We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place. ...But No Water”

Huntington Dog Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
“Great Place. ...But No Water”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

What a great experience. I was there with my wife and four kids. The people were friendly and helpful and almost all the dogs were well behaved.
The beach itself was well maintained and clean. The public restrooms however were a different story. With all of the parking fees and taxes that city collects there should be running water in the bathroom.
Still, it was an enjoyable experience.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    118
    27
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog Beach”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Huntington Dog Beach is amazing, to be able to sit or walk the beach with your Dog or Dogs is great. This beach is clean, everyone is very respectful or the beach and each other. Their are plenty of Dogs off leash running and playing and yet is safe and friendly. A great beach, even if you havent got a dog.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A romp in the surf; my favorite!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The dog beach is a delightful place. Dogs (and people) of all sorts meat and mingle and play in the sand and surf (at least the dogs do). Dogs are generally well behaved and too busy enjoying themselves to fight. If you are lucky you may see a doggy surfing contest (no lie). And pick up a dig beach T-shirt.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog Beach”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I think it is great that there is a place like this where people can take their dogs. The dog owners keep the beach nice and the dogs seem very happy. I hope that the city continues to let dog beach stay as it is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“I've never seen so many happy dogs in one place!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I decided to try out this beach since I am a new dog owner. I wasn't really sure what to expect and was pleasantly surprised to find this beach really no different than a normal beach. It was very clean and owners and dogs alike were very respectful of one another. I have a tiny teacup Yorkie and he could not have been any happier unless I took him to Disneyland. He had a blast running in the sand and mingling with both small and large dogs. Most dogs are happiest off leash but we kept him on at the beginning just to be safe. We quickly realized he was in no danger of other dogs as they were all very well mannered so free he became. Both my kids and I had a great time here with him. We will definitely be back.

Note on the parking: The cost was $1.50 an hour and the machines took cash or cards so that was a great deal I thought.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntington Dog Beach also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Huntington Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing