We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay, with great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Surf Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huntington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntington Surf Inn
Save
You added Huntington Surf Inn to your Saves list
720 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, with great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

If you are looking for a cost effective place to stay within walking distance of the restaurants, bars and beaches then the Surf Inn is excellent. Julie & James are really nice people and nothing is too much trouble.
Mr Chris Gurr
London England

Room Tip: Just Ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisgurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    84
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
88
88
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

A nice gem of an inn in an unbeatable location. I was on the beach within a few minutes of my arrival. Room 9 was fantastic, with a great view. Also, the materials in this room were ecologically sustainable. The "green" nature of the room was inspiring and the integration of the ecological concepts into the room decor by the HGTV Designer Antonio Ballatore was innovative. Service was great. My room was always clean and airy.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel has a perfect location to surf and visit Huntington Beach.
The rooms decoration are pretty cool.
The staff is very friendly and polite
The only one thing to improve the service is to clean the room everyday, or at least each 2 days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalmonRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel is fabulous! Each room is different. Very hip. We stayed in room 7 with the blue-sea painted walls and beautiful over sized paintings. But we could have stayed in the Jimi Hendrix room, or the black room with a crystal chandelier! The beds and linens were super comfy. The european style bathroom has a huge shower and the towels are not skimpy. The managers were extremely friendly and gave us some pointers for local restaurants and attractions. (my favorite attraction was the roof top deck over looking the Pacific, perfect !) I cannot say enough about this place. I am well traveled and have seen plenty of hotel rooms that cannot compare. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlchef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

My brother and I traveled to Southern California to surf, we stayed at a few places up and down the coast and this was by far my favorite place. I had stayed at the best western next door a few years back, however this trip the woman at the front desk couldn't have been less helpful or acted less enthused for my business. I went accross the street and it was the complete opposite. Recently under new management and the couple that runs the place couldn't have been more kind to us. Everything inside and outside the room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the room was well maintained. The location and the staff is well worth the price (which is cheaper then their next door neighbor), so I would highly recommend the Surf's Inn. I will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brutus_onthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I were there last weekend for a short romantic getaway. I was very pleased that the newly remodeled inn was very clean and had friendly & courteous staff. From what I hear all the rooms had different decor and paint colors. Our room was absolutely gorgeous....and totally unexpected! We had the elegant black and red room with the chandelier. Needless to say it fits in with our weekend theme. Our room had new furniture, beautiful comtemporary art decor, fresh paint, new beds & mattresses (I would be back just to sleep on the mattress-it was ultra comfortable), and clean carpeting. And, the ocean was just across the street! We would definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachOutdoorLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmsprings CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived just a few days after the new management had gotten there, and they were really doing a bang up job with renovating the quant hotel. Everything was new, from beds, carpet, paint, walk in showers, bathrooms. It was so clean and fresh. Truc, Julia, and James couldn't have been friendlier, nicer hosts. They always wanted to know if they could help us with anything. The rooms are a bit retro, and a bit beach, targeting a slightly younger crowd (under 60) and just really cool vibe going on there. I would recommend this comfortable little inn highly. And the location--OMG a block from everything--downtown, beach, restaurants. And loved the parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcooper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huntington Beach Inn
Huntington Beach Inn
#12 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#10 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#6 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Surf Inn

Property: Huntington Surf Inn
Address: 720 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Huntington Surf Inn has been a multi-year winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence Award. We feature nine comfortable and charming rooms with design themes from an HGTV Design Star that focus on our Southern California beach and surfing heritage. We pride ourselves on our customer first culture, and we offer free high speed Wi-Fi, on-site parking, local telephone service, and large flat screen televisions with high-definition premium cable content. Each room is air-conditioned, and has a refrigerator for your cold beverages. A microwave is available as needed also. Leave your beach towels and frisbees at home, as we have a wide variety of complementary beach items for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huntington Surf Hotel Huntington Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing