We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very nice and helpful owners.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huntington Surf Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Great place, nice surfing atmosphere. Very nicely designed rooms. The owners were nice and helpful with any questions that we had. Location is suberb, right next to pier and main street.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marakatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Marakatti,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate your kind words about customer service! We are a bit different from the big chain hotels, and do try hard to offer our guests a fun experience and good value for the money for your visit to Huntington Beach. From a value standpoint, we hope you enjoyed some of our amenities such as complementary wifi, local phone service, and parking. We hope to see you again soon in sunny southern California.
James White
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 385 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

Overall I loved it. Rooms were very cool and clean. The beds were comfy and they only do room service upon request which I like because I don't like having people go through my room that has my wallet, phone, iPod, etc. The couple that runs it is awesome and were very friendly. The views from the deck at night are beautiful and the location is just phenomenal. Conveniently located next to a cvs and 7/11 and a short walk from Main street, shopping, dining, etc. I will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achristopher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Julie and James will take care of whatever you need. We stayed in room 1 and it was spotless and everything worked. Will stay in room 9 next trip. If you are a light sleeper due to lights you do not want room 1 as the outside light will show through the blinds. I do not have that problem and slept just fine in a comfortable bed.
It is just a block away from Supreme Donuts for a great cup of coffee early and all the beach activities at the pier are just two more blocks.
Our walk North one block from the hotel and cross over there to the beach without the crowds. You will get your moneys worth here and the managers are friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LV69Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Okay, not really, but the mural of him, Roger and Mick was pretty cool. My 14 year old daughter and I had a great time and she especially loved the room. It was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Julie and James were terrific. When our flight was delayed did our family call to check on us to see if we were okay? No. Julie did. She said she was just checking to make sure we had made it in to HB safely. So sweet! Both Julie and James were friendly and helpful with anything we needed. James even gave me tide information and recommended the best time to surf so I didn't get clobbered by the massive waves on Fri. We will definitely come back to the Surf Inn. The only draw back was that the cars on PCH were kind of loud when we were trying to fall asleep at night. I think it would be great to bring ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jendawn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuntingtonSurfInn, Manager at Huntington Surf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear JenDawn89,

Clearly you are the winner of the best caption contest :)
Thank you so much for the great review. Come back and sleep with you know who again some time.
We are grateful that you mentioned Julie's phone call. We care, and we are happy that you appreciate that we do!!

James White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We turned up on the day after checking a few hotels in the area. The Surf Inn was in an awesome location, close to the heart of Huntington there is a good little surf break out from the hotel (less crowded than the pier). Julie and James were brilliant from the moment we arrived, all the way through to when we left. We had the end room (furthest from the road) it was large, quiet and comfortable, had everything we needed. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnasty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was my second stay at the hotel in less than a year. I simply had to return. The rooms are very chic and spotlessly clean. The managers treat everyone like family. The location is perfect. The Inn is right beside the best beach in the area and they have an elevated deck from which you can enjoy a peaceful cup of coffee or evening cocktail while gazing at the sea. If you like an active vacation there is plenty to do. The pier is a "must"! I saw a pod of dolphin during an early morning stroll. When you get hungry there are loads of restaurants along Main St. to choose from. Oh yeah, and the managers will give you discount coupons to use during your stay. ........I'll be going back in September. You can find me on the deck with a smile on my face!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank girlchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The proximity to the Pier, shopping and the ocean were all fantastic! There was a small refrigerator in the room and a BBQ available for use if we wanted to put something on the grill. Now the bad news~the window coverings were mini-blinds that allowed the VERY BRIGHT lights from the hotel to stream in our window which meant it looked like it was broad daylight when in fact, it was the middle of the night!. So, 3 of the 4 of us got next to no sleep! The other contributing factor to the loss of sleep was the nightlife was loud, loud, loud! Loud engines from motorcycles and cars were non-stop as were the partiers....so sad to say we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brandieaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#14 of 21 in Huntington Beach
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
581 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 21 in Huntington Beach
579 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Address: 720 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range: $168 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing