We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just stay away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Huntington Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntington Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Cathedral City, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just stay away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

this place sit right on PCH and you know it, with the noise of the road and people. The musty room smell does not help either.I Won't stay again. It was by the beach wich was the only nice thing about the stay. I ahve stayed at motel six's at better value. The room price was way over for what you get.

Room Tip: Stay away from thefirst floor with jaquezzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    86
    41
    26
    42
See reviews for
78
80
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! This was by far the worst hotel experience my family and I have ever experienced. The staff was completely rude, unprofessional, and made the hotel feel more like a prison. They have a huge TV at the front desk where they monitor every part of the hotel through hidden cameras so it kind of makes me wonder what else they might be monitoring that is not on the front desks TV. Not only that but my family member had his card reported stolen by the front desk clerk and that caused a whole other batch of issues for our vacation. We tried to leave after one incident of letting our friends in for a drink upstairs in our room before we walked out for dinner but the hotel WOULD NOT EVEN LET THEM IN! At the point we had been there for an hour and asked for our money back, offering them to keep the $100 deposit (what hotel has a deposit anyways?!) and they refused saying that it was too late because we had used the amenities (dropped off our bags in the room and went to the jacuzzi for 30 minutes). Avoid this hotel at all costs, please!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank c10edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Staff is hardly welcoming or helpful. Rooms are antiquated and items within are in poor standard. Having stayed at the Shorebreak and the Hilton waterfront one expects a downgrade from those experiences. However the price if this hotel rivals the Shorebreak and this establishment is far far far worse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrkuhn's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you want to be in the action and have access to the beach. Great location, walk to beach and Main Street/Pier. Hotel is very expenisve but you are paying for the location. "Free" parking and internet but internet is slow and hard to get on. Smaller hotel with 4 floors and somewhat dated but clean rooms. Fridge and micro in the room. Sink outside of bathroom. Have standing balconies with ocean view on higher levels. Smoking (aka Pot smoking) allowed out on balconies and get ready to hear the F bomb around town (but we were there over the 4th party weekend).
Front desk seemed a little shell shocked from the busy weekend and were a little put out with requests for an extra blanket/etc. We had to go down there to get anything but the housekeeping staff was very nice and accomodating. Have a large camera set up at the desk which was a little creepy and gave the feel that you were being watched everywhere in the hotel. Had to use your key for the ice machine and to get into the fitness room and top floor and key didn't work (for many guests).....seems like they have a problem with people drifting into the hotel and so the guests pay the price??
Continental breakfast small with cereal and waffle maker....only till 9:30 and in very small room.
There are several smaller hotels that I would check out if available (one right across the street) but if not, the location here is worth the splurge on the price for 2 people (price really adds up for 4). Not really a family hotel.....seems torn between becoming a boutique hotel or not??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location! We got there, it took forever to check in because no one was at the front desk! After we got the key, we went in the room where we found trash on the floor and the bathroom was not clean! I asked to talk to a manager and the guy at the front desk asked me what the problem is and he talked to the ladies at the housekeeping! I never got to talk to a manager! Was a really special vacation for us and everything was perfect besides the hotel where we stayed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is great! Center close on the beach!
Hotel is old but ok. Prices are rediculously high.
Breakfast is small, but ok. Ends at 9.30, way to early, by a really rude lady. Will pick another place next time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroenvK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Room was spacious and had a balcony. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We decided to stay longer. Great hot tub on the roof for watching sunset. Short walk to Main Street where all the action is. Only draw back - smoking is allowed on the balconies. I.E. marijuana smoking Is allowed on the balconies. After all, it is legal in CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sttly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#10 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#6 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Beach Inn

Property: Huntington Beach Inn
Address: 800 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5036 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Huntington Beach Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huntington Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located across from the famous Huntington beach. We are near main street which has shopping and food. We offer free breakfast, parking and wifi. Each room has it's own fridge and microwave. All rooms are 100% non smoking and sorry but we are not pet friendly. We do have some rooms that have full ocean views with Jacuzzi's. We are currently remodeling all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Huntington Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing