We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only in California !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Dog Beach

Huntington Dog Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
SW Wales. UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Only in California !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Really missed our dogs visiting Dog Beach the dogs have a ball at this beach but it also was family friendly, worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tam6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    91
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DOGS DOGS AND MORE DOGS, very few cities allow a free dog, good for HB.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My Golden has never been happier!!!!He run crazy and leaps in the waves, I know He's smiling, but his tounge is hanging out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our dogs enjoyed their off leash experience at Huntington Dog Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently spent a week traveling around Southern California in an RV with our two mid-sized dogs. We heard about this dog beach from a waitress who said she takes her dog there regularly and has never had any problems. Our dogs had so much fun running off-leash on the beach and playing in the water. There is approximately 1 1/2 miles of beach dedicated for dog use, which means that even if there are quite a few people and dogs there, it doesn't seem crowded. We were there in early December and the weather was 72 degrees ! Everyone we saw picked up after their dogs and the beach was very clean the day we were there. The only drawback for us was that there is no RV parking at the dog beach, so we had to use a State run parking lot approx 1/4 mile away and then walk to the beach. Cost for parking was $20 for the day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go after a storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great place, fun people and incredible doggie watching! We've been here many times. Bring quarters as you have to feed the meter to park along the beach. We came once after a storm and there was trash everywhere. So sad...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank the4blanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't have a dog? Don't go!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As much as I like dogs, I stay away from this beach. It smells just riding by, I can't imagine going down on the sand where the dogs pee and poop. I'm glad there is a place for dogs to enjoy the beach but I'm not a fan. Sorry.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stilaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntington Dog Beach also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Huntington Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing