We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Huntington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed March 31, 2005

We traveled during the busy spring break period. Overall, this was a very restful, relaxing resort. The grounds were beautiful, the view was terrific, accomodations well appointed. Our only 'hectic' day was Easter morning. They had a brunch special and people came from all over (a few drunks too) and it made the lobby scene a crowded mess. It made our check out a hassle. I agree with prior comments on the valet parking service. It is ridiculous to pay $20 a day with the garage right there. You can self-park for $10 across the highway at the beach lot but this did not seem as convenient. I had 2 kids with me that loved the amentities (e.g. one night a movie was shown on a big screen TV by the pool; marshmellows were toasted over an open pit fire). Overall, I would go back in a heartbeat for the right price. We paid $225 a night but I have heard the rooms can go way up from there.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alstrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,191
    748
    205
    77
    52
See reviews for
1,363
664
65
750
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles Area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2005

Stayed at this hotel on two separate occasions recently - for a company Christmas Party and to run the Pacific Shoreline half Marathon. Was upgraded to a suite when I mentioned the last time I stayed it was in a suite and that I liked it.

Check in was quick. Rooms always seem to be a trek, but it comes with the long shape of the hotel. The room was great. The bed is heavenly and I could lay in it forever. Rooms are nicely appointed and bathrooms are very nice.

Room service is quite good, but be careful - they added an extra plate, charged us for it and added an 18% gratuity. I ordered, but my boyfriend answered the door. He'll sign anything and we ended up with a $65 breakfast... don't get me wrong - the food was good and it got eaten, but....

The pools and jacuzzi's are quite nice. You really can't beat the location for beach access (there's a bridge that will take you over PCH and drop you at the beach parking lot).

I would return in a heartbeat. Don't know what the rates run because I've been part of groups everytime, but this hotel great and worth paying for!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onehthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Huntington Beach Feb. 20-22, 2005. We were very impressed with the hotel. The grounds were beautiful and the ocean view was superb. The room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. I did get to look at the meeting rooms and would highly recommend this hotel for small to large meetings or weddings. A lot of the rooms are pretty far from the front desk. Actually, after we checked in, we got lost trying to find our room. They definitely could put up better signs showing which way to which numbered rooms. Also, it was a little upsetting to find out they didn't have a parking lot/garage, only valet. We did see where the valet parking was and it could easily be used for guest self parking. The bell hop/valet guys were pretty pushy, too. I understand they work for tips, but please explain to me why we need two guys to load 2 pieces of luggage into our trunk. (Even after I told them both that we had it handled.) Of course, they both expected to be tipped. Also, just a note, the beach parking lot is right across the street and half the price as valet. As a travel agent, I do highly recommend this beautiful hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CincinnatiTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2005

Just a little background so you can judge this review more objectively. I live in Northern California and travel quite a bit on vacation. Two other beach vacations that we have taken recently is Maui (Four Seasons and Ritz) and Cancun (Ritz, JW & Hilton). I was thouroughly impressed with this hotel. I am not a big fan on the Hyatt although I have also enjoyed staying at the Hyatt Lake Las Vegas and Lake Tahoe North Shore properties. I set my expectations a little lower in the service area for Hyatts and that way I am not dissappointed. I can see that in the summer this hotel may not be the place for conservative couples or families that don't like crowds (I have a 5 & 7 year old). But our family enjoyed the crowded pool, feeding the Koi, playing tennis and basketball onsite, playing in the video arcade, having ice cream at the shop, skimboarding at the beach, the boardwalk of course, but mostly enjoying the property, which is very nice. We had a deluxe ocean view room. The pictures taken from my balcony looks like it could be a postcard (beautiful, although not as nice as Cancun). The parking fee is annoying and valet can slow at times, but compared to Ritz Half Moon Bay, $35parking and $20 resort fee, it's a bargain. Overall, what a great beach vacation if you don't want to get on a plane(comment for Californians). Highly recomend!

Helpful?
9 Thank tennis_ace_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 14, 2005

We arrived on Dec 26th, 2004 to a gorgeous hotel. the flowers and decorations were tasteful and just beautiful. But then began the trek to our room. We are not old but it was a very long distance to go everytime you wanted to return to your room. If you have the lease bit of trouble walking make sure they put you in a room close to the entrance. There is only valet parking at $20.00 per day. You have to wait every time you want your car. There is no convenient place to park. Breakfast for two was $40.00. It was good but not that good. There were ants all over the refrig, coffee pot and bathroom.They did take care of them promptly but it is a new hotel what gives? I also agree that the staff was friendly but not especially helpfuland it seemed that their hands were always out looking for a tip. I really do not think this "resort" is all it is cracked up to being.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 29, 2004

The rooms in this hotel were great, with extremely comfortable beds and nicely-designed bathrooms. The fridge was a nice touch as well. But the staff had some real problems with our reservation and it took three calls to persuade them we were staying for two nights. not one as their computer insisted. They heavily promote their Free Nights program but don't have a clue about how it works. Very frustrating to spend so much time on such a simple issue. And now I even have to send a letter to the GM to get things straightened out. Grrrrrrrrr.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2004

I found the Hyatt in Huntington Beach to be a beautiful getaway. After reading a few of the postings, I made sure I booked my spa treatment early. The massage was amazing and left me relaxed. I found dinner at there main restaurant delicious and the service was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that asks.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington Beach
0.4 mi away
Pasea Hotel & Spa
Pasea Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Huntington Beach
272 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,460 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
518 reviews
7.0 mi away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 21500 Pacific Coast Highway, Huntington Beach, CA 92648-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Huntington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Huntington Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huntington Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Huntington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a community also known as "Surf City, USA", the resort offers easy access via a pedestrian walkway to eight miles of wide beaches where waves crash and surfers reign. The magnificent Andalusian architecture, reminiscent of Spain's southern coast, and lush landscaping combine to create a sense of casual elegance and your own private seaside retreat. All rooms have private terraces, and most feature stunning views of the Pacific. Five different dining restaurants,a grocery store, a full service spa and salon and two pools and several hot tubs on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Hotel Huntington Beach
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing