We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect morning trail.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve

Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect morning trail.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great trails for walking, running and bird watching. We even had some dolphins in the reserve for a week. The scenery changes depending on the tide. Bring your camera, you're guaranteed to see something "National Geographic"

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stilaqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    62
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We always enjoy coming to this lovely area, and it's hard to believe it is adjacent to the ocean, just on the other side of PCH. We bring our grandkids to hike along the pathway, and they delight in getting to see the vast birdlife up close. We feel very fortunate to have this special place in our backyard and are grateful to the efforts of so many people to preserve it for generations to come.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank montCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birders Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I go to this place every month of the year. In fact, when you cross the bridge if you see a female with a camera looking for birds to photograph it just might be me! Be sure to say HI! Truely I love this place. There are trails and large ponds and so many types of birds! Worth the visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJLee399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great walking/hiking outing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful walk or hike off the main highway. Bird watching and nature in a quiet setting along a well maintained dirt trail. Parking at the start of the trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler21361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the wild life.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a cool little spot. When I was there the water was full of jellies. They were so interesting to watch. There is something pleasing about walking around the ocean area with the smell of the sea, and all the sea life.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lincam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Bolsa Chica Ecological Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing