We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous!”
Review of Sugar Shack Cafe

Sugar Shack Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
co
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fabulous!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here because they have such great reviews on trip advisor. So glad we did! They are quite busy all morning long, but so quick and efficient and the food was great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    252
    50
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grant-Valkaria, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Never ending cup of coffee”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very crowded for Sunday breakfast, but no problem getting seated immediately. Very courteous wait staff and very attentive. They walked around with coffee refills more often than any other restaurant I've been to by far. Great service, they really hustled. We enjoyed the food and had no complaints. We lingered a long time after eating and they never once gave us any clue to leave. As a matter of fact they kept offering us more coffee refills. Nice ambience with chatter among tables commonplace. The other customers were just as friendly as the wait staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best beach breakfast!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you want a yummy and cheap so-cal breakfast, then hit up the Sugar Shack! The options are great, the portions were big so you can always share, and there are some great Southern Cali-type food that we were craving! The waitresses were fast even though it was very busy. We had a table of 4 and no one had a complaint except that we had too much food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyM905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This seems THE place to go for breakfast in Huntington Beach. Everything was fresh and so tasty. Glad we went early on a weekday. There's seating outdoors in front & back, then a small amount of tables inside. Worth the wait though!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jensparks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a show!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a busy Saturday before the Surf City Marathon & Superbowl Sunday. The wait for patio seating out front was about 10-15 minutes at 9am & once we were seated the "show" began. The tall homeless(?) gentlemen (his name is Maverick, our waitress told us) began to talk to & sing for anyone who would listen while holding a garden statue wrapped up in a blanket. He is apparently a regular on Main Street. Speaking of Main Street....the Main Street omlette was very good & my husband's "Michelle's Special" was just "ok". They let you substitute a side of fruit for the potatoes for $1 more & let me just say this is the BEST restaurant fruit I've ever had. A good sized side-order bowl & all the fruit was ripe & delicious! Well done on the fruit, Sugar Shack! Prices were good, service was friendly & the barefoot serenading gentlemen did not dissuade us from a return visit -we came back for lunch the next day (no "show" this time) & were equally happy with our food on the second occasion, though their lunch menu is very limited compared to breakfast. We would definitely return on a future trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack Cafe also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sugar Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing