We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November is not the best time”

Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“November is not the best time”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

They are working hard to try and return this area to it's natural state, however a windy day in November is not the best time for a visit. Things are fairly dry and barren at this time of year. Kudos to all the people doing the work to make this place what it should be.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    73
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect morning trail.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great trails for walking, running and bird watching. We even had some dolphins in the reserve for a week. The scenery changes depending on the tide. Bring your camera, you're guaranteed to see something "National Geographic"

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stilaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always enjoy coming to this lovely area, and it's hard to believe it is adjacent to the ocean, just on the other side of PCH. We bring our grandkids to hike along the pathway, and they delight in getting to see the vast birdlife up close. We feel very fortunate to have this special place in our backyard and are grateful to the efforts of so many people to preserve it for generations to come.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birders Paradise”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I go to this place every month of the year. In fact, when you cross the bridge if you see a female with a camera looking for birds to photograph it just might be me! Be sure to say HI! Truely I love this place. There are trails and large ponds and so many types of birds! Worth the visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJLee399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great walking/hiking outing”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful walk or hike off the main highway. Bird watching and nature in a quiet setting along a well maintained dirt trail. Parking at the start of the trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler21361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing