed some of our amenities such as complementary wifi, local phone service, and parking. We hope to see you again soon in sunny southern California.
James White
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Overall I loved it. Rooms were very cool and clean. The beds were comfy and they only do room service upon request which I like because I don't like having people go through my room that has my wallet, phone, iPod, etc. The couple that runs it is awesome and were very friendly. The views from the deck at night are beautiful and the location is just phenomenal. Conveniently located next to a cvs and 7/11 and a short walk from Main street, shopping, dining, etc. I will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achristopher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Julie and James will take care of whatever you need. We stayed in room 1 and it was spotless and everything worked. Will stay in room 9 next trip. If you are a light sleeper due to lights you do not want room 1 as the outside light will show through the blinds. I do not have that problem and slept just fine in a comfortable bed.
It is just a block away from Supreme Donuts for a great cup of coffee early and all the beach activities at the pier are just two more blocks.
Our walk North one block from the hotel and cross over there to the beach without the crowds. You will get your moneys worth here and the managers are friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LV69Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Okay, not really, but the mural of him, Roger and Mick was pretty cool. My 14 year old daughter and I had a great time and she especially loved the room. It was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Julie and James were terrific. When our flight was delayed did our family call to check on us to see if we were okay? No. Julie did. She said she was just checking to make sure we had made it in to HB safely. So sweet! Both Julie and James were friendly and helpful with anything we needed. James even gave me tide information and recommended the best time to surf so I didn't get clobbered by the massive waves on Fri. We will definitely come back to the Surf Inn. The only draw back was that the cars on PCH were kind of loud when we were trying to fall asleep at night. I think it would be great to bring ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jendawn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear JenDawn89,

Clearly you are the winner of the best caption contest :)
Thank you so much for the great review. Come back and sleep with you know who again some time.
We are grateful that you mentioned Julie's phone call. We care, and we are happy that you appreciate that we do!!

James White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#13 of 21 in Huntington Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
516 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
528 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 21 in Huntington Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing