We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntington Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Huntington Beach Inn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Huntington Beach
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! This was by far the worst hotel experience my family and I have ever experienced. The staff was completely rude, unprofessional, and made the hotel feel more like a prison. They have a huge TV at the front desk where they monitor every part of the hotel through hidden cameras so it kind of makes me wonder what else they might be monitoring that is not on the front desks TV. Not only that but my family member had his card reported stolen by the front desk clerk and that caused a whole other batch of issues for our vacation. We tried to leave after one incident of letting our friends in for a drink upstairs in our room before we walked out for dinner but the hotel WOULD NOT EVEN LET THEM IN! At the point we had been there for an hour and asked for our money back, offering them to keep the $100 deposit (what hotel has a deposit anyways?!) and they refused saying that it was too late because we had used the amenities (dropped off our bags in the room and went to the jacuzzi for 30 minutes). Avoid this hotel at all costs, please!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank c10edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    89
    45
    26
    43
See reviews for
81
86
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Staff is hardly welcoming or helpful. Rooms are antiquated and items within are in poor standard. Having stayed at the Shorebreak and the Hilton waterfront one expects a downgrade from those experiences. However the price if this hotel rivals the Shorebreak and this establishment is far far far worse.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrkuhn's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huntington Beach hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is perfect if you want to be in the action and have access to the beach. Great location, walk to beach and Main Street/Pier. Hotel is very expenisve but you are paying for the location. "Free" parking and internet but internet is slow and hard to get on. Smaller hotel with 4 floors and somewhat dated but clean rooms. Fridge and micro in the room. Sink outside of bathroom. Have standing balconies with ocean view on higher levels. Smoking (aka Pot smoking) allowed out on balconies and get ready to hear the F bomb around town (but we were there over the 4th party weekend).
Front desk seemed a little shell shocked from the busy weekend and were a little put out with requests for an extra blanket/etc. We had to go down there to get anything but the housekeeping staff was very nice and accomodating. Have a large camera set up at the desk which was a little creepy and gave the feel that you were being watched everywhere in the hotel. Had to use your key for the ice machine and to get into the fitness room and top floor and key didn't work (for many guests).....seems like they have a problem with people drifting into the hotel and so the guests pay the price??
Continental breakfast small with cereal and waffle maker....only till 9:30 and in very small room.
There are several smaller hotels that I would check out if available (one right across the street) but if not, the location here is worth the splurge on the price for 2 people (price really adds up for 4). Not really a family hotel.....seems torn between becoming a boutique hotel or not??

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location! We got there, it took forever to check in because no one was at the front desk! After we got the key, we went in the room where we found trash on the floor and the bathroom was not clean! I asked to talk to a manager and the guy at the front desk asked me what the problem is and he talked to the ladies at the housekeeping! I never got to talk to a manager! Was a really special vacation for us and everything was perfect besides the hotel where we stayed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is great! Center close on the beach!
Hotel is old but ok. Prices are rediculously high.
Breakfast is small, but ok. Ends at 9.30, way to early, by a really rude lady. Will pick another place next time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeroenvK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Room was spacious and had a balcony. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We decided to stay longer. Great hot tub on the roof for watching sunset. Short walk to Main Street where all the action is. Only draw back - smoking is allowed on the balconies. I.E. marijuana smoking Is allowed on the balconies. After all, it is legal in CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sttly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

For an extra $20 per night, you can find much nicer places to stay. The lobby is shabby, the man at the front desk is borderline rude, the room was cramped, window curtains were dingy, and the bathroom barely has room in which to turn around. The room was advertised as having a balcony, and it does; however, there is no door to the balcony - just a plate glass window - which renders the balcony useless. Air conditioning sortof works. Booked my next night at a much nicer place a couple of blocks down the street - a little more per night, but well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huntington Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Surf City
BEST WESTERN Surf City
#7 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Ocean Front
Travelodge Ocean Front
#9 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
Comfort Suites Huntington Beach
#11 of 20 in Huntington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Harbour Inn & Suite...
#6 of 20 in Huntington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntington Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntington Beach Inn

Property: Huntington Beach Inn
Address: 800 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5036 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Huntington Beach Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Huntington Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Pacific Coast Highway in Huntington Beach, the Huntington Beach Inn is just steps away from one of the most beautiful and popular beaches in Southern California. Open your front door and feel the warm Southern California air gently wash over you. Known as "Surf City USA" and for good reason, Huntington Beach offers travelers an array of exciting activities and attractions. Learn how to surf, rent a kayak, go paddle boarding, bike along the sparkling sandy beaches, or just lounge around catching some rays. The Huntington Beach Inn offers a beach paradise at unbelievable low Huntington Beach hotel rates. After having a day of fun in the sun, take a short stroll to Main Street in Downtown Huntington Beach and enjoy the lively nightlife in one of the local bars or restaurants. From surfer's seeking the perfect wave, to couples looking for a romantic tryst, to families on holiday, the Huntington Beach Inn offers comfortable and contemporary ocean view accommodations and an unbeatable oceanfront location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Huntington Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Huntington Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing