We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and hotel! Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
california
2 reviews
“Best location and hotel! Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We came to this hotel my husband and I with our kids and grandkids! Although it is somewhat pricey and I do not like that in this economy you MUST pay for valet parking!
The other negative is the distance you have to walk with small kids from the lobby...ask for a room in the main hotel. The rooms are very nice and the beds wonderful. We had an ocean view, however near the street which was very noisy........The location of this hotel is the best......right across from the beach and a pretty short walk! The pools are nice and they even have a wonderful pool for the kids and a different one for adults. All in all the stay was nice, the food was good and we would forsure stay again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxhearttoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,297
    780
    219
    86
    56
See reviews for
1,476
690
66
763
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Unique Hyatt with fantastic location. I have been told I am picky and usually pretty hyper-critical. Oh well, I am what I am. This hotel is right on the beach, on an amazingly long wonderful beach. Bike rentals available at the hotel, and you can ride on the ocean path for miles. Or go for a great morning run. Most rooms all have great views. Rooms were all big and spacious, and it's quite. Slept great. Pool was out-dated, pretty old school style but oh well. Bar service at the pool was slow. I would 100% stay here again if back in the area. I would not waste my money though at their spa again. The actual spa facilities were large, clean and nice, but the treatment (stone massage) was poor. Oh well. Enjoyed my time on the beach and boogie boarding may more than the massage. Overall, I enjoyed my brief 3 nights, 4 days here and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

After spending a week travelling down the the californian coast, we wanted something very relaxing outside LA with the option of doing a few day trips from the resort. Firstly the location was ideal for this - away from any hustle and bustle but the ability to easily get to LA, San Diego etc. However the time we spent relaxing in the resort was very disappointing. There was a very large conference on at the same time which most of the other guests were attending which meant that there was hardly anyone to be seen around the pool etc in the day time. Fine in theory, but when they start closing down the pool bars etc at 2.30/3pm in the afternoon because it is too quiet and not worth their while keeping it open, it really starts to affect your vacation experience. I had to spend about 25 mins wandering around the hotel trying to find somewhere open to get a nice cocktail to sit on my balcony and drink. Similarly the 2 restaurants that were open in the evening were deserted. They didn't even open the pizza place. Room was fine and staff were all perfectly pleasant.. Food was lovely that we had but the overall experience was just very limp. Don't get me wrong I don't want a hotel to be overrun and packed but you do need other people around to get a bit of an atmosphere and I feel closing bars at the expense of the other guests who did want to use them was extremely poor. I would not return to thios hotel.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

My husband, 7 year old son and I spent Labor Day weekend at the Hyatt in Huntington Beach. The weather was great and we really enjoyed our stay.

The room was decent size with a large flat screen tv and a small balcony. There was a mini fridge available. There are three restaurants on site and a couple of little stores. There is an over the road walkway to one of the public beaches that is very convenient.

My one grip is the requirement for valet parking but that's just the price you pay for beachfront stays.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimera22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed at the resort for 3 nights for a business trip. Found the hotel charming and comfortable. Conveniently located by the beach and great for taking a job or stroll down to the pier. Close to shops and restaurants.

Found the service top notch, with the employees willing to assist and always courteous. Even had follow ups from housekeeping with regards to cleaning the room.

The amenities of the hotel are superior but if there is a drawback the rooms are not exactly outdated, but a little subpar compared to the rest of the resort. Not saying they're run down by any means but personally I was surprised to see they weren't as updated as the resort seemed to be.

Overall, highly recommend this place for a business/pleasure trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigtings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is the place to go to unwind solo or to bring your family. There is something for everybody - no need to leave the resort at all. Or... if you want to check out the local scene, rent a bike from the premises and ride into town and have breakfast with the locals, or stroll along the path and watch the surfers.

The service was excellent and everyone was so mellow and happy except the dour faced concierge, hence the 4 vs. 5 stars on this review. Also, the beach wasn't the best -there are much better beaches a short bike ride away...

The rooms, pools, courtyards were lovely . Every need was met. I came home perfectly relaxed and happy!

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The staff is not very knowledgeable about customer service. I had reserved a room with an ocean view. When I got to the room and noticed it was not what I had reserved, the front desk said they had conference goers that got those rooms, as if they were more important than my reservation (a different, smaller conference). Their website is also not up to date with wrong information.
If you stay here, you will need a car to travel to other places. They have limited and expensive food selection and it is a walk to find some other establishment for good food. There are plenty of good restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive from the resort. The valet is expensive and disorganized. There is a resort fee per day that they don't advise you of until check out. The only good things were it was close to the beach and the resort itself was well-maintained.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicago078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Huntington Beach
311 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,575 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
560 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,524 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing