We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I love California!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntington Beach State Park

Huntington Beach State Park
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$169.00*
and up
California Beach Cities Day Trip: Long Beach...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I love California!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I love this beach. California is such an awesome state. I've been to a lot of beaches and this is one of my favorites. It's doggy friendly and people friendly. Awesome beach.

Helpful?
Thank johnjcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    65
    13
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great beach to relax and watch surfers. Once of the few beaches in California that allows bonfires. Great time to bring a few friends and start a fire at sunset.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtproductions1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach that stretches for miles.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent our last day of our vacation on the beach near the pier. Many stores and places to eat nearby. Mostly families sitting on the sand with kids playing in the water. Tons of people surf boarding further out in the water- fun to watch. There were places to rent surf boards close by too. The beach is so wide that getting to the bathroom is a walk, but free admission for the day. Nice soft sand but not many shells. Great waves to ride boogie boards on near shore, but not so strong that they would knock you over. Fun family time with our 9 and 15 year old.

Helpful?
2 Thank OutAndAbout88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Beach with lots of place to play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Clean, beautiful - great sunsets! The pier is so much fun, restaurants right on the beach, dont' forget Ruby's at the end of the pier. Lots of wave action for boogie boards or surfers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ILuvHawaiiclh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very Nice Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very convenient parking. The State Beach, is located next to the city parking area, but the State parking, is nicer, though priced higher. We go there all the time. The beach seems kept clean, has restrooms (though the restrooms are progressively not kept clean as the day progresses...bring hand cleaner, and maybe tissue...wear shoes in there too). There are no food facilities, so pack your stuff, unless of course you do not mind walking a few hundred yards from the beach to the adjacent Huntington Beach business areas and /or pier, where there can be plenty of choices, depending on if you really like walking. The slope of the beach is mild, surfers frequent the area, lifeguards are well apportioned, and you can see Catalina Island very well on a clear day. We have seen frolicking dolphins in the surf a couple of times. We like it. Get there no later than 10:30 AM, parking fills up maybe sooner on weekends for sure.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DantheMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntington Beach State Park also viewed

Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 
Huntington Beach, Orange County
Huntington Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Huntington Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing